We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience at a Very Good Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Ylang Ylang Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Essex County, NJ
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Experience at a Very Good Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I had always wanted to stay in the Montezuma area, and Ylang Ylang has been consistently rated the best lodging option near town. Overall we had a great experience.

First, service here is top-notch. The folks at the front desk are very knowledgeable, responsive, and friendly. They were helpful in suggesting and booking tours and always had a smile. The restaurant is excellent and our servers were patient with our kids and very nice. The food is really good, especially if you are a vegetarian. Lots of nice options, and the view from the restaurant can not be beat.

The grounds are stunning. The hotel is built into the jungle and we had a great view of the ocean from our room. On our first day we saw monkeys swinging in the trees on the walk to our room. Very cool. The pool is surrounded by the lush vegetation. The ocean is right in front of the resort. The beach is quite rocky and there was a huge swell while we were there, making the beach in front of Ylang Ylang un-swimmable much of our time in Montezuma, but that's neither here nor there. I have traveled quite extensively throughout Costa Rica and this is one of the more beautiful locations.

The only slight negative was the room. We stayed in a duplex room in the Jungle King building. The room was average in appearance and had a rustic feel. I am fine with this, but the price of the room, even with breakfast and dinner included, was a bit high for the quality of the accommodation. Also, I expect bugs in my room when I stay in the jungle, but the number of ants in the room was unbelievable. Again, this is the only negative I can report.

And the town of Montezuma is interesting. Hippies, new age sorts, and expats from around the world all living in a tiny village on the sea. Think Grateful Dead parking lot scene placed in Costa Rica. The area itself is magnificent - beautiful ocean, mountains, waterfalls, rivers. I love this part of the country.

Overall, this was a great experience and I recommend the resort to anyone traveling to Montezuma.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    403
    49
    23
    15
    6
See reviews for
104
271
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington MA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The resort was lovely. We had one of the 'jungle' huts- it was very secluded, and up in the trees- great deck for watching the wildlife, the ocean just visible through the trees. Room was comfortable and cute- not at all like the places we have to stay when traveling for work. The grounds are lovely, and green all year. The beach in front is dramatic and beautiful but a bit strong and rocky for swimming- but a few minutes walk in either direction takes you to more swimable spots. Things to check out: The river (10 minutes walk to the left along the beach, with the interesting rock piles there). The waterfall (on the other side of the town of Montezuma). Excursions with Edwuardo Sanchez to the Sunset beach and Curo wildlife reserve were highlights of the trip. Edwuardo was super- knowledgeable, good driver, full of interesting tidbits, well worth having private tours. We also did the group snorkeling expedition and the canopy tour (not good if you have vertigo, great fun if you don't. They do have an easy 'way out' half way through the trip). The front desk people were so helpful in arranging all this! The breakfasts and dinners were in a lovely setting, very relaxed (not fast service so plan on being leisurely and relaxed). and the best of all was the prettiest yoga room ever (above the restaurant, open the beach) with excellent yoga teachers too- very accommodating to beginners.

Room Tip: The 'tents' are cute but don't offer a lot of privacy. We stayed in a garden dome, very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here on a family vacation.
Overall this was a very nice resort, not at all plush, but very nice.
The best things about it--
The dinner and breakfast that come essentially free (etoh not included) were great. The dinners were the best food we had in CR.
It is right on the beach, and really takes you away from everything. Beach pretty secluded and nice. If you walk on the beach AWAY from town you get to a huge, non-rocky, beautiful beach.
My wife had a great am yoga session. Views were great.
The grounds were really nice.
Montezuma is a short walk and was a cool hippie/rasta expat kind of town.
Downsides--
Again, this was a secluded beach resort. NO TV, spotty internet. Pool was OK.
My wife went to the spa and said it was OK.
Not too much else going on at the site.

Overall it was good, but for comparison we stayed at Nayara resort in Arenal later and there is absolutely no comparison between the two--with Nayaral being amazing and Ylang-Ylang being good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This place is magical! I got married here last month and had the most beautiful beach wedding of my dreams (thanks to Moraya Iacono, my Ylang Ylang wedding planner and all the incredible staff at the resort!), but that was just the cherry on top of my experience at this resort. The grounds are immaculate and beautiful, the food is delicious, the people are so kind and helpful, my beach bungalow was a dream, the pool is so lovely and refreshing, the smell of ylang ylang flowers is everywhere, there are all sorts of cool wild animals (monkeys, birds, iguanas, etc) mulling about.....I could go on and on!! All my guests loved it here and no one wanted to leave. The best part is the sound of the ocean waves crashing against the rocks, combined with the all the crazy sounds of the jungle lulling me to sleep every night. I loved it! I keep thinking I need to travel more and take more vacations, but honestly, I just want to keep coming back here. It was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed 5 days at Ylang Ylang, Very easy to get lost in another dimension of no responsibilities, no hassles, and no problems. Time just slips by. You may not come back to reality, and if you do, you won't want to. Montezuma is pretty standard for the little town by the beach, great restaurants including Ylang Ylang, Superb coast line,"God did a good job here", and amazingly nice people. I rarely ever travel to a same location but this may be one of the few that brings me back. If you can, grab one of their ocean side bungalows, and just enjoy. God, it is nice to be alive!
We have been back for a couple of weeks and what I would give up to be walking the 1/4 mile to town just to mail a postcard at the bookstore. During those travels the only thing that was on my mind was can I was the sand off my feet when the next wave comes in. Now that a tough day. Enjoy

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was the most amazing trip! This resort is definitely first class! The rooms were great, the food was unbelievably good (with HUGE portions), and the staff always went above and beyond. Truly a wonderful place to go. I would, and already have, recommend Ylang Ylang to anyone! Thank you for a truly wonderful experience! ~Jenn and Brady---Florida, USA

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Was here in march 2007 and again in March this year. Love the setting. Love the friendly staff. Love Patricia and Lenny, the owners. And find the food orgasmic. But since our first visit this hotel has been discovered by families with small kids. This seems odd to me -- the surf and ripping tide on Montezuma are too much even for many adults, and it's a long an arduous trip to get there with young'uns in tow.
Nontheless young families came in great numbers, transforming ylang ylang's small, shaded pool -- which can be an oasis during midday when the sun is blaring down hard -- into something akin to a neighborhood pool back home. Don't bother bringing a book to the pool because the noise from kids running along the banks, shouting and doing cannonball jumps makes reading impossible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ylang Ylang Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Address: Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ylang Ylang Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-owned resort is known for its natural tropical beauty, variety of wildlife roaming the grounds and outstanding customer service. Located a 10-15 minute walk on the beach from Montezuma, one will find romantic Beach Front Bungalows with A/C, a Spa nestled in the jungle, and a tropical pool edged by waterfalls. If you're looking to get away...this is the getaway place... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Ylang Ylang Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ylang Ylang Beach Hotel Montezuma
Ylang Beach Hotel
Ylang Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ylang Ylang Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.