We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you could wish for...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Ylang Ylang Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Tingo.com
and 3 more sites!
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 FREE Night*
Ranked #1 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Maidstone
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“All you could wish for...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My wife and I and extended family and friends stayed here at the end of our Costa Rican holiday in February this year. It is well worth the journey to get there - ferry and taxi / bus to Montezuma town. We were met upon our arrival by the hotel's Land Rover and transferred to the hotel a short 5 minute drive. The guy that met us was a graduate on a break to improve his English and was charming and very pleasant.

The hotel is situated at the far end of Montezuma beach and has an excellent outlook. The ocean is a stones throw away. It has a bar / restaurant and swimming pool at the entrance end and then the rooms are located up a single walkway running parallel to the beach.
The best rooms are the domes, which are very close to the beach and have there own outside shower to remove all the sand before going inside. Their balcony area is on the beach side and makes a lovely early morning / sunset spot with a drink.

The other rooms are either located up amongst the jungle hillside - which are individual or family accommodation - or if there are more in your family group you can have one of the beach block rooms. These are a made up of 4 ground floor rooms and 4 above. The only downside to these are you are subject to other peoples noise and you balcony area is directly adjoined by next doors.

The food was very good - with the exception of one cold meal - but on the whole very good, the blackened tuna steak was sublime! The staff were on the whole very good, with the exception of Christian who was exceptional - polite, professional and courteous.
One curious quirk is that at breakfast you can have as many cups of coffee as you like, but after dinner as a hotel guest you have to pay $3 a cup - why?

The beach in front of the rooms is not private, but used by locals and other tourists as a walking route / way to other bays up the coast. Having said that it's not busy, but it is possible that you will get other non residents sitting in the shade on the beach in front of your rooms.

Montezuma town is quirky, laid back and pleasant enough. It has numerous street sellers who are quite happy for you to browse without any pressure selling - long may it continue.

The weather when we were there was very hot and sunny. Temperatures were often in the high 90's so take plenty of high factor cream with you! The sea can be quite rough close to the hotel, but manageable if you are aware of it. It is calmer closure to town on the wide expanse of beach.

All in all a very pleasant place to unwind after a tour of the country.

Room Tip: Have the beach igloos!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    391
    48
    23
    14
    6
See reviews for
102
262
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Estes Park, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was a wonderful surprise for us as we were staying at El Sano Banano (same owners) and visited the resort, we were blown away and booked our last night as a special treat at Ylang Ylang.

This is what vacationing is all about for us! Being next to the beach in the really cool dome building with monkey's overhead, we watched sea turtles being released down the beach at the turtle rescue center one night, the whole stay was amazing.

I wish that there were more nature trails but we found plenty to do with beach walks and surfing.

I would go back here in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The domes are great, very private and they all seemed like they were in good locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I took a group of twenty adventure seekers to Ylang Ylang! The accommodations were beautiful and well maintained. Our first walk through the lush resort left the group breathless! The staff were all great to work with and made our group feel right at home during the entire stay! The food was beyond delicious and the views spectacular! If you travel to Costa Rica, you have to stay at Ylang Ylang!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Eco tourism at its best with a spring water pool, spring water coming out of all the faucets (no need for plastic water bottles!), raw and vegan food options, as well as other types...mostly all organic...delicious food! We loved staying in the tents, as well as the domes. It is a magical property with lots of wildlife. The in the 1970s the owners planted a paradise, having restored the land from cattle grazing. The property to the east is a reserve, and a turtle hatchery and funky hippie town to the west. (No Walmarts or Targets!). Enjoy!

Room Tip: they are all good, but ask for something on the beach. Things book up fast here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Not your typical Costa Rican beach resort.

I've made multiple trips to Costa Rica and was surprised by the higher than normal price structure.
WELL WORTH IT!

This resort operates at a standard above and beyond most beach resorts in the US. The service is outstanding and the grounds are spectacular. The food was amazing, easily rivaling the best restaurants in the country.

The property was well maintained and safe for kids. Also, there was full time 24/7 staff and security watching over everything (no random strangers wandering about). We saw tons of wildlife and even did some fishing right in front of our rooms.

If you want first class, this is it.
If this doesn't fit your budget, check out their sister hotel, el Sano Banano. Almost as nice, but more affordable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was my first trip to Ylang Ylang; however the friends I went with have been there every year for 10 years. We were there for 6 days. Everything and everyone there are World Class. The food is great, the service is great, all the staff are great, and the surroundings are unbelievable. The food menu is fairly limited, however everything I tried was excellent, and I tried most everything. Just don’t expect a hamburger, or hot dog, because you won’t find one here. Breakfast and Dinner are included with the rate. They have a very nice pool with a water fall, and beach area with lounge chairs and hammocks. My only disappointment was the ocean. I am from Alabama and Florida, so I am use to waking into the nice clean water, and that was not the case in this area of Costa Rica. Leave the snorkel gear at home. The town of Montezuma is about a 10 minute, easy walk, however the town is small and you can see all you want in about a half a day. I stayed in Bungalow 3 and it was very neat. It is like a small hut, however has plenty of room, and a great view of the ocean. I recommend bungalow 1,2,3, or 4 because it is only a few steps to the beach, and the view is outstanding. The Bungalows have an outdoor shower for washing off the sand. Inside the bungalow is a very large shower, ours had a double bed, wet bar, large closet, air conditioning, and NO TV. Trust me on this one........... no TV is a plus at YY, because you will never even think about watching a TV while you are here. Monkeys running around the pool and on the beach, sounds coming from the jungle like a Tarzan movie, no cars running up and down the street, because there is no street. You can rent ATV’s in Montezuma, and the staff at YY can arrange rentals also. There are lots of roads to ride, and you don’t have to worry about getting lost. Wear old clothes and shoes you don’t mind getting wet, but you will love it. You can rent one for $75 to $85 for a 12 hour day, but you will be done in less than 12 and ready for the pool. If you want to experience something very different and unusual, this is the place.

Room Tip: Get Bungalow 1,2,3,or4 on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This has to be one of the most beautiful places on earth. We arrived the first night and stayed at El Sano Bano, the sister hotel. The staff took great care of us and our family. The following morning we walked across the gorgeous white sands to see the resort for the first time.
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort was a beautiful paradise. The facilities were top notch and the scenery was breathtaking. The animals, monkeys and iguanas are always around to provide entertainment. The staff always greeted us with smiles and greetings and after our first few hours knew us by name. They truly made us feel like part of the family. The food was prepared to perfection and the drinks truly refreshing. Every meal was very enjoyable and the prices reasonable considering the high quality.

On our 3rd day at the resort, we got married. Moraya, Emma and his staff took great care of us and listened to our many requests. They took my brides vision and molded into the best day of our life. Special thanks for taking one of the drinks from the menu and modifying it to match our wedding colors. The wedding was "perfect" and the entire day was "magical". Our server for the cocktail party and the wedding, "Christian" went above and beyond to make sure us and our guests had an amazing time. We still sit at family gatherings and rave about how amazing our wedding was.

The rooms, the view, the yoga, the staff, and the energy surrounding this resort made it hard to leave. To Moraya, Emma, Patricia, and the staff, I can't thank you all enough for making our stay and our wedding a moment in time to always be remembered. We look forward to returning for our anniversary.

Room Tip: Coco Joes is truly magnificent! Nestled in the woods, the outdoor shower is amazing and the view bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ylang Ylang Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Ylang Ylang Beach Hotel Montezuma
Ylang Ylang Beach Hotel
Ylang Beach Hotel
Ylang Beach Resort
Address: Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ylang Ylang Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-owned resort is known for its natural tropical beauty, variety of wildlife roaming the grounds and outstanding customer service. Located a 10-15 minute walk on the beach from Montezuma, one will find romantic Beach Front Bungalows with A/C, a Spa nestled in the jungle, and a tropical pool edged by waterfalls. If you're looking to get away...this is the getaway place... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Ylang Ylang Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ylang Ylang Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.