We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't wait to check out!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aurora

Save Saved
You added Hotel Aurora to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Aurora
100 metros norte de la Playa Montezuma | 100 meters north from Montezuma Beach, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't wait to check out!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

I ended up in Montezuma on a whim and, having not done any research on where to stay, ended up getting a room at La Aurora. I stayed on the ground floor, park side. It was by far the worst place I stayed while in Costa Rica. It reeked of disinfectant, there were ants crawling around everywhere, the mattress had to have been as old as the hotel, the linens and towels were damp & musty, and the shower was ice cold. I had the worst night's sleep ever and could not wait to check out the next morning.

Do yourself a favor and DO NOT stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    37
    21
    11
    11
See reviews for
7
35
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ottawa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

We were here for just one night, and we stayed on the second floor in the room on the far right. Here's what we liked and disliked:
likes:
- refrigerator in room
- room was large - two double beds & private bath
- location was close to everything
- hammocks
- kitchen

dislikes:
- a bit run-down (i.e. a/c didn't work in our room)
- security: my boyfriend's EX girlfriend found us by asking the front desk person - they showed her to our room - we really didn't want to see her and didn't appreciate this
- noisy: i found it hard to sleep as the town was quite noisy at night, loud bass and ATVs
- no view (the view is of a run-down park)

Overall it was okay, but personally I wouldn't stay there again as there are much nicer places around. That said, I thought the price was good for what you got.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

La Aurora is a great value for the money. We stayed in one of the cheaper rooms, so I don't know how I'd feel if we got one of the expensive rooms, but they looked very nice.

The hotel is located right on the park in the centre of Montezuma, so it's extremely central. This means there's night noise from the many parties and drum circles, but the hotel can't be blamed for that. It's a fact of life in Montezuma. I took one point off the sleep quality rating because not all of our windows had curtains, so there was a lot of light coming in. Why have curtains for some windows, but not all?

The rooms and common areas were kept clean, the staff was courteous. When they noticed that our room fan was squeaky they replaced it ASAP. As others have mentioned, the common areas are nice, and a great place to meet people.

Don't be like us, though: Explore the hotel. Until our last day, we completely missed out on a pretty sitting area inside the hotel, and on the hammocks upstairs.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. It was clean and a great deal. The communal areas were great for socializing. The only complaint is that the walls are paper thin so if your neighbours are up early, you are too. As well, our room was right by the road so traffic kept us awake.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights, clean and friendly place. Room was large enogh for four (we were only two). Good location. The staff speak only spanish, they understood some English words anyway. The wi-fi did'nt work very well.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

Location is great! The guys running the hotel were very helpful. After a nightmare experience up the hill at Luna LLena, this place was a welcome breath of fresh air. Rooms are basic and clean, but the walls are too thin in some of them. My group of seven used three rooms. Even the more "pampered" members of the group had no real complaints about the place. All in all an okay place.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristiansand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

I stayed here for 4 nights. The location is very convenient a stonethrow away from the main street. The room (no 4 on the ground floor) was clean. I found no need for the hotwater or AC which dropped the price from 40 to 25 dollars. The outdoor area and communal kitchen gives a potential for social interaction. The staff was a bit reserved but all in all I had a nice stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Address: 100 metros norte de la Playa Montezuma | 100 meters north from Montezuma Beach, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aurora is the first hotel in Montezuma since 1984 and has a 24 hrs. service. It offers great lounge area and wooden deck with seating area, hammocks, and cable TV surrounded by lush gardens and the nature allure of Montezuma enchantments and a view to the pacific ocean. It is located 20 minutes' walk from "La Cascada", the Montezuma River Waterfall. The rooms and suites offer a private bathroom and a fan. The suites also feature air conditioning, mini fridge and a private furnished balcony with hammocks. Guests at Hotel Aurora can use the common kitchen and they can find a variety of restaurants within 100 metres. Activities such as Isla de Tortuga Island tours can be arranged and it takes 40 minutes' boat trip to reach the area. This hotel is 30 minutes' drive from Cabo Blanco National Park and from Santa Teresa Beach. Juan Santamaria International Airport and the one in Liberia is a 3-hour drive away. The national airport Tambor is 20 minutes away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Aurora Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aurora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.