We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very agreeable hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luz de Mono

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Luz de Mono to your Saves list
Hotel Luz de Mono
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Behind the Church, Montezuma 000123, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Genève
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Very agreeable hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

This is a nice hotel, in a big garden with a swimming-pool, hamacs, and sea view, big rooms, pretty bathrooms. But the best is the casitas on the hill, with two rooms, terrace and outdoor jacuzzi.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    89
    20
    10
    7
See reviews for
34
116
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

This hotel is a little paradise on earth...We arrived there without reservations and Laura,the manager,worked really hard to accomodate us.We stayed for a week and everything was perfect!
-The pool and kid's pool were great,very clean.
-You have about 5 choices for breakfast.
-The garden surrounding the hotel is amazing and very well groomed.
-All the staff is very nice and the place is very kid friendly.
We stayed in a casita (# 2)for the first night: clean,a great oceanview,hammock and outdoor jacuzzi on the terrace!!We had to move in a room for the following nights since it was already booked.The room was nice :we were on the second floor :we coul see all the monkeys in the trees!
The hotel is 2 minutes away from the beach.
THE PLACE TO STAY!!!WE LOVED IT

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

I was a first-time solo traveler (a spiritual journey, if you will) and through my research and a little fate, I ended up at Luz de Mono in Montezuma. The property is beautiful and the people running it, especially Lora and Rocio, were friendly and helpful despite my obvious nervousness being alone in a foreign country for the first time. Now I should tell you that I'm not a "disney," "cruise," or "all-inclusive" type of traveler and if you are this part of Costa Rica may not be for you. It is more for the down to earth, adventurous traveler. With that in mind, I will say that the rooms at Luz de Mono were wonderfully accommodating -- clean but spare. No tv, a.c. or cute little soaps and shampoos - just the way I like it. The grounds of the property are magnificent - only steps from the beach (you can hear the ocean crashing) but built within the jungle. I had breakfast every morning in a peaceful open air pavillion surrounded by monkeys, birds and iguanas. Heaven. The hotel is just at the edge of the small but fun town of Montezuma so I could walk everywhere. Make sure you hike to the Montezuma water fall. Luz de Mono just reopened their restaurant and bar which is convenient and definitely worth experiencing. Two other restaurants I recommend are Cocolores and La Naranja. For a pricier but amazing ambience experience, try Playa de Artiste. I really didn't have a bad meal the whole vacation.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

After quickly checking out most of the accomodations in Montezuma - we decided to stay at Hotel Luz de Mono...It was a no brainer...Unfortunately the Lonley Planet guide doesn't do this place justice...It was one of the better "overall" places we stayed at in Costa Rica...

Our group decided this place provided the best bang for the buck...With cheap accomodations ($50 for a room which included an awesome breakfast), the pristine pool area and the awesome jungle set up, this family run operation provided the comfort we needed...The grounds are quite large, set just up from the beach (1 minute walk), located in the jungle, and a 2 minute walk to the centre of town...It was great to see the abundance of Howler monkeys just hanginng out in the trees while we enjoyed our breakfast...

When I go back to Montezuma, I would not hesitate to stay at this place again...

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

Luz de Mono in montezuma on the Nicoya Peninsula exemplifies its relaxed spirit. Its location in lush and colourful surroundings with the pounding sound of the surf, and the wildlife, contribute to this magical setting.
The rooms are clean and the breakfasts superb and unrushed.
Above all, the friendliness and unfussy but kindly attitude of the owners and the staff a wonderfully memorable experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

just like staying at friends'. comfortable room, great place, three great nights =)

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

Montezuma was our last stop on our trip in Costa rica so we were a little bit out of money. That is why we searched about 1 hour around the village (quite small one) for the best spot.
We saw that in Luz de mono you get for 40$ a room with breakfast included, we checked the room and it was perfect for us with a real hot shower, a good bed and very clean. The included breakfast was very tasty. The people who worked there were very friendly and helpful. The pool was excellent, we enjoyed it a lot. We got every day fresh beach towels which was a big plus as with the humidity out there you will never dry your clothes just hanging them out. This hotel was at the perfect place, close to everything but far from the noise. And I saved the best for the last-you get to see so many wild animals, like mapache, aguati or pisote, not mentioning the monkeys and the lizards which were everywhere…actually there we saw more animals than anywhere else in the country. I definitely can say this was the best place in Costa rica, an excellent choice where you get comfort, swimming pool with the ocean view and abundant animal life, marvelous tropical garden…I wish I was there right now

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Luz de Mono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luz de Mono

Address: Behind the Church, Montezuma 000123, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Montezuma
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luz de Mono 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Luz de Mono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz De Mono Montezuma
Luz De Mono Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luz de Mono, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.