We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Jardin

Save Saved
You added Hotel El Jardin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel El Jardin
Montezuma Beach, Montezuma 6000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
sask
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We spent a couple of days in Montezuma and stayed at the hotel one night, overall location was good within walking distance to everything, pool and the grounds were excellent, the rooms were just ok. They could use new beds for they were wore out and very uncomfortable, The rooms were clean, good showers, and the fridge was keeping items cold. Dollar value was high for what you received however your chioces are limited in a small town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    52
    35
    16
    13
See reviews for
22
87
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northwest
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed 2 nights. The rooms are dark and small. Beds are old and noisy. We paid $95USD/night, and $65 would have been more reasonable for what you get. Pool is nice, and our room overlooked the main road. I didn't think I would appreciate the a/c, but it was pretty nice to have the white noise. Our patio area was much more relaxing when the room next door was vacant due to the close proximity of neighbours.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We loved our week at El Jardin. For us it was a luxury stay. The grounds were amazing as were the cabins. The two pools and jacuzzi were awesome. The only drawback was it was a little overpriced. The location was perfect. We could see the town from our patio and hear the awesome music during the evening. Staff very friendly.

Room Tip: We like number 5 with a view of the downtown but I think all rooms were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, you can walk to the waterfall, beach and town. Get a room behind the pool, we had a great view of their beautiful pool and great personal hammock. Room are big and clean. Hotel is luxury at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Came to Montezuma vere early in the morning and got a room for one night. The lady in the reception was very helpful.
The room itself could have been cleaner and the fridge didn't work.We got a room with two quenn size beds and we had enough space.The pool area was nice and worth a try.
The location was perfect, 3 minute walk to the beach and 2 minutes to everything else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The pool and location were the saving graces of this place. Whatever they're not spending on cleaning this place they're definitely putting into keeping the pool looking like something that should go on a postcard.

Maybe I'm getting soft in my 30's, but this place is fairly dirty. We found one monster cockroach (3+" long) in our room along with ants on the bed at various times during our three night stay. There was also another monster roach trying to make it's way into our room but we ended up shooing it away. The rooms are sort of dark and dreary even with the curtains open. I'm not too picky about beds, but as a bunch of other reviewers wrote, they're old and pretty busted. Bathrooms were old and dirty, stains of different sorts on the floor, mold in the shower, etc.

Overall noise wasn't a big problem except one Saturday night when everyone was having full moon parties in town and the techno going until 2am (?). Other than that noise wasn't much of problem given the location in town.

We paid $95 for the night during high season which felt very high for what we got, but our other hotel made a mistake with the reservation. It's probably a $60/night hotel, $70 max.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We split our stay in Montezuma between Hotel El Jardin and renting a beach house. The 3 nights we stayed at Jardin were great. The grounds are well maintained and beautiful. We spent a lot of time hanging by the pool, which has it share of both sun and shade. The rooms are clean and the morning coffee is tasty. We had a room by the pool and noise was never an issue. The beds were not the most extravagant, but getting a good night's sleep wasn't a problem. We also never had a problem with bugs. Our room had a little porch area with a hammock, which was great for relaxing. The girls at the front desk are very helpful. They were there to answer questions and help book local tours. I would highly recommend Hotel El Jardin.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel El Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Jardin

Address: Montezuma Beach, Montezuma 6000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Jardin is located in the center of Montezumaless than 100 meters from the beach.Its constructions are dispersed in various independent buildings, immersed in a exhuberating tropical garden,which is located on a hill, dominating the centre of Montezuma,with a breathless view of the ocean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Jardin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Jardin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.