We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure what the rest of these guys are talking about” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Jardin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel El Jardin to your Saves list
Hotel El Jardin
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Montezuma Beach, Montezuma 6000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not sure what the rest of these guys are talking about”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Stayed there last month and am a bit baffled at the other reviews .. great place, friendly people, quiet, right in the heart of town, value and you get your own nice big room and hammock

who cares about breakfast?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    55
    38
    18
    13
See reviews for
26
92
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I did not know that Hotels without breakfast even exist. Isn't there an international definition? The room was small but clean with a very loud a/c. Nice pool an Garden. Overpriced (95$ for 2 adults and 2 kids without breakfast and no secured parking) We expected more. For us it was a late rescue option for the night, so it did the job. 12 o clock checkout was nice, too.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jardin J, Gerente at Hotel El Jardin, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
We appreciate your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed the tropical gardens and our swimming pool with Jacuzzi that is unique in this area and the cleanliness of the hotel and our rooms.
Unfortunately, we cannot offer breakfast because there is no restaurant in our hotel, that information is on our website. We do offer coffee and cookies every morning at the reception as a courtesy to our guests.
As for our security service, we have a night guard that patrols the grounds and watches the cars as well as any personal belongings of the guests. As for the price, that is your personal opinion, our policy is that children under 5 years old are free. That was not the case for you, your children were much older. Anyways, you didn´t pay the required amount ($95/4 people).
You insisted on only paying $75 and forced the receptionist to accept this. Perhaps next time, when you arrive late in the evening when reception is closed, you will understand that the night security guard doesn´t speak perfect English and you should look online for a hotel´s prices and policies ahead of time, especially if you are coming with children very late in the evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel right in downtown Montezuma. The rooms are spaced out in various buildings throughout a beautiful garden. Incredible pool. Very clean, spacious rooms. Grounds are well maintained. Overnight security. Friendly and helpful staff!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed here two years ago and enjoyed our stay at the Hotel. It is a lovely here and so much to do in the area. Natural waterfalls and bush walks to Yoga and cooking lessons and visiting monkies. The beaches are ok but not always safe. We were swimming at the beach and were almost knocked over by the logs that were coming in on the waves.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, CO
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed two nights at the El Jardin at the end of April. The wonderful reception woman, Marielle let us check in early. She was so helpful and kind. Anytime we had a question about Montezuma, she was our "go to" person. Our room was extremely clean. It was SO hot when we arrived in Montezuma. The air conditioning in our room was blissful. We loved the terrace with lounge chairs and a hammock. The pool was beautiful. We enjoyed seeing the monkeys make their way through the trees by the pool around 4pm every afternoon. We also saw a coati on the path just outside of our door. I tend to be pretty picky about where I stay, and this place was perfect; the price was very reasonable too.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #6 which is set up on a hill. It is very quiet (no one above or below). Also par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The staff was kind, the pool was amazing, but the rooms were just so so. We were able to see lots of wildlife. Monkeys in the trees around the pools and lots of pretty birds in the beautiful landscape. The rooms were just ok. Beds were a bit uncomfortable, but the rooms were clean. For a 1-2 night stay in Montezuma it's perfect. It did look like one of the nicer hotels in the area and you really don't need more than two nights in Montezuma anyway. The staff was friendly and it was a 2 min walk to town and the beach. I would recommend an upstairs room. Less noise and better wifi connection. Not too busy and the landscape and ocean are a great view while laying in the hammock.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

This is our 5th trip to Montezuma and we always stay at El Jardin. Simple place but all the basics work well. Friendly staff, gorgeous pool and grounds, center of town, a short walk to beautiful beaches.. As always surrounded by amazing Costa Rican wildlife. Anyone know where to get an alarm clock that makes the sound of the local howler monkeys? The best of the Montezuma vibe..

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Jardin

Address: Montezuma Beach, Montezuma 6000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel El Jardin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Jardin is located in the center of Montezumaless than 100 meters from the beach.Its constructions are dispersed in various independent buildings, immersed in a exhuberating tropical garden,which is located on a hill, dominating the centre of Montezuma,with a breathless view of the ocean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel El Jardin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Jardin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.