We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Jardin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel El Jardin to your Saves list
Hotel El Jardin
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Montezuma Beach, Montezuma 6000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

This is a nice hotel. It is certainly overpriced but compared to the other options in Montezuma, it's nice.

It's all about the pool. It's great, and we would take a lot of dips and see monkeys in the trees behind the pool. There is a jacuzzi, but it's cold. Also there is no breakfast.

I would stay there again i think. Only because of the pool though.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    56
    38
    18
    13
See reviews for
27
93
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

Myself, my boyfriend and his cousin stayed at El Jardin for 3 nights and paid approximately $95USD/night. The hotel property is beautiful, the rooms were clean and had A/C. The pool area is very nice and they keep it very clean. The only issue we had was noise. You can hear the people above you if your on the bottom floor and the people below you if you are on the top floor. As long as people are respectful the noise levels are ok. You definelty can hear the noise from the town as it is a very small town but most of the hotel rooms on the property are removed and the noise is distant for the most part. We all enjoyed our stay at El Jardin and in Montezuma.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

HOUSES DO NOT HAVE A/C

We stayed at this hotel for a few nights. When we booked, we booked a house at an additional charge ($95 per night instead of like $50). When we got there, the house had no air conditioning despite the fact that their web sight says all the rooms have A/C. I guess when you pay extra for a house then you get no A/C. First, they claimed that this was pointed out on the reservation confirmation. Luckily I had the confirmation and e-mail with me and they said nothing about it. They tried to put us in a room and charge a $95 rate, but eventually just moved us and charged us the normal rate, which was higher than other hotels nearby.

The pool / hot tub area was beautiful, and that was the only good thing about the hotel.

A/C went on and off and didn't work that well. Not enough soap / toilet paper was provided, hotel was pretty crappy... and I'm not picky about hotels.

From what I have heard, there isn't really any better hotels in the town except Ylang Ylang, which is much more expensive. If I go to that town again, I'd save my money and book at another hotel, as long as it has AC.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2009

This hotel is right in the heart of Montezuma, which means it is convenient but also a bit noisy. The hotel is located on a hillside and the rooms are basic but clean. We enjoyed the pool and the free wireless internet (although not enough signal strength in our room). The A/C worked great.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

My husband and I found this place at the end of a weeks stay traveling through Costa Rica. We were exhausted and wanted to stay somewhere nicer than we had for the rest of the trip. We found this place, and it had air conditioning, private showers with hot water and a pool. We also stayed in one of the front rooms and had our on little front porch. We opened wine and sat out at night watching people walk by. Best of all Hotel El Jardin was only $10 more than a place we previously stayed that was dirty, run down, no A/C, shared showers. I would recommend this to a friend.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

I stayed at this hotel in April 2009. Prior to arriving, I had much communcation with Edgar Salas in Reservations, who was very helpful. He booked our transportation (boat) from Jaco to Montezuma and back, zip line canopy tour, sunset tour in malpais/playa carmen/santa teresa and tortuga island tour. El Jardin is situated at the top of the hill overlooking the town with views of the water. Our room was clean with two beds, mini-fridge and shower. There was a hammock on the balcony right outside our door. The pool was refreshing and clean. The grounds are absolutely beautiful with bright colored flowers everywhere; I took many photos of the hotel's lush surroundings. You can hear the monkeys in the evening and morning. The town is very eclectic and artsy. Edgar also recommended wonderful restaurants El Sano Banano for breakfast, Cocolores for dinner and especially Playa de los Artistas for an amazing dinner complete with a fire tossing show on the beach. We also enjoyed The Bakery Cafe for breakfast and Cafe Buen Provecho for lunch. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
or
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

This place was great! They had clean rooms, absolutely wonderful staff, working A/C and pool, hammocks,and close enough to downtown to have access, but far enough away that the noise doesn't bother you. It was like something out of brochure heaven. The staff was very accommodating and even let our friends staying at another hotel store their luggage there after checking out. All of that for $15 a person/night! Was in CR for 6 weeks, and travel often. This place is the kind of hotel you only hear about.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Jardin

Address: Montezuma Beach, Montezuma 6000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel El Jardin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Jardin is located in the center of Montezumaless than 100 meters from the beach.Its constructions are dispersed in various independent buildings, immersed in a exhuberating tropical garden,which is located on a hill, dominating the centre of Montezuma,with a breathless view of the ocean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel El Jardin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Jardin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.