We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visitor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Jardin

Save Saved
You added Hotel El Jardin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel El Jardin
Montezuma Beach, Montezuma 6000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Cape May, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Return visitor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This was our fourth visit to Montezuma and Hotel El Jardin. The proximity to town and the layout of the grounds (gardens and pools) make El Jardin very appealing. Rooms are a little dark and sparse but the large porches outside the rooms make up for some minor flaws. The pool is great to relax in after a day of exploring.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    53
    36
    17
    13
See reviews for
24
88
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Montezuma ,
is always a great place for vacation, other times we had chosen differently, we are happy to have come to the Jardin, nice hospitality, friendly staff and very professional. And it is a step away from the beaches and the "pueblo" experience that I would do it right away, too bad that holidays do not last enough

Room Tip: many kind to choose from, I would stay or near the pool, but the "casita" has more inti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed here for a night. Very nice pool & garden area, but the room was very unexpted.
Ok for a night, but a bit outdated / dusty / in areas even dirty.

Location is however very good as you are right in the heart of town, close to beach and all other places you want to be at.

Staff is friendly.

Room Tip: I guess best would be to stay on the hill side "above" the swimming pool. Try to avoid ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jardin J, Director Comercial at Hotel El Jardin, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your feedback

We are very pleased you enjoyed our pool and our tropical garden.

Unfortunately, in the summer/dry season, it is impossible to eliminate the dust in a village with unpaved roads. It is a common problem!

We wait for you during the Green season, which is equally beautiful, without any dust .

Best Regards

Hotel El Jardín
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed once again for 6 days days at El Jardin on this trip to Montezuma. This was our fourth visit with them and there is a reason. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. The grounds are impeccably kept. As their name implies it is truly a beautiful garden. Every morning we enjoyed a leisurely start to the day with coffee and cookies provided by El Jardin on our patio. Since we were 2 couples traveling together, we requested Rooms # 5 and # 6 since the rooms and patio are adjoining. We spent hours in the pool most days and the staff arranged a snorkeling/BBQ lunch for us on Tortuga Island on Wednesday. All in all we were happy to return to El Jardin.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Two friends and I (all in our early 20's) stayed here for a few nights while we were traveling in Costa Rica and overall we were pretty disappointed with our experience. We stayed in a private villa at the top of the hill which was absolutely beautiful: we had a full bathroom, kitchen, living room, patio with lounge chairs and a hammock, an upstairs with a double and single bed, and all of the windows (and walls basically) opened up to make it an open air villa, BUT, the negatives far outweighed the positives for us. Unfortunately, the front desk wasn't as enthusiastic and helpful as we'd hoped, especially compared to most of the other hotels / hostels we stayed at in Costa Rica which made it hard to organize surfing and get recommendations on where to eat, etc. You're also not allowed to bring guests up to your room or to the pool area, which I kind of understand, but it just hurts the hotel because it makes it strictly a place to hang out by yourself and with the people you're traveling with and not anybody you meet, which is one of the best parts of traveling. One other negatives is that we woke up after the first night with rows of bites all over ourselves despite using mosquito nets. Yup, bed bugs.

Ultimately this place is really nice and if I was traveling with a girlfriend I'd probably stay here (as long as there were no bed bugs) but if you're traveling with friends and like a social scene where you can meet people and party a bit, this isn't the place for you. It's very quiet and exclusive.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hotel it's really fine: nice location, beautiful swimming pool, cordial and helpful staff.
But the surprise are the rooms (not so clean, even the sheets were dirty) and their residents: lots of likable roaches!!! They were everywhere, one even fell on my head form the ceiling!!!
So, if you can stand them, go there, the rest of the hotel it's fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed in two different rooms, one was a stand-alone cabin (US$65 low-season price) and the other was a room with a balcony in front of the pool (US$50 low-season price). The rooms were adequate, but pretty basic.

Some good things:
- location, close to everything
- refrigerators in the rooms
- A/C
- the pools are very pretty
- hammocks outside the rooms

Not so good:
-no TV in either room
-the cheaper room only had shower gel available, the more expensive one had a mini soap bar as well. No shampoo/ conditioner.
-beds unimpressive
- one room had some bugs that looked like wasps, but maintenance cleared them out for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Jardin

Address: Montezuma Beach, Montezuma 6000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Jardin is located in the center of Montezumaless than 100 meters from the beach.Its constructions are dispersed in various independent buildings, immersed in a exhuberating tropical garden,which is located on a hill, dominating the centre of Montezuma,with a breathless view of the ocean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Jardin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Jardin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.