We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon in Paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ylang Ylang Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Saratoga, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Honeymoon in Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed in the treehouse for four nights in August of 2013 for our honeymoon! We absolutely loved it! The room is very private, roomy, and romantic. The accommodations, service, food, and staff were amazing! We couldn't have been happier with our stay at Ylang Ylang! We will definitely be back and highly recommend this resort to our friends!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    56
    24
    16
    6
See reviews for
114
288
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Our first visit to Ylang Ylang was for four nights in January ’09. When we planned our January ’13 vacation we said to ourselves, “why look elsewhere” and booked 16 nights. This year we’ve booked another 16 nights. Nuff said?

From our garden dome, we dubbed the sliding glass door “Cine Mono,” (Monkey Cinema). Every day we were entertained by scores of Capuchin monkeys and the occasional family of Howlers. On the days we were in the tents, you could practically reach out and touch them in the banana trees. Iguanas are common, loved the Gray-necked wood rails – they sound like a bird doing an impression of a donkey. We even saw a kinkajou a few times from our garden dome. One day coming back from town we got to see sea turtles being released into the ocean. Other guests commented that they saw more wildlife at Ylang Ylang than in the rest of CR combined.

Now for the food. Wow! We looked forward to dinner every day. Our favorites were the jumbo shrimp kabobs, the chicken kabobs, the seared tuna, the curry, the daily seafood special, and the sushi. Yeah, pretty much everything. We had the Namaste rolls and wraps for lunch a few times and they were delicious. (When we had lunch, we always split something and it was plenty.) Breakfast was always tasty and they were willing to accommodate special requests. (No bacon, but I did get a fried egg with my pancakes.)

Patricia took us on a tour of the property one day and it was very interesting to hear how she and her family had “reclaimed” a former pasture and turned it into such a beautiful oasis over the years. Take the tour with her if you get a chance. Takes about an hour.

We’ve traveled across CR over the last 20+ years. Ylang Ylang is just so perfect, though, for us there’s just no point in staying elsewhere. The food is outstanding, the servers incredibly friendly, and the location couldn’t be better. Try it, you’ll love it!

Room Tip: We prefer the garden and beach domes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in the beach front bungalow in August of 2013 for our honeymoon and it was fabulous! We could not of asked for a better location and a better resort right on the beach. The resort is about a 5 minute walk from the town of Montezuma which makes it just the right amount of remote. We did the spa - couples massage - best massage ever!!! The food was amazing, never had a bad meal. I'm a vegetarian who eats fish, so I was in heaven, so many great options. The staff was so friendly and accommodating. We also did the private dinner on the beach (check out their website) on our last night and it was so perfect and so good. Definitely recommend it. This resort is so pretty, it's like a little jungle paradise right on the water. Hope to return some day!!

Room Tip: I recommend the beach front bungalow, definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

It's been 5 months now since our wedding at Ylang Ylang and I miss it every day. This is a very special place and they did a wonderful job for our ceremony. Everything was taken care of and run extremely professionally. We choose this resort partially for the vegetarian friendly food, and Ylang Ylang did not disappoint. Every meal was spot on and delicious. It was really everything we have ever wanted. The staff were amazing and the rooms were special and lovely. I could live the rest of my life there. It was fantastic to be on the edge of the jungle and the ocean. The ocean was magnificent and unique. It had a different character every night. Sometimes peaceful and calming and others cautionary and stormy. I recorded an evening of the waves, and I still listen to strong waves crashing against the beach to lull me to sleep. Go. Here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our family, 8 and 10yo boys, were booked to stay at Ylang Ylang for two nights as part of our 10 day tour through Guanacaste, Nicoya and Arenal. We loved the beautiful accommodations and wonderful isolation so much we extended our visit one day. There are not many places left in this world that have not been overrun with overblown all inclusive hotels and commerce where you can absorb into peaceful solitude with deserted beaches and native natural beauty.

I literally surfed with my boys on the 2KM stretch of Playa De Grande with no one else in sight. Just us, the jungle and the waves (and Howler Monkeys). Really, where else can you do this. Given the land is all reserve it will hopefully stay that way forever.

Food is excellent at the restaurant, the staff friendly (Rafa in the restaurant was great) and the ground like nothing I have ever seen.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowmass, Colorado
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed in Dome 1 right on the beach, it was such a perfect view of the surf. Very bright and very clean bungalow. The food was excellent, and the staff were so friendly and accommodating
Breakfast and Dinner were included with very delicious fresh organic food. Lots of entertainment and nature all around.

Debra W.

Room Tip: The Bungalow we stayed in was bright and sunny right on the beach, I would go back in a minute. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blagoevgrad, Bulgaria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We didn't know what to expect when we traveled to Costa Rica for the first time. When we arrived at this fabulous beach resort, we felt like we landed at the edge of the earth. If you're looking for a place to escape your every-day worries, go! Ylang Ylang exceeded expectations. I mean, the pictures on the Web are representative, but seeing (and feeling and hearing) really is believing. We fell asleep to the hypnotic sounds of the ocean's wave crashing on shore. We awoke (we stayed in the tent cabins -- highly recommended!!) on several mornings (early!) to the sounds of howler monkeys in the trees just beyond our cabins. We slept on the beach, swam in the ocean and lounged by the pool. A 30-minute walk to Playa Grande (the big beach) takes you to a wide beach that's great for surfing and lounging.

Make sure you take your time when strolling through the area. You'll see all manner of crabs, if you're quiet, you might spy a family of monkeys (as I did -- two adults and six babies swinging from the trees) on the walk to Playa Grande.

While it's true that on some parts of the beach, debris has washed ashore and the scene isn't perfect and pristine. If you need that kind of experience, the Montezuma area might not be for you. But if you can handle a little discomfort (it's hot and humid there in the summer; sometimes it rains; there are "creatures" here), your reward will be quiet beaches, great surfing, unparalleled relaxation and the incredible hospitality of Costa Ricans, which is amplified at this picturesque spot.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Tent Cabins," which were rustic, but perfect if you don't mind the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ylang Ylang Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Address: Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ylang Ylang Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-owned resort is known for its natural tropical beauty, variety of wildlife roaming the grounds and outstanding customer service. Located a 10-15 minute walk on the beach from Montezuma, one will find romantic Beach Front Bungalows with A/C, a Spa nestled in the jungle, and a tropical pool edged by waterfalls. If you're looking to get away...this is the getaway place... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ylang Ylang Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ylang Ylang Beach Hotel Montezuma
Ylang Beach Hotel
Ylang Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ylang Ylang Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.