We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, Central, Comfortable, Inexpensive, family friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Aurora Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Aurora Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
La Aurora Hotel
150m oeste del Iglisea Catolica, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Petaluma, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Simple, Central, Comfortable, Inexpensive, family friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

It is a basic hotel. Rooms have bathrooms and a small fridge inside. There is a communal kitchen. It is a block or two from the beach, but between the street that comes into town and the park (which is great if you have kids, since the communal area looks out over the playground) so it isn't loud at night due to the bars. Though if you sleep on the road side of the hotel you will have a lot of street noise due to big trucks and buses coming up and down the hill. The hotel offers a cheaper rate for the "loud side" of the hotel. Rooms run from $25 for a single on the loud side, up to $50 for a bigger nicer room. We got a quiet room for two for $35 on the first floor right by the kitchen and overlooking the park. There were tables and chairs outside my room to sit and eat. You can also pay an extra $5 for a room with air conditioning. I really think the location was perfect for families, since it was quiet but central. We were able to meet other traveling and local kids in the park. The staff was friendly, I always left my keys with them when I went out to the beach. I would stay here again. I only wish they had basics like oil and salt in the communal kitchen.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    32
    18
    10
    10
See reviews for
4
31
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Innsbruck, Austria
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Regarding lonely planet Lodging in montezuma is Bad value. However la Aurora is pretty Good value. Take a room on The First floor. Nice wooden Panels and spacious. The ones on The ground floor are small and not so comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at Hotel "La Aurora" 4 nights and really enjoyed it. It's a friendly, clean place with nice communal areas and lots of wood inside the rooms. Alls rooms are different in size and facilities, so you really can choose the one, that fits best for your needs. But I would definitely recommend getting a room upstaires - they are much airier and get more light. They are a bit more expensive, but it`s worth it. We had a double room on the first floor, that was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was very clean, although could have been a bit bigger. The hotel is in the center of Montezuma, so you are close to everything (beaches, supermarkets, restaurants). The communal kitchen is not the biggest, but sufficient for making breakfast. We would stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

After checking out 4 places in Montezuma, we settled on the Aurora. It's a really comfortable budget accommodation and the staff are super friendly and helpful. We paid $45 per night, which I believe is the maximum price for 2 people. For this price we had an upstairs (second floor) room with A/C, a nice balcony, and a bathroom with hot and cold water in the shower (good water pressure!) and, as seems to be the norm, only cold water in the sink. Oh, and a tiny little tv.

The only downside was that the room lacked charm. It sort of felt like a college dorm room or maybe a summer camp cabin. The balcony, complete with two hammocks, a table with two chairs, and flower covered vines was very nice. There were a couple of other places in town for similar or higher rates (up to $75) that were really beautiful, but either lacked A/C or water pressure, etc.

The place across the street was really beautiful, but the water barely trickled out of the shower and I felt like the woman running the place was giving me the run-around on the room rates. But that is a story for another review….

Room Tip: Again, rooms are comfortable and clean but lack style. Our upstairs room was $5 or $10 more per nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I spent 4 nights in Montezuma, we got a great deal thanks to the low season rates! Private room with our own bathroom and a mini fridge in our room, quite refreshing after staying in shared dorms for quite sometime.

I do not speak Spanish so I had problems communicating with the receptionist, but luckily my friend managed everything :) Right in the heart of town, near the beach, bars, restaurants and supermarket. Chilled atmosphere, and a fully equipped kitchen.

There is wifi, others a right you do need to be closer to reception for it to work, but we managed to use it upstairs in the lounge area as well. They aren't miss leading any one when they say the hotel has wifi, every other place I've stayed at in Costa Rica has the same wifi situation - available near the reception desk.

Room Tip: If you pick the downstairs room near reception you get wifi in your room - we did :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

The road into the town of Montezuma is steep! If you are on foot while staying in Montezuma be sure you stay at a place right in town. We were going to stay in a place "on the hill" but when we realized how steep the walk would be we were so happy to find La Aurora. It is located in town and is clean and cute and has other nice travelers staying there.

We had a great room that was super clean. I was so shocked at how clean the place was being so close to the beach. The town beach is like a three minute walk away. The hotel has FANTASTIC common areas with great seating with options like sofas, tables and chairs, as well as a great collection of hammocks. The common kitchen was great and had all the tools needed to make your own meals. The bedrooms have a mini fridge. The showeres are cold but that is what you need in the heat. The rooms had good fans for the hight heat. I loved this hotel and found it hard to leave.
We were there at low season and so the price was great. You would never be able to stay at a place like this in the USA or Europe for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Down stairs can get a bit noisy with people cooking in the kitchen and walking past your room if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We hadn't booked anything when arriving in Montezuma and looked at a few grotty but expensive hostels before we found this hotel. It was one of the best places we stayed at during our 3-week trip. The (a little disinterested but friendly) receptionist charged us a bit more than usual (happened to see the price of the same room on her list for the previous night), but the room was really great value - spacious enough for three, private bathroom, fridge, air conditioning, balcony with beautiful plants all around, hammocks, and only a stone's throw from the village. No breakfast or Internet, but that was fine.

Room Tip: the rooms on the upper floor have balconies and hammocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Aurora Hotel

Also Known As:
La Aurora Montezuma
Address: 150m oeste del Iglisea Catolica, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aurora is one of the first hotel built in Montezuma 25 years ago. It is located in the very centre of the town in an intimate and comfortable environment. The management of the hotel has a good reputation of recycling and being evolved in environmental issues. The hotel offers: a fine and fully equiped kitchen, a dining area, a beautiful and comfortable lounge, security service 24 hrs, security monitor system, cable TV, parking area, WIFI, and laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Aurora Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.