We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Montezuma” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Jardin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel El Jardin to your Saves list
Hotel El Jardin
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Montezuma Beach, Montezuma 6000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Montezuma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, you can walk to the waterfall, beach and town. Get a room behind the pool, we had a great view of their beautiful pool and great personal hammock. Room are big and clean. Hotel is luxury at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    58
    38
    18
    13
See reviews for
27
94
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bodo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Came to Montezuma vere early in the morning and got a room for one night. The lady in the reception was very helpful.
The room itself could have been cleaner and the fridge didn't work.We got a room with two quenn size beds and we had enough space.The pool area was nice and worth a try.
The location was perfect, 3 minute walk to the beach and 2 minutes to everything else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The pool and location were the saving graces of this place. Whatever they're not spending on cleaning this place they're definitely putting into keeping the pool looking like something that should go on a postcard.

Maybe I'm getting soft in my 30's, but this place is fairly dirty. We found one monster cockroach (3+" long) in our room along with ants on the bed at various times during our three night stay. There was also another monster roach trying to make it's way into our room but we ended up shooing it away. The rooms are sort of dark and dreary even with the curtains open. I'm not too picky about beds, but as a bunch of other reviewers wrote, they're old and pretty busted. Bathrooms were old and dirty, stains of different sorts on the floor, mold in the shower, etc.

Overall noise wasn't a big problem except one Saturday night when everyone was having full moon parties in town and the techno going until 2am (?). Other than that noise wasn't much of problem given the location in town.

We paid $95 for the night during high season which felt very high for what we got, but our other hotel made a mistake with the reservation. It's probably a $60/night hotel, $70 max.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We split our stay in Montezuma between Hotel El Jardin and renting a beach house. The 3 nights we stayed at Jardin were great. The grounds are well maintained and beautiful. We spent a lot of time hanging by the pool, which has it share of both sun and shade. The rooms are clean and the morning coffee is tasty. We had a room by the pool and noise was never an issue. The beds were not the most extravagant, but getting a good night's sleep wasn't a problem. We also never had a problem with bugs. Our room had a little porch area with a hammock, which was great for relaxing. The girls at the front desk are very helpful. They were there to answer questions and help book local tours. I would highly recommend Hotel El Jardin.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We lucked out when we chose this hotel. The location is perfect (at the top of the town and a short walk to the beach) and the ambience is wonderful (well positioned and charming pool). The best part, to be sure, was the excellent staff. While we were at the hotel, I suffered sever kidney stones. To our dismay, there was not a local doctor but with the help of Stephanie, we were able to arrange for emergency medical assistance in the next town. She was indispensible for getting us the in-term help I needed and assisted us with all of the communication in Spanish. It is rare to find such excellent customer service and we wanted to publicly acknowledge the true "flower" of the Hotel Le Jardin.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a week during our vacation to Montezuma. We rented one of the houses that the hotel has which have a lot more space than the regular hotel rooms. While the hotel rooms have A/C the house did not. For most people you don't really need it though. The house was a bit hot during the afternoons but during those times we were either hanging out on the beach, the pool or taking a nap on our covered patio that overlooked the ocean. The house has everything you need, stove, coffee maker, utensils, and the loft area where our bedroom was looked out onto the ocean.

In terms of location the hotel is a 5 minute walk to the beach and sits on a small hill overlooking the town. It was nice to be able to walk to the market, restaurants, and shops whenever we needed something but at night the noise from the bars and clubs was annoying. It wasn't overwhelming to the point where we couldn't sleep, but the hotel is right on the main drag so it was an issue at times. The only other issue we had with this place was the bugs. The house is made of wood and very open so mosquitoes and other bugs can get in. This is only an issue at night so be sure to use the provided mosquito netting when you sleep otherwise you will get covered in bug bites.

All in all we had a great stay there. A lot of the other places in town are a bit dumpish looking so this is definitely one of the best places to stay if you are going to Montezuma. I would also recommend Ylang ylang. We didnt stay there but we had dinner there and it was very nice. Its about a 15-20 min walk from town on the beach so its not as noisy but I could see walking to and from town getting a little old if you had to do it a lot.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

We had a great time at this hotel; the two pools and the jacuzzi were great after a long day under the sun. We had a room with a street view so it was a bit noisy, but the room was clean and big enough for two. Nice!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Jardin

Address: Montezuma Beach, Montezuma 6000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel El Jardin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Jardin is located in the center of Montezumaless than 100 meters from the beach.Its constructions are dispersed in various independent buildings, immersed in a exhuberating tropical garden,which is located on a hill, dominating the centre of Montezuma,with a breathless view of the ocean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel El Jardin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Jardin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.