We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay - what a garden!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luz de Mono

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Luz de Mono to your Saves list
Hotel Luz de Mono
Behind the Church, Montezuma 000123, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay - what a garden!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed at Luz de Mono for 3 days initially and increased our stay by an extra night. The room was a good size with high ceilings and clean (may need a touch of paint in the next year). The owners and staff were very helpful and friendly and this makes for a very relaxed atmosphere. The pool is lovely overlooking the sea and the garden area is full of wild life (the pictures do not do it justice!!). The location couldn't be better at the end of the main street (and any noise) and it is the closest hotel to the beach. Would definitely stay again if we went back to Montezuma. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    71
    18
    8
    7
See reviews for
27
90
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We spent two nights at hotel Luz de Mono. We stayed in the premium rooms (which had not air but TV).

The room was very large and was clean. I would agree with other posters that they could use new pillows, sheets and towels. Things are getting a little thread barren. Wi-Fi in the room was excellent. They also had a small fridge which was great for storing cold drinks.

There was no air in the room (which is fine by me as we generally turn it off anyway) but had a large ceiling fan. It cooled off more than I expected to at night so we were very comfortable and I loved waking up to the sounds of the ocean and jungle.

The was a decent variety to choose from for breakfast and it was pretty good. On day one we had birds as dining companions and on day two, monkeys!

The hotel pool is very nice.

The key to this place is location. It is right across from the beach and at the end of the main road in town. Just far enough to be away from the noise!

Montezuma beach was spectacular! The ocean must of been 85 degrees and there was hardly a soul on the beach. The beach is different than places like the Caribbean. The sand is black but super soft. The water "looks" different because of the silt that gets turned up from the waves breaking. However, once you got over the difference in how it looked, it was amazing. Warm, warm water, NO seaweed, no rocks (other than the obvious large ones) and you could walk right in. No water shoes needed!

We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Montezuma and Hotel Luz de Mono was the best location we could of picked!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Ideally located 5 min from the beach. The room do not have windows so you will hear the waves sound. The breakfast is ok, staff is very friendly and helful. Wifi available in the room
Nice swimming pool.
Birds watching.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Luz de Mono was the perfect place for us to stay. We were traveling with a large group so we rented 2 casitas up the hill. They were perfect; hammock, little fridge, "hot tub" on the deck and the most beautiful view. We only stayed one night but would definitely stay there again.

The breakfast was fresh and had just enough options. They fired up a big grill the night we were there which was convenient and delicious. Rocio was a pleasure to work with and I was happy she was there to greet us upon our arrival. We even saw a monkey enjoying the mango tree. We were recommended by a friend to bring flashlights, which definitely came in handy. The walkway is pretty well lit but it gets pretty dark out. It was a wonderful stay balance with equal parts rustic and comfort. See you next time! Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

On a two day tour of Nicoya Peninsula, we had the good fortune to get a room at Luz de Mono in Montezuma.
Our accommodations allowed easy viewing of jungle life from our room which was an awesome experience for us. Also included is a tasty breakfast, while being entertained by monkeys and Magpie Jays... Good memories!
The pool is very clean and dimly lit, a wonderful way to end a day of hiking the beaches and waterfalls.
I definitely recommend Nicoya Peninsula and Luz de Mono in Montezuma.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I've stayed at Luz De Mono many times. After seeing or staying in several different accommodations, I recommend the cabinas up on the hill, or the superior rooms. Don't stay in the ground floor. The staff is very nice - especially Rocio. And the owner is helpful and willing to be flexible to assist you in getting the right room. I would stay there again. The cabinas are hidden gems in Montezuma - 2BR up near the monkeys, with outdoor Jacuzzi tubs. Nice place - and, the hotel now has a pool... right near the beach. Overall, like it.

Room Tip: Superior or Cabina
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

The amazing lush forest garden surrounding this hotel is full of interesting wildlife - no need to go to Manuel Antonio! Perfectly located at the end of the commercial area but still very near the beach, Luz de Mono offers a tranquil paradise with friendly and helpful hosts.

We had an upper storey room, and particularly enjoyed the huge screened windows which afforded a great view of the local capuchin monkeys , and a cooling ocean breeze in the mornings.

The grassed pool area with ocean view was much appreciated, as the ocean can be rough here.

Breakfast was generous, with some selection possible. Entertainment was provided by the magpie jays.....

Some aspects are on the basic side (e.g. Bedding, lounge chairs), but overall this is excellent value for a tropical experience.

Their website doesn't really do justice to this property.

Room Tip: Choose an upper storey room . If you need any kitchen facilities or a balcony, you will need to rent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luz de Mono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luz de Mono

Address: Behind the Church, Montezuma 000123, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Luz de Mono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz De Mono Montezuma
Luz De Mono Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luz de Mono, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.