We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicoya Seclusion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Ylang Ylang Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com
and 3 more sites!
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 FREE Night*
Ranked #1 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nicoya Seclusion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Ylang Ylang Beach Resort is the perfect place to relive yourself of the hassles of modern life, without sacrificing any creature comforts.

The location alone make the traveler feel like they have made an accomplishment simply by arriving. The town of Montezuma is relatively remote, and the road getting there is lousy, but the laid back feeling and beautiful beaches make it all worth the trip!

Perhaps to most welcome surprise about staying at the Ylang Ylang was the quality of the food, and attention to detail of the waitstaff. I left there with the felling that it was like a visit to a private home, with the kitchen of this resort really being the heart of the matter. The restaurant does daily, well thought out, and perfectly prepared meals, you can sense a great deal of pride is coming from the staff!

After one night in the conventional hotel room, we decided to take an upgrade and move into one of the little private bungalows. These little architectural marvels were just too cool to resist! The beachfront location coupled with a very active and whimsical jungle scene have made for many lasting memories. I would highly recommend booking a private bungalow when stay at the Ylang Ylang!

Really this place offers just about everything that a traveler could want in a resort. The location offers a wide array of rugged coast line combined with long stretches of virtually uninhabited beaches. The town is a funky and eclectic mix, and the local nature and waterfalls can't be beat!
Just keep and an open mind and a willingness to explore, you'll be sure to find something to remember.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    391
    48
    23
    14
    6
See reviews for
102
262
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

First of all, Montezuma is one of our favorite places in Costa Rica, and we stayed the two first nights in the "center" of Montezuma right across from the town bar, during the night there was a lot of noises both from the music and the monkeys running around on the roof. It didn't really bother us, but once we found YLANG YLANG, we immediately checked us in there. We found the hotell by walking on the beach. The hotel its situated 10 minutes from the town center, and its not a problem to walk, either on the beach or on a small road. The location is wonderful! You get a jungle feeling, as the location is built around a jungle with wild animals such as monkeys, armadillos, iguanas etc (you can never see enough animals there!) The staff was there to welcome us with a welcome dring and was so profesional and caring and caring during our stay. We stayed in one of the bungalows and the view from the terass was fantastic, as was the sounds of the waves. The room and bathrooms were very clean and they have made a fun twist with building the bathroom outside (it has a see-through roof and wooden walls, but it feels like taking a shower in the jungle). There are not a lot of bungalows or rooms, so its not a hotell with a huge amount of people, its perfect. There is a pool area which is really nice and during happy hour they serve drinks and appetizers by the pool. Both the breakfast and dinner is included and the food is delicious! We even tried the couple massage which is really recomendable (alone or with another person). The hotell made us so relaxed it was really hard to go back to busy San José.
The place is for couples, friends and families and we met both young, middle age and elderly people there so its a place for everyone!

We really cant say enough about this place, the experience was fantastic and I know we will be back some day!

Room Tip: The bungalows are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Ylang Ylang is a different place … It is hard to get there (we drove from Arenal to Montezuma straight), but once you arrive there and start noticing how beautiful the area is, how Ylang Ylang was designed and built around jungle and native forest, the trip was worth it every minute. We stayed at the beach bungalow for honeymoon (the 2nd part of our trip in Costa Rica) and the Pacific with warm water was just 50m on our front. We slept hearing the waves breaking on the shore that close … The restaurant is totally different: wonderful food, with different taste, flavours, organic ingredients and well prepared. It was a splunge on our trip and the best food that we ate. The restaurant itself is beautiful, with gardens and an exotic design. We also went to the beach of Santa Teresa / Mal Pais (50 mins driving) and it was fantastic. We have enjoyed a lot Ylang Ylang and we recommend it 100%. As they wrote on the hotel business card: "if you want to get away, this is the gateway" -- so true … Marcia & Andre.

Room Tip: Several options, but staying on a beach bungalow was superb ..... You hear the waves breaking on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This place was an amazing experience. Ylang Ylang was the 2nd stop on our trip and exceed all of expectations. As soon as you check in they give you a refreshing welcome drink that sets the mood for the rhythm at this resort. Time moves slow, the waves and the sounds of nature set the tone for a relaxing experience. Our room was very clean with a beautiful view. The food was amazing and the staff served as if you were at a fine dinning restaurant. They offer yoga classes daily at 8:30 am. The studio is open air with views of the ocean and beach, can't think of a better way to start my day! The town of Montezuma is a short walk down the beach and is also a very chill, laid back town. Loved every minute that we were here. Truly a relaxing retreat! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I can't say enough about the stay at Ylang Ylang. It was perfect. It doesn't have a lot of rooms and bungalows so all the staff knows your name and are so helpful and friendly. The food was the best food I've ever had. No joke. Amazing. I loved that we had hammocks outside our bungalows to lay in, the pool was nice and warm, the grounds were beautiful.
We drove from San Jose to Montezuma and was really surprised how dry the Nicoya Peninsula was. It wasn't anything like our following stop in Arenal which is gorgeous green and lush. So just be prepared for an hour drive from Pacquera to Montezuma to be dry and not very pretty. But once you get to the resort it is well worth the drive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights and LOVED it! We are frequent travellers and have stayed in luxury resorts all over the world. Although we were sleeping in a 'tent cottage' we would rate this with the best. You park your car in the town and they pick you up in a Land Rover Defender. The 5 minute drive is so fun, as you go to the end of the road and then proceed to drive right onto the beautiful white sand beach. The hotel is gorgeous! Nestled in the trees and right on the ocean. The first night we stayed in a two-story room, which was so nice. Big bathroom with all the amenities. It was clean and so peaeful, looking right onto the ocean. The next 2 nights we stayed in a tent-cottage, which was by far our favorite! They are private, with all the amenities of a room. You can hear all the wild-life, but you are still in a comfy bed and feel very safe with 24 hr security on the property. There is a sink with hot water and mirror/electrical plugs in your cottage. The toilet and shower is just down a small path and although I was initially hesitant about this set-up, I didn't mind it at all. Cleaned regularly (I mean, I don't think I ever wasn't the first to use a shower) it really wasn't a big deal! Also, no bugs and well lit. The food (it included breakfast and dinner) was superb. The breakfast menu was extensive, although we usually defaulted to the 'tipico', which included typical local fare. Make sure to ask for 'salsa lizano' which makes everything taste amazing! The dinner menu was very impressive. We LOVE sushi and their's was so fresh! We also tried fish dished and their seared ahi was wonderful. The service was great, they have a great wine list, and their location is near hiking trails, waterfalls, and obvi the beach. They offer yoga and the studio looked awesome. The pool was great too! Can't say enough about how much we loved it here. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Tent Cottage is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I spent 14 nights in Costa Rica for our honeymoon. We had booked most of our hotels, but left a few nights open to drive around and "explore". We both wanted to check out the Nicoya Peninsula, but only had 1 night available.

***Side Note: My husband has A LOT of experience driving off-road. He was looking forward to driving around CR and just checking things out. If you decide to visit the Nicoya Peninsula, take the ferry from Puntarenas (it's like $30 USD for 2 adults and a car + they sell beer during the 70 minute ride). When you get off the ferry, stay on the signed roads that go along the coast. DO NOT take "shortcuts". Also, we rented a Hyundai Tuscon (aka "Barbie Jeep") spring for a better 4WD if you want to drive on back roads.

We called Ylang Ylang late in the day to see if anything was available. They had 2 rooms - a private bungalow and a suite. I liked the suite better (it had a cool loft area that was all glass w/ a great view of the ocean). The suites seemed to be more for families w/ kids and the bungalows were geared towards couples, but we weren't there long and I liked the suite.

We got to the resort LATE (around 9 PM) dinner and breakfast are included, but be aware the kitchen shuts down at 10 PM. The food was good. Because we booked it really last minute, they took $50 off the room price (it was a little over $200/night). I don't think you can do that during the height of tourist season, but this was a weeknight in April, so it worked out.

The drinks are pricey for CR ($9 USD for a Mojito) and the pool also closes at 10 PM.

During our tour/intro, the hotel staff member mentioned that yoga classes were available (not sure if it cost additional $). I would have liked to get a massage, but we really weren't there long enough and the spa treatments were a little pricey (compared to other parts of CR).

I would recommend this place to couples w/ young kids... or anyone I know who is really into yoga, but I'm not sure I would stay there again. Also, not the best beach for swimming (rip tides).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ylang Ylang Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Ylang Ylang Beach Hotel Montezuma
Ylang Ylang Beach Hotel
Ylang Beach Hotel
Ylang Beach Resort
Address: Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ylang Ylang Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-owned resort is known for its natural tropical beauty, variety of wildlife roaming the grounds and outstanding customer service. Located a 10-15 minute walk on the beach from Montezuma, one will find romantic Beach Front Bungalows with A/C, a Spa nestled in the jungle, and a tropical pool edged by waterfalls. If you're looking to get away...this is the getaway place... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Ylang Ylang Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ylang Ylang Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.