We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Of all the places we have been, this is the one we want to go back too!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Ylang Ylang Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 FREE Night*
Ranked #1 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Of all the places we have been, this is the one we want to go back too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed in Tent Cabin A, it was like luxury camping right on the beach. This place is truly amazing! The food was excellent and the service great too! I loved how secluded it was. It was like we walked into a post card. We have been MANY MANY places in Costa Rica and this is the one we talk about most wanting to go back to. I see a anniversary stay here in our future! My only complaint was there was a little bit of construction noise during our stay but not unbearable and I remember wishing there was an outdoor hose/shower for the Tent Cabin occupants coming in from the beach, we had to walk all the way to the bathroom, and would gets tons of sand on the shower floor that would then stay there until being cleaned the next morning, a minor inconvenience. This place was soooooo worth the money and we will definitely come back!!! ME GUSTA MUCHO!!

Room Tip: Choose Tent Cabin A (if you are staying in a cabin) there is no other cabins to the left so it is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    390
    48
    23
    14
    6
See reviews for
102
261
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Ylang Ylang provided the perfect romantic getaway for my fiancé and me. We had our own private garden view bungalow tucked away but only steps from the beach. Every morning we would have coffee on our front balcony then head to the restaurant for breakfast. Delicious food. Some days we were lazy and just lounged by the pool or in a hammock on the beach and other days we were adventurous and took a hike to the waterfalls, rented atvs, and went zip lining. There are tons of activities and opportunities to lounge around. The best of both worlds, if you ask me! Dinners were equally wonderful and were set by candlelight overlooking the beach. This is truly a vacation we won't forget! We will be back :)

Room Tip: We loved the privacy of the Garden Bungalows and how the monkeys just peek over the roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about Ylang Ylang Beach Resort! While some may think the prices look high, having breakfast and dinner included makes it very affordable. There is so much variety and delicious options on the menu that it is in no way an obligation but a privilege! While Ylang Ylang was gorgeous and the rooms very comfortable, my family also really loved the town of Montezuma! It was a short and nice beach walk into town, fun shops and vendors. Excellent place for a vacation. Thank you Ylang Ylang, we will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in what I think was called the beach suite which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

While some might tell you not to visit montezuma or Costa Rica in the rainy season, I beg to differ! I was at ylang ylang in June and while it rains most days, its usually only in the early mornings and lasts a short while or during the night while you're sleeping (the tropical rain is incredibly magical to fall asleep to). The "rainy" season really isn't that rainy. It was also very nice to be there at a quieter time. The beaches are less crowded and you tend to get better prices. Plus, as I was told by the Ylang Ylang staff, because of the rain everything is very green and you see many more animals. The staff at Ylang Ylang were very informative and friendly. It has a very family feel to it. I had been worried about visiting in the rainy season but it was actually very special. Don't let that deter you from coming to Ylang Ylang! It's even more beautiful (if you can believe it).

Room Tip: I loved the Garden Bungalows but I saw that they other types of rooms as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed at Ylang Ylang with my family for Christmas of 2011. We had an amazing time!!! The Ylang Ylang staff are incredibly kind and helpful. The property is stunning with beautiful views of the ocean and lush tropical gardens. The Christmas dinner buffet was delicious and the entertainment quite fun! If you are traveling on the nicoya peninsula this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Coco Joe's Bungalow has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We spent 5 nights here a couple weeks ago and it was AWESOME. Moraya was so helpful when it came to making all of our plans, from the reservations themselves to our transport to and from the airports. We stayed in one of the beach front bungalows and it was amazing. Great view of the beach and we fell asleep every night listening to the waves and the huge storms that would roll through. Needless to say, I slept like a rock. The bed was very comfortable, firm but not too firm. The shower was huge and had great water pressure too.

The restaurant had great vegetarian options and everyone that worked there was so sweet. Ask for the ginger lemonade! I lived on them while we were there.

All around Ylang Ylang was a great place to stay, we loved it so much we are going back for Christmas!

Room Tip: The beach front bungalows have the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Me and my husband stayed here for a week. (we got married here). The staff were the most friendly people ive ever met! They bent over backwords to make sure all of our needs were met. We stayed in dome 7, it was perfect!!!!!! we were in the rainforest and could still see the gorgeous beach! The food was soooo delicious as were the drinks. ive seen some people say it was a long walk to do anything.... Not true. The walk to town was nothing and with all the beauty surrounding you how could you not enjoy a 10 minute walk????????????????? REALLY????? the town people were also very friendly. It was the best vacation of my life!!!! we will be going back every year!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! p.s. Go to the spa and get a nice stone massage!!!!!

Room Tip: stay in a bungalow. very private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ylang Ylang Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Ylang Ylang Beach Hotel Montezuma
Ylang Ylang Beach Hotel
Ylang Beach Hotel
Ylang Beach Resort
Address: Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
#1 Family Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ylang Ylang Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-owned resort is known for its natural tropical beauty, variety of wildlife roaming the grounds and outstanding customer service. Located a 10-15 minute walk on the beach from Montezuma, one will find romantic Beach Front Bungalows with A/C, a Spa nestled in the jungle, and a tropical pool edged by waterfalls. If you're looking to get away...this is the getaway place... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Ylang Ylang Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ylang Ylang Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.