We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ylang Ylang Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
costa rica
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We came with our 5 year old to spend the weekend an the staff is great! Everyone is super friendly and helpful. The place is super nice and the "domes" offer a lot of privacy and the common areas are well taken care of. The food is excellent.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    63
    27
    17
    8
See reviews for
128
326
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I got married at Ylang Ylang, and it couldn't have been more perfect. I cannot say enough great things about this resort. Every single employee went out of his or her way to make our big day -- and our whole stay -- memorable and special. Everything about the ceremony was beautiful, and they made it so easy for us. They helped us with everything, from start to finish, and were so genuine, professional and thoughtful through the whole process. One of the owners even handmade my bridal bouquet using tropical flowers from her own garden. The dinner on the beach afterward was absolutely gorgeous, and the massages we got the morning of the ceremony were the BEST massages either of us have ever had, hands down. Us and our parents (who made up our small wedding party) all agreed that Ylang Ylang had the best service we'd ever experienced anywhere. The same could be said about the food. Every meal was delicious. Oh, and the local wildlife is amazing -- capuchin monkeys, for example, came right onto our deck, and they also frequently travel right through the pool area. After our stay at Ylang Ylang, we traveled down the western coast, staying at a few other great places along the way, but none could compare to Ylang Ylang. It just had it all. Love love love. I highly recommend as a wedding locale, or perfect vacation spot.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and approximately 30 others visited the Ylang Ylang resort for a yoga retreat. Some singles and some couples.

We were spread throughout to the resort according to what accommodations we selected.

We were greeted with a wonderful tropical drink, checked in, and escorted to our rooms, which were beautifully decorated and very clean. We went on the trip with our yoga instructors and the resort allowed them to conduct yoga classes multiple times during the day. The yoga room they had was open aired and overlooked the ocean.

We traveled to wildlife refuges with a tour guide, went hiking, zip-lining, ate wonderful food, drank tropical drinks with local fruit juices, and of course relaxed by the beautiful pool. The resort staff were very helpful with scheduling all of our trips.

The resort had plenty of wildlife, especially monkeys, birds and iguanas. 10 minute walk to the town of Montezuma for some local flare. Would definitely recommend and will return when I can. Pura Vida!!!!

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently spent 3 nights at the Ylang Ylang and enjoyed it immensely. The location on the beach is spectacular and the grounds are a tropical paradise. We did not use the spa but the pool area and the restaurant are first class. We were planning to visit Malpais and Santa Teresa (nearby beach communities) but enjoyed Ylang Ylang so much that we just stayed put. The staff is extremely attentive and if you have any issues, just ask for Moraya - the son of the founders - who will ensure that you have a great stay. If you drive to Montezuma, you will park your car at the sister property - Sano Banano - and a driver will pick you up and drive you up (down) the beach to Ylang Ylang. We stayed in a beach front bungalow and that was perfect for the two of us. Bill and Linda Gossard

Room Tip: For couples, the beach front bungalows can't be beat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything about Ylang Ylang was simply awesome - the setting, the people, the food, the landscapes, the pool, the beach, the animal life! I would recommend it to anyone, with or without children, for a week or just a few days break

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When we decided to go to Ylang Ylang Beach Resort, we thought about the beach of Montezuma and the wildlife of Nicoya Peninsula. The Beach is beautiful, but not so good to swim. There are big waves and strong currents (at least, in front of the resort when we were there). Talking about the wildlife, the resort is fantastic to see a lot of animals. By ourselves, without any guide, we saw monkeys, coatis, agoutis, pacas, opossums, armadillos, squirrels, iguanas, lizards, owls, magpies and other birds! All of them in the resort's gardens. We are planning to come back in the future to stay more than two nights. Everything was great at Ylang Ylang! Jorge Eduardo e Clarice - Porto Alegre - RS - Brazil

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I were married on the beach, directly in front of the bungalow we rented for the week. Moriah, the owners son, took care of all the arrangements and even built a small arch from driftwood and covered it with flowers and vices. It was perfect.

The bungalow was clean, and had a sliding glass door with an unobstructed view of the ocean 25 yards away. It even had air conditioning for when the ocean breeze died down. There was a fantastic pool, built into the jungle like the rest of the property, and a great restaurant with open walls. I could write a short novel about how great this rustic spot is, but I suggest that any reader just visit for themselves!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ylang Ylang Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Address: Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Montezuma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ylang Ylang Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-owned resort is known for its natural tropical beauty, variety of wildlife roaming the grounds and outstanding customer service. Located a 10-15 minute walk on the beach from Montezuma, one will find romantic Beach Front Bungalows with A/C, a Spa nestled in the jungle, and a tropical pool edged by waterfalls. If you're looking to get away, this is the getaway place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ylang Ylang Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ylang Ylang Beach Hotel Montezuma
Ylang Beach Hotel
Ylang Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ylang Ylang Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.