We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to get robbed...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aurora

Save Saved
You added Hotel Aurora to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Aurora
100 metros norte de la Playa Montezuma | 100 meters north from Montezuma Beach, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“If you want to get robbed...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Come here. After the second night we went out to dinner and made the mistake of leaving some of our valuables in the room. In 2.5 hours everything was gone. Even though the locks on the doors are complete garbage (the kind that will pop open if a credit card is jammed into them), we thought we could leave some stuff there for a couple of hours since there seems to be security at the front desk 24/7. We paid quite a bit for that mistake.

Staff or a crooked tenant, either way we got effed. The hotel was really not helpful with it, they just seemed worried about covering their own behinds. We weren't even given bus or cab fare to go to the crime office in Cobano to get a report for an insurance claim. We asked to put our passports in their safe, but the staff did not have access to it. Seems that the owner, who we learned comes in only once a week to pick up the cash, didn't even trust them.

Other than that, it was a pretty nice place with good value.

Room Tip: If I were to return I would stay in Cabuya, which is down the road a bit from Montezuma.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    37
    21
    11
    11
See reviews for
7
35
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights at La Aurora and really enjoyed it. The staff is friendly, the rooms are nice and clean. The location is really good, close to everything. I would definitely go back (just too bad the wifi would not work in the rooms).

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

It is a basic hotel. Rooms have bathrooms and a small fridge inside. There is a communal kitchen. It is a block or two from the beach, but between the street that comes into town and the park (which is great if you have kids, since the communal area looks out over the playground) so it isn't loud at night due to the bars. Though if you sleep on the road side of the hotel you will have a lot of street noise due to big trucks and buses coming up and down the hill. The hotel offers a cheaper rate for the "loud side" of the hotel. Rooms run from $25 for a single on the loud side, up to $50 for a bigger nicer room. We got a quiet room for two for $35 on the first floor right by the kitchen and overlooking the park. There were tables and chairs outside my room to sit and eat. You can also pay an extra $5 for a room with air conditioning. I really think the location was perfect for families, since it was quiet but central. We were able to meet other traveling and local kids in the park. The staff was friendly, I always left my keys with them when I went out to the beach. I would stay here again. I only wish they had basics like oil and salt in the communal kitchen.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Regarding lonely planet Lodging in montezuma is Bad value. However la Aurora is pretty Good value. Take a room on The First floor. Nice wooden Panels and spacious. The ones on The ground floor are small and not so comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at Hotel "La Aurora" 4 nights and really enjoyed it. It's a friendly, clean place with nice communal areas and lots of wood inside the rooms. Alls rooms are different in size and facilities, so you really can choose the one, that fits best for your needs. But I would definitely recommend getting a room upstaires - they are much airier and get more light. They are a bit more expensive, but it`s worth it. We had a double room on the first floor, that was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was very clean, although could have been a bit bigger. The hotel is in the center of Montezuma, so you are close to everything (beaches, supermarkets, restaurants). The communal kitchen is not the biggest, but sufficient for making breakfast. We would stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

After checking out 4 places in Montezuma, we settled on the Aurora. It's a really comfortable budget accommodation and the staff are super friendly and helpful. We paid $45 per night, which I believe is the maximum price for 2 people. For this price we had an upstairs (second floor) room with A/C, a nice balcony, and a bathroom with hot and cold water in the shower (good water pressure!) and, as seems to be the norm, only cold water in the sink. Oh, and a tiny little tv.

The only downside was that the room lacked charm. It sort of felt like a college dorm room or maybe a summer camp cabin. The balcony, complete with two hammocks, a table with two chairs, and flower covered vines was very nice. There were a couple of other places in town for similar or higher rates (up to $75) that were really beautiful, but either lacked A/C or water pressure, etc.

The place across the street was really beautiful, but the water barely trickled out of the shower and I felt like the woman running the place was giving me the run-around on the room rates. But that is a story for another review….

Room Tip: Again, rooms are comfortable and clean but lack style. Our upstairs room was $5 or $10 more per nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I spent 4 nights in Montezuma, we got a great deal thanks to the low season rates! Private room with our own bathroom and a mini fridge in our room, quite refreshing after staying in shared dorms for quite sometime.

I do not speak Spanish so I had problems communicating with the receptionist, but luckily my friend managed everything :) Right in the heart of town, near the beach, bars, restaurants and supermarket. Chilled atmosphere, and a fully equipped kitchen.

There is wifi, others a right you do need to be closer to reception for it to work, but we managed to use it upstairs in the lounge area as well. They aren't miss leading any one when they say the hotel has wifi, every other place I've stayed at in Costa Rica has the same wifi situation - available near the reception desk.

Room Tip: If you pick the downstairs room near reception you get wifi in your room - we did :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Address: 100 metros norte de la Playa Montezuma | 100 meters north from Montezuma Beach, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aurora is the first hotel in Montezuma since 1984 and has a 24 hrs. service. It offers great lounge area and wooden deck with seating area, hammocks, and cable TV surrounded by lush gardens and the nature allure of Montezuma enchantments and a view to the pacific ocean. It is located 20 minutes' walk from "La Cascada", the Montezuma River Waterfall. The rooms and suites offer a private bathroom and a fan. The suites also feature air conditioning, mini fridge and a private furnished balcony with hammocks. Guests at Hotel Aurora can use the common kitchen and they can find a variety of restaurants within 100 metres. Activities such as Isla de Tortuga Island tours can be arranged and it takes 40 minutes' boat trip to reach the area. This hotel is 30 minutes' drive from Cabo Blanco National Park and from Santa Teresa Beach. Juan Santamaria International Airport and the one in Liberia is a 3-hour drive away. The national airport Tambor is 20 minutes away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Aurora Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aurora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.