We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Jardin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel El Jardin to your Saves list
Hotel El Jardin
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Montezuma Beach, Montezuma 6000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Modesto, Ca
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice, but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2008

I stayed for three nights at El Jardin in Montezuma. The grounds of the hotel are nice, as well as the rooms and furnishing, however it does not justify the high price of the hotel, which is especially inflated during peak season. The sound proofing in between rooms in a little poor. They were the hotel I stayed at in Costa Rica that did not offer continental breakfast. The upside of this hotel is it's location, the fairly nice pool (yet one wonders why you would use it when the Pacific is 1 minute walk away) and the comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    66
    40
    19
    13
See reviews for
27
103
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2008

Hotel is just up a hill from the town. So location is OK - it is a really steep hill to your room. It's pricey, for what you get, no breakfast, no TV, small room, no real view. The room was clean enough, just plain and old.The gardens are nice enough, but the pool - which could be a feature is terrible. It's all cloudy and not filtered and it bakes all day in the sun - so is warmish. I remember tossing up about staying instead at the Sano Banano - I remember it was about $30 more expensive - trust me spend the extra $30 - it is right in town, so no steep walk up a hill, and breakfast is included, plus TV plus it's rooms are much, much nicer.

The maid was really cool tho.

  • Liked — clean and air conditioned
  • Disliked — over priced, bad pool, big hill to room
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2008

This is a great little property. We stayed for 6 nights in April. Yes it is definitely expensive for Montezuma and Costa Rica in general but then again you get a great little room with A/C, a deck with a hammock and two chairs and a cute swimming pool. The breakfast is really not worth having - packaged tea biscuits, bananas and coffee so not a place to really fuel up. It's about a 10 minute walk but go have breakfast at Hotel Amor del Mar - lovely ocean and lawn view and tasty breakfast with an amazing homemade bread! The bathroom in the room was so-so nothing of note. Shower had hot water. The linens are also fine, very clean and the bed was pretty comfortable. We were very happy with the accomodations but you have to manage expectations - you aren't getting a Westin Heavenly bed anywhere in these parts. You can hear everything through the walls from your neighbors but this did not prove a problem for us and we heard little to no noise from town. And hey, you have an A/C so turn it on and you can't hear anything but the fan anyway. Maid service was consistent and good, room was cleaned well everyday.

Short walk to the restaurants, bars and beach (although surf was quite rough while we were there).

I would reccomend the owners offer a slightly better breakfast service - bread and a toaster or some such thing would be nice, for the price in Montezuma I think they could be a bit more generous. And update their pool chairs and/or cushions.

But otherwise go and enjoy this great spot in Montezuma!

  • Liked — Pool, Deck with Hammock
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2008

This hotel is right in the centre of town, but its the only thing going for it. Its overpriced for the rooms and the facilities. We booked a Queen room and only recieved a double (they wouldn't move us), it was noisey in the hotel (could hear everything from the room upstairs) along with the music playing until the wee hours of the morning from the bar across the street.
I would spend my money up the road at Amor del Mar, not El Jardin!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2008

We stayed at El Jardin for 2 nights during Easter week. Our room was very spacious and clean. There wasn't a TV in the room, but we had a great balcony with a hammock overlooking the pool.

The pool was really nice to relax in at night after a long day. Also, the grounds of the hotel was kept immaculate and the decor was quite modern.

The only staff I ever saw was the front desk. The experience was neutral. I did not find them overly friendly, but they were not rude either.

Overall, the value was good as the location is central in the small but great town of Montezuma. I cannot wait to return and experience more of Montezuma!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2008

My girlfriend and I booked 3 nights at Hotel El Jardin when we were in Montezuma at the end of March.

Check in was smooth and quick, and we were given a king bedded room located right off the main street. This was perfect for us as it gave us a little patio to chill and people watch, and was very easy for our friends staying at another hotel across the way to come visit us :)

The pool was always clean and refreshing and was the perfect way to relax after a hot day in the sun. Lying in a lounge chair surrounded by flowers and greenery is so relaxing.

Esteban at the front desk was a great host and was quick to come up with solutions when our tranporation plans fell through at the last minute.

I would highly recommend this hotel, and will definitely come back for a return visit!!!

Sam and Kim (Toronto)

  • Liked — location, pool, service and overall vibe
  • Disliked — had no complaints whatsoever
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2008

The grounds were really cool, lots of lush greenery and beautiful plants. Our room was at the top of a set of about 40 narrow stairs, which made it very hard to climb and were very dark at night. Our AC did not work well, it was really warm in our room. Our room was supposed to have a hammock, but it didn't. The pool was really pretty! Very close to the beach...much closer than it seems on the map. I'd suggest going to the beach a bit further away though, much nicer sand. We were in Room #9, which had a really cool bathroom but is not worth the hike up that hill. Our friends were in room #15, their room was much bigger, had 2 beds instead of 1, and their AC worked just fine. They were also close to the road. So they ended up with a better room and were much happier. Overall it was a very pretty hotel! The town is so small, so it was close to everything (food, bar, internet cafe, mini market). Seemed pretty safe, but they will hold your stuff in the safe at the front desk if you are worried.

We were frustrated with the service though. They never came to fix the AC in our room. They gave us some trouble trying to reserve transportation and refused to cancel some services we reserved. They wouldn't even call the company to see if we could cancel. They were kind of rude about it, just kept saying "I'm very sorry" but not doing anything to help. Checking in took forever. As did reserving anything through the front desk.

Also...there was a wrapped condom on the floor of the reception area the first day! Very absurd.

  • Liked — beautiful grounds
  • Disliked — service, lack of (working) AC
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontezumaCR, Management at Hotel El Jardin, responded to this review, April 17, 2008
Greetings for Hotel El Jardin!

Thank you very much for your input and comments about our wonderful property in Montezuma.
As per your comments:
- Thanks for the compliments about our lush gardens, we work very hard to keep them as nice as they are.
- We give you room #9 which is located, indeed, at the top of our property. Has the most beautiful ocean view in all the hotel and the soroundings are very nice and quite. As you can see thruout this web site almost all the clients staying at this room just love it!. Unfortunately the structure of the rooms’ terrace do not allow us to place a hammock. However we are considering to do something about it.
- Thanks for letting us know about the AC, and sorry for any inconvenient about it. It is working just perfect now.
- You turn on and off the outside lights from the room inside, wether they are on or off is your call.
- Our pool and jacuzzi are defenetely and icon on the hotel. Even more when El Jardin is the only hotel in the center of town with pool and jacuzzi.
- At all the time we were willing to change you to other room, however you did not requested. At the moment of your stay the hotel had a lot of room available so it wasn’t and inconvenient for us to change you to a “bigger” room.
- You were assisted at the front desk to book your transportation with a local shuttle company. Since you decided just “two hours” before the service starts to cancel it, the shuttle company were unable to just cancel the service and provide a full refund, when a big deal of logistics were all ready set for you. Please note the cancellation policy was clearly stated at the time you book the transportation service.

Once again thank you very much for your comments this will help us improve and been the best property in the Montezuma center.

Kind regards from paradise Montezuma,

Esteban
Hotel Jardin – Montezuma
Costa Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Jardin

Address: Montezuma Beach, Montezuma 6000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel El Jardin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Jardin is located in the center of Montezumaless than 100 meters from the beach.Its constructions are dispersed in various independent buildings, immersed in a exhuberating tropical garden,which is located on a hill, dominating the centre of Montezuma,with a breathless view of the ocean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel El Jardin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Jardin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.