We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded, rustic luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Ylang Ylang Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
UP to $70 OFF Bungalow
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Laguna Niguel, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Secluded, rustic luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

This was our 1st stop in Costa Rica and it is a wonderful, small resort. We stayed in a tent cabin which is rustic (wood slat floors, bathroom outside the cabin). I hate bugs so this was a stretch for me, but at night the sound of the ocean and wind blowing through the billowy curtains is really romantic. The grounds are beautiful, and the resort is right on the beach. Our adult children stayed in a very basic room, with concrete floors. They have "Dome" rooms which would have been a better fit for me. The town is really small, 2 streets, but the people are very friendly and shopping for trinkets was fun. The inclusive breakfast and dinner was great and a very good value. Our vegetarian daughter appreciated that every item had a vegetarian/vegan alternative. 4 days at Ylang Ylang was a perfect start to our trip!! Heard the spa is wonderful, but ran out of time to give it a try :(

Room Tip: Bring bug spray, lots of mosquitos
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    55
    23
    16
    6
See reviews for
113
279
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
US
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Four of us came here after a cruise thru the Panama Canal. While that was relaxing enough we had no real beach time before heading back to cold weather. The Ylang Ylang Beach Resort filled the bill. Beautiful long, white, sandy beach with water warm enough you can spend the day in it. If the beach is not your thing, the pool area is very pleasant with plenty of reclining lounge chairs. The resort property is lovely with beautiful trees and flowering shrubs everywhere. We stayed in one of the Domes facing the Pacific. Even felt safe enough to leave the sliders open a bit (but not too much or you might have some monkey visitors) so we could hear the ocean at night. Nice comfortable bed, lots of fresh, fluffy towels and a big shower with plenty of soaps and shampoos. Hairdryer & coffee maker too. The restaurant had fabulous meals off a menu or order a delicious, freshly caught fish. All served by a very friendly and helpful staff. They also have a nice gift shop that carries unique local jewelry and gift items along with tee-shirts, hats and some of their fabulous Costa Rican coffee. Take a 20 minute stroll along the beach (bring shoes or flops for HOT sand) to the town. Or you could walk to town along the road above the beach if you need some shade. Either way, the town's a fun place to visit. There's a number of shops and some good places to have tacos or a burger and toss back a few cervezas. All in all a really fine place to spend some time.....I hope to return someday.

Room Tip: We stayed in Domes 1 & 2 which face the ocean and are a very short walk from the restaurant and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

A truly wonderful small resort full of peace and beauty. Owners have over 34 years developed a tropical botanical paradise right on the beach, where flora and fauna delighted us. Take a Garden Walk with the owner to fully appreciate what is there. Understated environmental consciousness is present in local food selections, composting of garden clippings and food waste, energy produced 25% from solar, even the fact that you have to walk here from town or take the land rover they use for transport because cars cannot traverse the beach "road" to the resort. We loved being here...on the beach, in a hammock, at the pool, spa, yoga studio, and restaurant, in our rooms falling asleep to the sound of the surf.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed at Ylang Ylang for our Honeymoon and we couldn't have asked for a better time. The staff was amazing and exceeded my expectations for Costa Rica. Their food was top notch and the view from our jungle bungalow was amazing. We saw monkeys in the trees around us everyday. The beach was amazing and the tours they suggested were fantastic. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Jungle Bungalows are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We have had the good fortune to travel a fair bit. This is perhaps the best place we have ever stayed. The beauty of the beach is actually surpassed by the beauty of the grounds and the pool. The food was fantastic, the service was superb. Complete rest and relaxation away for any city noises but a short ten minute walk to an eclectic little town with a variety of nature excursions. Do not miss this gem!

Room Tip: We stayed at one of the tent cabins - the low cost choice. They are perfectly charming and clean and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

We spent the last five days of a one-month Latin America trip at Ylang Ylang. The resort is quite a gem, surrounded by nature at its best. Wild animals visit it during the day and at night, which shows how respectful of the environment the resort is. We saw two species of monkeys, agoutis and numerous birds during our stay. The swimming pool is great and offers a relaxing environment. The restaurant offers good food, though a couple of daily specials would have spiced up the menu a little bit (we got a bit bored with it after a few days). We stayed in a beach front suite, which was probably not the most private option (we could hear our neighbors' conversations with no effort and woke up with them every morning... this should be addressed). Everyone made us feel comfortable, especially Eric, Cindy, Patricia and Rafael. Good job!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This place was one of the closest things to paradise we have visited. We stayed at an isolated bungalow next to a beautiful beach with very few people. All around was a postcard-perfect jungle with wild monkeys lizards, exotic birds and all kinds of wildlife. The hotel area was very well kept all around.

Our price included breakfast and dinner. All meals were served at a beautiful terrace with a phenomenal view of the ocean. Breakfasts were fantastic and dinners were ok.

As we stayed over Christmas, there was also a Christmas day dinner "gourmet buffet". It was everyday food that was most definitely not gourmet. But the dinner was all around a pleasant experience with lights, live music and a beach bonfire.

Service was friendly and professional. The village of Montezuma was 15 minutes away walking and a few minutes by 4x4. While very touristy it had a nice vibe.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ylang Ylang Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Address: Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ylang Ylang Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-owned resort is known for its natural tropical beauty, variety of wildlife roaming the grounds and outstanding customer service. Located a 10-15 minute walk on the beach from Montezuma, one will find romantic Beach Front Bungalows with A/C, a Spa nestled in the jungle, and a tropical pool edged by waterfalls. If you're looking to get away...this is the getaway place... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Ylang Ylang Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ylang Ylang Beach Hotel Montezuma
Ylang Beach Hotel
Ylang Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ylang Ylang Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.