We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aurora

Save Saved
You added Hotel Aurora to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Aurora
100 metros norte de la Playa Montezuma | 100 meters north from Montezuma Beach, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

La Aurora is the perfect place to stay in Montezuma; CLEAN, great location, really affordable private rooms, HOT showers, fans, free coffee in the morning, free wifi, etc etc! The staff are lovely and so helpful. There's a lovely sheltered balcony area with hammocks and couches to hang out in, perfect for when it rains. I would recommend this hotel to people travelling in groups or couples, people travelling alone might find it a bit boring or lonely!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    38
    21
    11
    11
See reviews for
8
35
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

$10 a night for a private room with double bed and private shower was awesome. I expected us all to be in dorms but four of us were in one large room each with a double bed and sofas and private shower. Plus there was a fridge in the room!
AC was $15 per night extra and made the stay even more comfortable. There is a pool table and lots of hammocks/seating area, plus wifi and a computer in reception.
Kitchen was pretty small so got crowded but there were plenty of tables to eat at. Location is good too as its just at the top of the high street. Unlike Hostel Llena Luna where are friends were, you don't have to walk up a massive hill to reach it.
Despite there being a strange smell to the place it was clean.
I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great location. Right in town (not up the hill) but far enough away from Chicos bar to be able to sleep. Excellent value and the owners are very friendly and relaxed. They work hard to keep the place, particuarly the kitchen clean. Great and plentiful common areas. Only problem would be no wifi in the rooms but this is pretty standard in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Rooms on the kitchen side lead out on to the common areas with wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deventer, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I have stayed 5 days in Hotel La Aurora. There is free internet and free coffee. Every moning I drunk coffee under the sunshade. The personal are very nice and helpfull. The recepción is day and night open. They have security cámaras. I always feel safe at Hotel La Aurora.
Thanks,
Tom

Room Tip: in the low season the have very cheap rooms downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed as a solo traveller in February and found it perfect. The location is great, room was clean and tidied daily, staff were amazingly friendly (even willing to try and learn English from me and vice versa) and I'd stay here again for definite! I felt very safe during my stay, there's always someone by the front desk and entrance to greet you. Its a very relaxing place indeed. Thanks to the staff who were fantastic during my stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We found this place whilst wandering around looking for somewhere to stay. It cost $20 for a basic double room which was excellent value considering other hostels with dorms were charging $15 per person. The basic rooms include a mini fridge, fan and ensuite bathroom. Towels are also included.
The location is excellent, very close to the shops and supermarket, beach and not far from the road to the waterfall.
There is a kitchen and lots of communal areas.
Unfortunately the wifi did not work for the four days we were there and there were lots of Mosquitos in our room - if you have a mosquito net I would bring one, although there wasn't really anywhere easily to hang one from in our room. We also found a mouse dropping in our room but we never saw a mouse and there is a cat on site which probably helps to deal with these things!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I'm glad I saw these reviews after we stayed here about being robbed. We actually stayed here AFTER being robbed in Santa Teresa. We booked in for 1 night and ended up staying 2.
The rooms are clean and comfortable and the price was great, especially for what is around town.
It's a nice large hotel/hostel with a good basic kitchen and the reception were always friendly and helpful.
The room was hot, but we opted for one with fan only and no aircon. You can always upgrade if you want air conditioning.
I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Address: 100 metros norte de la Playa Montezuma | 100 meters north from Montezuma Beach, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aurora is the first hotel in Montezuma since 1984 and has a 24 hrs. service. It offers great lounge area and wooden deck with seating area, hammocks, and cable TV surrounded by lush gardens and the nature allure of Montezuma enchantments and a view to the pacific ocean. It is located 20 minutes' walk from "La Cascada", the Montezuma River Waterfall. The rooms and suites offer a private bathroom and a fan. The suites also feature air conditioning, mini fridge and a private furnished balcony with hammocks. Guests at Hotel Aurora can use the common kitchen and they can find a variety of restaurants within 100 metres. Activities such as Isla de Tortuga Island tours can be arranged and it takes 40 minutes' boat trip to reach the area. This hotel is 30 minutes' drive from Cabo Blanco National Park and from Santa Teresa Beach. Juan Santamaria International Airport and the one in Liberia is a 3-hour drive away. The national airport Tambor is 20 minutes away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Aurora Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aurora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.