We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place in Costa Rica for a Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Ylang Ylang Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Place in Costa Rica for a Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed at Ylang Ylang for our Honeymoon and we couldn't have asked for a better time. The staff was amazing and exceeded my expectations for Costa Rica. Their food was top notch and the view from our jungle bungalow was amazing. We saw monkeys in the trees around us everyday. The beach was amazing and the tours they suggested were fantastic. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Jungle Bungalows are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    405
    49
    23
    16
    6
See reviews for
105
272
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We have had the good fortune to travel a fair bit. This is perhaps the best place we have ever stayed. The beauty of the beach is actually surpassed by the beauty of the grounds and the pool. The food was fantastic, the service was superb. Complete rest and relaxation away for any city noises but a short ten minute walk to an eclectic little town with a variety of nature excursions. Do not miss this gem!

Room Tip: We stayed at one of the tent cabins - the low cost choice. They are perfectly charming and clean and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

We spent the last five days of a one-month Latin America trip at Ylang Ylang. The resort is quite a gem, surrounded by nature at its best. Wild animals visit it during the day and at night, which shows how respectful of the environment the resort is. We saw two species of monkeys, agoutis and numerous birds during our stay. The swimming pool is great and offers a relaxing environment. The restaurant offers good food, though a couple of daily specials would have spiced up the menu a little bit (we got a bit bored with it after a few days). We stayed in a beach front suite, which was probably not the most private option (we could hear our neighbors' conversations with no effort and woke up with them every morning... this should be addressed). Everyone made us feel comfortable, especially Eric, Cindy, Patricia and Rafael. Good job!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This place was one of the closest things to paradise we have visited. We stayed at an isolated bungalow next to a beautiful beach with very few people. All around was a postcard-perfect jungle with wild monkeys lizards, exotic birds and all kinds of wildlife. The hotel area was very well kept all around.

Our price included breakfast and dinner. All meals were served at a beautiful terrace with a phenomenal view of the ocean. Breakfasts were fantastic and dinners were ok.

As we stayed over Christmas, there was also a Christmas day dinner "gourmet buffet". It was everyday food that was most definitely not gourmet. But the dinner was all around a pleasant experience with lights, live music and a beach bonfire.

Service was friendly and professional. The village of Montezuma was 15 minutes away walking and a few minutes by 4x4. While very touristy it had a nice vibe.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed for a week with our adult children and had a blast. The resort is beautiful with clean rooms, an outdoor restaurant, and very friendly staff. Our kids had the garden bungalows that had decks tree level so sitting on the deck was like being in the jungle canopy. We hung out in the pool during the day which is close to the bar and restaurant so we had pool service for drinks. There is a town close by, Montezuma, and the kids (our adult children) went there at night to have fun. There was no problem with safety and you do see guards patrolling the area and beach. The staff is top notch with Esteban, Rafael, and Christian providing excellent service in the open air restaurant. When my wife and I would walk back from town during the day they would provide ice water and wet towels for us which is just one example of this friendly staff. Our kids got to know the bartenders and really liked them. Both Ariel and Jeffrey in reception were very helpful and knowledgeable about what to do during the day. And Eric was very helpful with our bags and transportation. We did do the snorkeling at Tortuga island and this was great too. Also the food was exceptional we could not believe how good it was, and I started to look forward to dinner during the day. So if you want a beautiful place in terms of colorful plants and trees, food that is very tasty, and a friendly staff that is truly glad that you are staying with them, well please consider Ylang Ylang. This was our first stay and we will be doing our second stay as soon as possible.

Room Tip: You can hear the ocean from most if not all the rooms or huts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My partner and I had the good fortune to have been able
to stay at this wonderful hotel for 3 nights last week!
The setting, the beauty of the vegetation and beach,
the food, and the friendly and efficient staff all combined
to make our experience a magical one.
I can highly recommend, Enrique, who is hired by Ylang
Ylang to do tours. I had a glorious "sunset" tour to
Santa Teresa (whose beach is one of the most spectacular
I've ever seen) with Enrique.
It truly was a privilege to stay at this very special hotel!

Room Tip: We stayed in Coco Joe's Bungalow, which had a fabulous terrace overlooking the beach and incred...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

My wife and I have travelled in Europe, the Middle East, Africa, Caribbean, Canada, and Mexico-- never have we stayed in a place so beautifully conceived and executed. It is a small paradise. The rooms are well-appointed, the pool is a jewel, the beaches are excellent, the tour options excellent, the food superb, and the service as good as it gets.
We liked that their service model is not to hover over you. There is not someone at your side immediately when you sit down on the beach or at the pool. But you quickly learn the staff's names and if you ask Christian, Estaban, Merissa, or anyone for anything they respond as if you are the only guest there.
The owners have been gradually developing the facility for years and every plant, every guest room, and every amenity has been crafted with extraordinary attention to detail and congruence with the themes of nature, the local flora and wildlife, and environment. Their personal tour of the facility is a valuable experience by itself. (Even the door numbers are hand painted by the owner.)
If it gets too quiet, nearby Montezuma is a bustling little town with great restaurants and a good mixture of young and old enjoying themselves.
It is hard to see how anyone could have less than an exquisite time.

Room Tip: My brother and his wife stayed in the tent and were very pleased. It is great value. We stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ylang Ylang Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Address: Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ylang Ylang Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-owned resort is known for its natural tropical beauty, variety of wildlife roaming the grounds and outstanding customer service. Located a 10-15 minute walk on the beach from Montezuma, one will find romantic Beach Front Bungalows with A/C, a Spa nestled in the jungle, and a tropical pool edged by waterfalls. If you're looking to get away...this is the getaway place... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Ylang Ylang Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ylang Ylang Beach Hotel Montezuma
Ylang Beach Hotel
Ylang Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ylang Ylang Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.