We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Ambiance of this Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luz de Mono

Save Saved
You added Hotel Luz de Mono to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Luz de Mono
Behind the Church, Montezuma 000123, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
MONCTON
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loved the Ambiance of this Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The hotel is located by the Montezuma beach. The beach is not swimmable due to rip tides, but it is beautiful none the less. The swimming pool is large enough to swim laps, and was clean. The hotel grounds is like a jungle oasis, with trees, flowers and plenty of wildlife to see. The breakfast included, is a choice of five selections, which were good and was enough food to start your day. It is available from 7:30 - 9:30, so if you want coffee prior to this time there is a great bakery located just next to the property which opened up at 6:30am
The room was clean, it is an open air room (with screening to out doors), with a large fan but no AC, The fan was adequate to keep you cool enough to sleep using no covers. The shower had plenty of hot water and was large enough to move around in. The room was quite spacious hosting a queen and single bed with cable TV available.

Replacing the bed mattress would move this room up to an excellent. It was lumpy and hard to sleep on.

Room Tip: Try and get an upstairs room closest to the roof, as the monkey hang over the roof edge and greet yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    63
    17
    8
    7
See reviews for
24
85
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Perfect location literally steps from the beach and the centre of the village, yet peaceful and in a beautiful setting. Lots of monkeys, birds, and other wildlife steps from your room! The pool is great when you are tired of the salty ocean water. Good breakfast (included) with delicious coffee. Friendly staff, within 5 minutes a minor problem with our showerhead was fixed. We stayed in the 'townhouse' style rooms and obviously we could hear some people outside the room due to proximity, but this was more a factor of how loud they were talking early in the morning and late at night (i.e. lack of common sense on their part). Our room was clean and bug-free!!!! (a problem in other places we stayed in Costa Rica). Overall highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Monkeys, lizards and all kinds of creatures surround these cabins. We loved staying here. The cabinas were spacious,airy and clean. The layout is very unique. Location is beachfront and the pool is gorgeous too.
Great staff, free breakfast. All in all, really good value.
I want to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I spent almost a week here with my family in April 2013. The setting is beautiful, the hotel is 1 minute walk for the beach and atmosphere is very peaceful as this hotel is at the end of town so very quiet (but only 2 mins walking to the restaurants or bus station as the "town" is super small).
I was there with 2 small children, ages 2.5 and 4 months, and it was great to have the beach so close, and my son loved spending a lot of time in the pool. The price was also very reasonable and staff very helpful. We stayed in the second floor (simple rooms without A/C). In general I would recommend A/C in Costa Rica, but we had a really nice breeze there and it was great hearing the sound of the ocean from our room. Breakfast was nice too.

Room Tip: I would recommend sleeping in the top floor room/cabins as they have a good breeze from the ocean. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

It was last minute decision but definitely a good one. The rooms are small clean regular with a small fridge where you can place stuff bought from the minimarket which is at a walking distance. They have a small pool and a jacuzzi for your relaxation. The prices are very good and include a big breakfast, either gallopinto, fruits or pancakes. You can see the sea from the pool and at the same time the rooms are located in the middle of the jungle so you can watch birds, howler monkeys, whitefaced monkeys, squirrells, iguanas, etc. Definitely a very nice experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I stayed the first night in July Montezuma at the Sano Banana for $69, It's ideally located - right across from the Chico Bar but it was overpriced for what it is.

The second night and for the following five nights i stayed a few blocks away from the center of town at Luz de Mono and at off-seaon rates of $50 for a credit card payment or $45 cash I found it far better value. For one thing you are really staying in a rain forest, with howler Monkeys in the trees and Iguanas running around the swimming pool.

The breakfast is first rate except you have to be careful of a couple of magpie birds that try to steal the sugar packets and it does rain from time to time, sometimes a tropical downpour.

The rooms in the main building are adequate, with hot water and lots of space and decent Wi-Fi The casitats on a hill above the main building for about $15 more are really the ideal place to stay but the Wi-Fi doesn't seem to go that far, so I stayed in the main building.

The managers of the resort, two sisters from Bulgaria, spoke English and were very hospitable. I highly recommend the Hotel Luz de Mono for your stay in Montezuma. It's the best value and you really get the full rain forest Costa Rica experience.

Room Tip: If you want decent wi-fi stay in the main building, not the casitas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I think this is probably the best place we stayed in 4 our 4 week trip of costa rica. The big advantage is the pool and surrounding gardens, think we saw almost as much wildlife sitting by the pool as doing walks in national parks! (Well, no snakes, don 't panic!) the pool is a decent size so you can actually do a few laps and it is super clean.

We stayed in a downstairs room and negotiated discount because we planned to stay 4 nights (we ended up staying a week!) the room was clean, big enough, with fridge and fan, no air-co but we weren't used to that anyway so it wasn't a problem.

The breakfast was really good, they have a small menu to choose from, from typical pico gallo with eggs to fruit and yogurt and it was all delicious.

The owner and all staff are very helpful and friendly, we asked for advice on tours and they were honest and non bias or pushy. They also called places to enquire about prices, info for us as well.

Wifi works most places on the site, inc. room and by the pool!

In the lp it looks quite a bit further out of town than it is, in reality it is about 30 second walk from reception and you're on the main street.

The only negative thing is it can be noisy depending on your neighbours but that is something you have to be lucky with (or not!)

Room Tip: Rooms downstairs are good, room 5 and 6 have an adjoining door between them which was a bit noisier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Luz de Mono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luz de Mono

Address: Behind the Church, Montezuma 000123, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Luz de Mono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz De Mono Montezuma
Luz De Mono Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luz de Mono, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.