We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WARNING!! Very easy to get lost in another dimension of no responsibilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Ylang Ylang Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
UP to $70 OFF Bungalow
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“WARNING!! Very easy to get lost in another dimension of no responsibilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed 5 days at Ylang Ylang, Very easy to get lost in another dimension of no responsibilities, no hassles, and no problems. Time just slips by. You may not come back to reality, and if you do, you won't want to. Montezuma is pretty standard for the little town by the beach, great restaurants including Ylang Ylang, Superb coast line,"God did a good job here", and amazingly nice people. I rarely ever travel to a same location but this may be one of the few that brings me back. If you can, grab one of their ocean side bungalows, and just enjoy. God, it is nice to be alive!
We have been back for a couple of weeks and what I would give up to be walking the 1/4 mile to town just to mail a postcard at the bookstore. During those travels the only thing that was on my mind was can I was the sand off my feet when the next wave comes in. Now that a tough day. Enjoy

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    55
    23
    16
    6
See reviews for
113
281
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was the most amazing trip! This resort is definitely first class! The rooms were great, the food was unbelievably good (with HUGE portions), and the staff always went above and beyond. Truly a wonderful place to go. I would, and already have, recommend Ylang Ylang to anyone! Thank you for a truly wonderful experience! ~Jenn and Brady---Florida, USA

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Was here in march 2007 and again in March this year. Love the setting. Love the friendly staff. Love Patricia and Lenny, the owners. And find the food orgasmic. But since our first visit this hotel has been discovered by families with small kids. This seems odd to me -- the surf and ripping tide on Montezuma are too much even for many adults, and it's a long an arduous trip to get there with young'uns in tow.
Nontheless young families came in great numbers, transforming ylang ylang's small, shaded pool -- which can be an oasis during midday when the sun is blaring down hard -- into something akin to a neighborhood pool back home. Don't bother bringing a book to the pool because the noise from kids running along the banks, shouting and doing cannonball jumps makes reading impossible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I read reviews of this place almost daily in excitement for our trip. Yes, it was all these awesome things you read about and more. On the way in, the driver told us they released baby sea turtles the day before we arrived (2/27) at a sanctuary next door. The grounds were beautiful, just like all the pictures, and we saw and heard monkeys daily and up close. Our first night was right after a full moon and the phosphorescents in the water were stunning, I've never seen anything like this glow. We also saw coati and monkeys. The food was absolutely amazing, I was turned from a vegetarian into a pescetarian with that seared tuna. I'll go back just for that but I want you to know about the exceptional staff. After a 7hr trip from Fortuna, in the heat and humidity, we had a delicious meal, and BF was suddenly not well. He stood up, walked a few feet, and collapsed at the restaurant. The staff and a guest rushed to help and gave us ice cold towels and water. They reassured me this was dehydration and helped get him back to the room. We had no phones but they said to call to the nearby security guard if needed and this was reassuring. The next day at the restaurant Christian was very welcoming and caring and we so appreciated this. We were staying a few days and planned to have many meals there so this instantly made BF feel at ease and able to relax and enjoy our stay. Thanks again Christian, Moraya, and guy from Ohio with the dentist brother! :) You guys are the best! We will be back!

Room Tip: We had a beach front room but would probably spring for an upgrade next time. It felt a little tight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

It really does live up to all the excellent reviews previously received!

Driving in from the main road you will wonder where on earth you are off to. And please note, your taxi (or hire car) will have to drop you at El Sano Banano in Montezuma itself to await a transfer pick up by the hotel's 4x4. This is becuase the hotel is down the beach and very few vehicles can make it there, plus they don't have any parking. However, once there, it really does feel like paradise!

We stayed in a lovely little bungalow/dome (number 1) overlooking the beach with indoor and outdoor shower, aircon and sea view. It was utter bliss. Some of our friends stated in the tents which were pretty basic and a little warm without aircon but a decent price if you're on a budget or there at a cooler time.

The food is really, really good and there is a brilliant swimming pool and spa.

We were here for our friends' wedding and they couldn't have picked a more beautiful spot. Ylang Ylang hosted it and held a lovely ceremony followed by brilliant drinks party, wedding breakfast (Costa Rican style) and bonfire on the beach!

The only downside is you can wait quite a while for your transfer so make sure you are clear with the hotel/El Sano Banano how long it will be so you can decide whether to walk (with your bags following later) or chill out in Montezuma itself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I don't usually review hotels i didn't stay in, but i kicked myself for not picking this place. We spent happy hours here, and pouted when we had to leave at the end of the day. This is the best location in montezuma. On the beach but not the busy one, in the trees beautiful accomodations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Situated on a beautiful wild beach with various rooms dotted around the gorgeous gardens, the dome rooms are best, the tent ones quite basic with communal washing and wc facilities, I was in a jungle king which had a great view of the beach but was quite dark inside. The food is excellent and the staff v friendly and helpful, apparently the spa is fantastic -my husband went and so did many friends and loved it . It's set high above the beach amongst the trees with sounds of the crickets and monkeys all around.The pool is small but pretty with a waterfall at the back and often monkeys are in the trees all around it . There are yoga and dance lessons most mornings above the main resturant too. It's a very eco friendly place but we all really felt this was the real costa rica and really found our stay magical, would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ylang Ylang Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Address: Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ylang Ylang Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-owned resort is known for its natural tropical beauty, variety of wildlife roaming the grounds and outstanding customer service. Located a 10-15 minute walk on the beach from Montezuma, one will find romantic Beach Front Bungalows with A/C, a Spa nestled in the jungle, and a tropical pool edged by waterfalls. If you're looking to get away...this is the getaway place... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo and Expedia so you can book your Ylang Ylang Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ylang Ylang Beach Hotel Montezuma
Ylang Beach Hotel
Ylang Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ylang Ylang Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.