We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Jardin - Costa Rican paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Jardin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel El Jardin to your Saves list
Hotel El Jardin
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Montezuma Beach, Montezuma 6000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
1 review
“El Jardin - Costa Rican paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

My sister and niece and I spent several nights at El Jardin Hotel in Montezuma. We arrived in Montezuma across the strait by fast boat from Heradura, which was a fun adventure in itself, especially because we ended up switching boats mid trip (long story, but it comes down to Costa Ricans trying to be accommodating because the boat we were supposed to take left without us).

Once there, we got on shore and walked up the slope to the centre of this little town. We asked whether we should take a cab to the hotel and they said - no, no, it's just around the corner and up the hill, which indeed it was. From the front of El Jardin you wouldn't know that a stunning multi-tiered garden was in the back, with a myriad of flowering plants and trees and other greenery, surrounding a beautiful pool with stone pathways and steps leading from one tier to another. Then looking the other way, there's jungle, where one day we watched from our pool side loungers, as white faced monkeys and then howlers made their way from tree to tree just before sundown.

So the grounds - spectacular. The room was fine too - two comfortable queen sized beds and fully functioning air conditioning. Some rooms had hammocks out front but we opted for the queen sized beds instead.

Only one complaint - no hot water in the shower. At times it seemed to be veering toward warmish, but that's the best we got. But that seemed like a minor problem at the time, and doesn't diminish the great experience we had at this hotel.

No internet or restaurant but this is NOT an issue, as there are a plethora of great restaurants and an internet cafe, within easy walking distance, some less than a minute - others maybe 10 minutes maximum.

We left Montezuma the same way we came, by fast boat, and this time were treated to probably 10-15 dolphins entertaining us right around the boat. Fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    58
    38
    18
    13
See reviews for
27
94
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

We liked this place! We were at El Jardin for four nights, had a room just beside the pool, facing the jungle, so really street noise was not an issue for us. The grounds were very beautiful and the pool was a real plus too. Great monkey sightings late every afternoon from the pool! The hotel is within walking distance of everything - beach, great restaurants, etc ... well, everything in Montezuma is within walking distance ... just a quaint tiny little town.

Our room was adequate ... we found it to be clean and the beds were comfortable. I found it interesting (funny) though, that when we were shown to our room, he specifically said "...a hot shower". Well, we never had water that resembled anything close to being hot ... barely warm at best. But this is something we had come to expect when traveling in Central America, and really it wasn't a big deal ... especially in a hot country like Costa Rica. The air conditioner functioned perfectly, and the little fridge was great for keeping our water and few food items cold.

No complimentary breakfast here, which is something we had at every other place we stayed in Costa Rica, so that was a little disappointing ... however it gave us a chance to eat every breakfast at our favorite restaurant, El Sano Banano - just a roll down the street! (don't miss this restaurant - great waiters, whom we got to know after 5 days in Montezuma :) (Also, don't miss Organico and the Bakery Cafe ... two of our other favorite restaurants).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford Essex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

So where to start... Booked 3 nights here after reading good reviews on this site. This place is a dump. The people who have review this hotel highly either work there or live in a slum. Asked to change room instantly after seeing the room we'd been given, but was refused because I had run the tap in the bathroom to test for hot water, apparently that is using the room. Room 1 has no hot water, a shower that looks like it's been fitted by bob the builder, a filthy pool(scum layer), no parking, no lighting in room, the most rickety bed ever and the biggest problem the noise from the room above. There is thin wooden floor boards seperating the rooms, don't expect to sleep with noisy neighbours. Cut short stay as montezuma is a hole with a crap beach anyhow. Look at mal pais, Santa Theresa or samara. This hotel is poor, montezuma is a crap. Don't waste time here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

This place is way too expensive and dreadful. No welcome, no breakfast, they tried to overcharge us for a room (you pay an extra charge for paying by card and then they tried to charge us again on the exchange rate... Our AC flooded into a pool on the floor, they did fix it fairly quickly but there was really no customer service at all. Gardens are nice.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

My wife and I walked around the town a bit and then decided on El Jardin. The guys at reception were very friendly and I think they gave us some snacks or fruit even before we checked it :)
We did have an issue with the air conditioner in our first unit and they moved us to the next one without much hassle. We ended up staying for about 4-5 nights as we originally planned to stay for 3.
The pool is the best part of the resort and between that, the restaurants in the town, and the beach, we were busy eating and lounging :) We did a couple of the local hikes and they are amazing!
A agree that it was a little more then what we had planned to spend but I think it was only an extra $20-$25/night as a couple and it was well worth it. Check out the restaurant Organico as well, a bit pricey but delicious!

Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

weak. its right in the middle of town so if you get a "cheaper room" which is wildly overpriced, about 90 to 100, you are right by the rowdy, noisy, and super dirty road which keeps going all night. people are yelling outside your door in the middle of the night.

big nasty cockroaches in the bedroom, bathroom, etc., they even left a dead one for us from before we arrived.

there was no hot water. the lady hesitated when i asked about but then promised there was hot water. of course, no hot water.

either you have a ton of cash and get one of the bunglalows they offer, or stay the hell away. we kept meeting people who told us about these awesome 40/50 dollar places down the street. go there instead. i wish we did.

this place is a racket.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

We have the change of staying here for 3 nights and we have a fantastic time. Esteban at the front desk and Yamilet help us with all our arrangements. We book online at www.hoteleljardin.net and reserve pretty much everything there, car rental, tours and off course the lodging.
We took the Tortuga Island Tour with Zuma Tours and had a fantastic time as well. Without mentioning the Waterfall Canopy Tour also a lot of fun.
Can wait to come back to Hotel El Jardin

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Jardin

Address: Montezuma Beach, Montezuma 6000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel El Jardin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Jardin is located in the center of Montezumaless than 100 meters from the beach.Its constructions are dispersed in various independent buildings, immersed in a exhuberating tropical garden,which is located on a hill, dominating the centre of Montezuma,with a breathless view of the ocean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel El Jardin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Jardin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.