We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Great resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ylang Ylang Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Nottingham, England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great location, Great resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I can not fault the ylang ylang, from the moment you are picked up and have a drink on arrival, the service is amazing. Nothing is too much trouble.
We stayed in a tent cabin, which is a little on the cosy side but perfectly adequate. The bathroom was big and the veranda overlooked the beach which was great.
The restaurant area was lovely, again overlooking the beach and the food was amazing! For breakfast and evening meals, the choice is great and so tasty!
The pool area is great, so relaxing and a great place to swim and cool down.
There are also little seats on the beach if you want to relax there.
Montezuma is not far away, a short walk on the beach. There are plenty of bars and shops.
Take bug spray as the mosquitos are in abundance!
And if you get chance, visit the waterfall, although don't expect a path to get to it its an interesting trail!
All in all, can not fault my stay, amazing!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    61
    27
    16
    8
See reviews for
123
315
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitchurch-Stouffville, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Ylang Ylang is by far,-one of my favourite places. The staff is amazing, food is excellent (raw, vegan, vegetarian, and they only serve poultry), you can have your own private garden or beachfront bungalow. We had the beachfront hut which was perfect - we got up each morning about 5:30 and with coffees, took our 20 steps to the beach and watched the sun come up. Huts had AC to get away from the heat. The pool is great, grounds are super clean, there are monkeys, lizards, birds, flowers, trees, trails....

The only thing that happened was we had a few ants living in the bathroom shelf. Reception took care of it right away.

This is not your typical all-inclusive and if you are looking for that environment, Ylang Ylang is not for you. This is no night life at the resort and everything shuts down at 10pm.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My husband and I had absolutely NO COMPLAINTS at all about the Ylang-Ylang, it was pure magic! Although we'd planned excursions, we didn't need to leave the resort at all- it had everything we needed right there. We stayed in the garden bungalow which was perfect and private for our honeymoon. There are jungle trails, ocean, pool, INCREDIBLE FOOD (2 meals included everyday) including gluten, free, vegan and sushi menus, daily yoga classes, a spa and the most GENUINELY FRIENDLY staff I've ever encountered. When we left, we felt like we were leaving friends. I can't say enough about the Ylang-Ylang. If you love nature and want to be smack dab in the jungles with monkeys jumping on your bungalow, lizards greeting you at your door every morning, interacting with the most accommodating kind people, and the most delicious fresh food you've ever had- look no further.

Room Tip: The Garden bungalow was perfect and private for our honeymoon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

If you are looking for a large all-inclusive resort this is not the place. This is a small hotel that perfectly fits the description of tropical paradise. Each room is its own bungalo with total privacy, surrounded by trees, flowers and beaches. We stayed in a beach front bungalo and loved it. In the late afternoons the monkeys come out and play in the trees above the huts. Many iquanas around the grounds. Breakfast and dinner are included. It was the best food we had our entire trip. And also some of the best food we've had anywhere. Everyone that works there is friendly and happy. This is the place to go for total relaxation- although they will book activities for you such as jungle tours, etc. We ended our trip here after 5 days of adventure tours. It was the perfect ending.

Room Tip: We stayed in the beach front bungalos, but I think all would be good. If you have teens and are try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is our favorite place to visit in Costa Rica. We normally stay at the sister resort El Sano Banano and then treat ourselves with a stay at Ylang Ylang. We stayed in the beachfront dome (Iguana) and enjoyed the wonderful beach from the hammocks in front. The pool is great and even though I am not the lounging type I found myself really laying around and enjoying the waterfall and waves.

The food is great as is the staff, Christian, Anna, Patricia and the reception girl (Debbie?) all very nice and you can tell that they enjoy working there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed for a full week in early june 2014. Amazing location, outstanding service, excellent food.

Stayed in beachfront bungalow- agree with previous reviewer- fell asleep and woke up to sounds of the ocean. Did horseback beach ride and had spa treatment... both were excellent experiences.

Both of us are experienced travelers, both agree, overall excellent value for location and services provided.

Room Tip: I would prefer beach bungalow over the open air tents if possible. More privacy, A/C and private ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My now husband and I spent 7 nights at Ylang Ylang for our Honeymoon in June. Ylang Ylang was much better than portrayed on the website! We were blown away by the beauty of the resort! The food was out of this world and we miss it! Service was top notch. It seriously felt like our own private beach. We loved that it was not crowded like other major resorts. The plants and landscaping was beautiful and well maintained. I cannot say more good things about Ylang Ylang. The town of Montezuma is so fun and only a 10 minute walk on the beach- not far at all! We made the trip multiple times a day. Happy hour was great also at Ylang Ylang. We loved all the wildlife we were able to see. It was transitioning from the dry to raining season when we stayed (June 2- June 9 2014) but it only rained at night time which made for a wonderful sound to fall asleep to. It was a tad humid because of the rain in the mornings (when you see the most wildlife!) but not too hot! We did not have any huge problems with bugs in our rooms as some other have mentioned. The rooms were so clean and perfect for us! We cannot wait to come back in a few years! More pics and blog post to come on laceandgrace.blogspot.com

Room Tip: We stayed in Dome 4 on the end and loved it! Dome 1 is also on the end. Try the Iced Tea (its frozen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ylang Ylang Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Address: Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ylang Ylang Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-owned resort is known for its natural tropical beauty, variety of wildlife roaming the grounds and outstanding customer service. Located a 10-15 minute walk on the beach from Montezuma, one will find romantic Beach Front Bungalows with A/C, a Spa nestled in the jungle, and a tropical pool edged by waterfalls. If you're looking to get away...this is the getaway place... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ylang Ylang Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ylang Ylang Beach Hotel Montezuma
Ylang Beach Hotel
Ylang Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ylang Ylang Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.