We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful relaxing getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ylang Ylang Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We spent 5 days at ylang ylang beach resort in one of the beachfront tents. It was as if we were sleeping in the jungle. We awoke each morning to the sound of the Howler Monkey and the most beautiful birdsong. High points were the massage my partner and I had, the exceptionally good food served in the restaurant by the lovely Patricia and the lovely pool set amongst tropical trees and flowers with monkeys watching from above. We didn't really want to leave during those 5 days. A truly relaxing time had by both of us.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    56
    24
    16
    6
See reviews for
114
291
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I just returned from a week at Ylang Ylang for our honeymoon. We both agree that Ylang Ylang provides the most perfect experience of 'paradise' one could ask for. The resort is small and intimate so the staff all know your name and you know their names (if you take a minute to remember and interact with them). The staff is extremely accommodating to any needs you may have while staying at YY and always completes the request with a genuine smile. I believe that it is evident that YY treats their staff well which shines through in their love for their job and their willingness to tend to their guests.

We felt like we had rented our own beach while we were there. We stayed in Coco Joe's and had a personal walkway about 10 steps to the beach. We had our own hammocks perfectly placed on the edge of the beach just under the shades of the palm trees. We were never disturbed by neighbors or any other guests while at CJ's because nobody is close enough to the cabana to bother you. We bathed in the outdoor shower without ever feeling as though our privacy was violated. We met people at CJ's with their children who were having a fabulous time, older couples having a great time, and individuals staying on their own for the first time, or in some cases, their 4th or 5th time.

The food is top notch. There was not an item we did not thoroughly enjoy. The town is nearby and the walk at any time is extremely safe. We had drinks in town and had a great time at their sister restaurant watching an evening movie. The housekeepers were never seen, but always came and made our room look brand new. The options for tours etc... are very thorough, all are good, and easy to set up.

I hope that you go so that they continue to get business, but I hope that nobody goes so that the secret doesn't get spoiled. I will return to YY many, many times and I will bring others with me!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan station
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

we stayed in the half tent and loved hearing the waves from the ocean and feeling the lovely breeze. the most 'outdoors' we could be and sheltered in a cozy nook. bathroom was just outside the bedroom so separate yet right there!

Room Tip: the half tent has all the comforts possible and a/c was not missed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We just returned from Costa Rica and truly enjoyed our 4 days at Ylang Ylang resort. The beach, grounds and staff were fantastic and the wonderful design of the place makes you feel like you are staying in a Hollywood set...its that beautiful. Paths lined by tropical plants and flowers guide you to your Ocean front room and as this property is the last place on the beach before a private reserve, the unspoiled beach and sound s of waves are all you see and hear from your room, with the exception of the calls of birds and monkeys from the jungle outside your door. The food was excellent and even though the service at the restaurant can get a bit slow when they are full, it is not that big a deal as you are seated outside by the ocean. We will look forward to returning their again on our next visit to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: We got a deluxe room and it was worth the price, especially since breakfast and dinner are included
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband and I arrived to Ylang Ylang from another beautiful resort in Arenal, which was quite posh. We knew this wouldn't be quite as luxurious, but it was our favorite place we stayed in Costa Rica. From the moment we were picked up in Montezuma in the Land Rover, we were blown away by the beauty of the dry forest, the beach, and the friendly service from our driver. When we arrived at the resort, we got fresh juices and walked through the property. The staff were incredible and the property is the most beautiful place I've ever seen. I couldn't believe we were going to be there for four nights. We stayed in a beach bungalow, which was cute and simple, with an amazing view of the ocean. We loved getting up to watch the sunrise and drink our coffee. Our air conditioner broke one night and the resort could not fix it in time for us to sleep the next night, so to make it up to us, they put us up in the tree top canopy suite, which is a luxurious room in a treehouse! My husband was saying the whole time we were there that it was a dream come true for him. The a/c was blissful there, and the resort allowed us to return to a beach bungalow the next day. We were actually happy to have the a/c break because the night in the tree house was really cool--we woke up to the sound of howler monkeys calling before the sunrise, and we could see the ocean from the deck. While at the resort, we saw white-faced monkeys playing in the trees, saw lots of lizards, an armadillo, and some beautiful birds and flowers. We love seeing wildlife and it was abundant here! The restaurant on site was delicious, with breakfast and dinner included. We also took a yoga class and got a couples massage. Overall, it was a wonderful resort and we would go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in two beach bungalows and the tree top canopy and loved them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I stayed at the hotel at the end of February, after just over 2 weeks of traveling around the country with a tour group. Ending up here was just what I needed for 4 nights of pure relaxation.

The staff were so friendly and welcoming. They never made me feel like any request was too difficult. They also did a fantastic job of remembering peoples names and even noticed when I didn't turn up for dinner one evening.

The bonus is that the hotel is right on the beach, so that you can be on the beach in seconds - plus it's the quiet end of the beach, meaning you often have large sections to yourself. Bliss!

The only thing I would suggest is TVs for the rooms. I know some people don't mind this, but I was traveling on my own by this point after traveling and some evenings I just wanted to complelely chill out and watch some movies.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Our group of 11 (7 adults and 4 kids ages 7-10) had an incredible week long stay at the Ylang Ylang Beach Resort last month. It is truly an amazing place and it is sure to leave its mark on you. The setting is paradise with plenty of wildlife to see as you stroll the paths of this lovely resort. The staff in the restaurant and at the front desk are incredibly friendly and efficient while the housekeeping staff delight with fun towel creations each day. We enjoyed the beach, pool and relaxed further by doing yoga in the stunning studio with ocean views. Michelle was a great instructor, very welcoming and patient with our 2 girls. The food is fresh, healthy, beautifully presented and very satisfying with many options to choose from. We also loved the fact that the Ylang Ylang is separated by the short walk into Montezuma. It's far enough removed to feel like a secret hideaway but close enough to enjoy the village as well. Really incredible…the Pura Vida spirit of Costa Rica is definitely felt here and I can not recommend Ylang Ylang enough.

Room Tip: Our group reserved a beachfront bungalow and 2 beach front suites for our stay. Beautiful views from...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ylang Ylang Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Address: Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ylang Ylang Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-owned resort is known for its natural tropical beauty, variety of wildlife roaming the grounds and outstanding customer service. Located a 10-15 minute walk on the beach from Montezuma, one will find romantic Beach Front Bungalows with A/C, a Spa nestled in the jungle, and a tropical pool edged by waterfalls. If you're looking to get away...this is the getaway place... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ylang Ylang Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ylang Ylang Beach Hotel Montezuma
Ylang Beach Hotel
Ylang Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ylang Ylang Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.