We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, decent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luz de Mono

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Luz de Mono to your Saves list
Hotel Luz de Mono
Behind the Church, Montezuma 000123, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Portsmouth, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good location, decent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed two nights here, no reservations, just asked around and inquired on the advice of locals. The location, on the east end of the village is very convenient, it is close to the beach, yet situated in the jungle so the howler monkeys were within a few meters of the window of our room. There is a pool on the property, and breakfast was included in the room rate so it is a decent value. Clean, reasonably well kept, we liked the property and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    69
    17
    8
    7
See reviews for
27
88
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Pros: Great location, very friendly staff, beautiful pool, good breakfast, comfortable beds.
Cons: Accommodations are fairly basic, "jacuzzi" is more like an outdoor bathtub, $120/night is too high.

Like happytravelerdude, I was not upset with the accommodations, I just want to provide some more information for other travelers. Four of us stayed in a casita, which consisted of two rooms with queen beds, a galley kitchen/entry area with fridge and stove, and a bathroom with shower. The porch had a hammock and a "jacuzzi". Everything was clean and in good shape in the casita. We were satisfied with our stay, but felt that $120/night was too much and that $75-90 might have been a more reasonable price. Montezuma does have nicer places to stay in the same price range, but I recognize that in general it can be tough to find high quality moderate priced accommodations there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We booked a casita for a special rate and we got a separate little studio with ocean view and a jacuzzi. Lots of wildlife and I especially loved the monkeys :) We were traveling with our 9 month old son, so we enjoyed the clean baby pool with the little slide. The people were very helpful especially when we needed to heat up our baby food. Lovely and friendly staff!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The first thing that we found when we arrived at this place was that it was very clean, avery where in the hotel. The rooms are nice and clean and the restaurant is also open to the nature and very well managed, where you find very good breakfast included inthe price of your room. The personnel of this place is very friendly, specially Louis, the assistant manager, who makes every thing that your vacation be unforgettable.The pool is not an olympic pool but is enough large for your needs but the beach is at 30 seconds walk so you much more at the beach than at te pool.
There's no air conditionnig but you don't need it because it's cool by night and not humid so you're just fine with the fan th;at we find in every room.So at the end it is a very good place for the price ;that you gona pay, for to be part of the CostaRican Jungle. I'LL recommand this place to my best friend.

Richard Grenier

Room Tip: For my part the best room, without T"V" is roome No. 2 for two persons, and room No. 5 for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
on the road
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Let me start by saying I was not disappointed by Luz de Mono. I knew what I was getting into. I was traveling with vouchers from a travel agency that I could use at a number of properties in Costa Rica. There were only a couple options for me in Montezuma and Luz de Mono was the best choice, primarily due to location. I made advance reservations for 2 nights, so there should have been no questions about the how long my stay would be.

I'm writing this review to provide some balance to other reviews that paint what I feel is an overly-rosy picture of this property. I know accommodations in Montezuma are more basic in general, and Luz de Mono is typical of these. Other than it's location and the wildlife on the grounds, it's nothing special. It's far from the luxury property some reviewers portray. I'm not making complaints, and don't expect or desire a response from the management. I'm making accurate statements of what I experienced.

I experienced a spartan room with torn bedding, a ceiling fan that was noisy and wobbled so badly I thought it may come down, a refrigerator that was noisy and never got cool in 2 days. The shower walls were stained and doors coated with scum. The pool water was cloudy and not inviting (I understand this was a situation they were aware of, but I was not made aware of it during my stay.) The standard rooms do not have satellite TV as their website suggests. I was issued one towel and small bar of soap upon check in at reception and a second towel was provided the next day.

Breakfast was basic fare with no effort towards presentation. I saw no one eating in the restaurant or in the garden for dinner. I took that as a hint and found nice restaurants in town.

The location is great, close to the beach and town. The wildlife on the grounds is a real treat.

I found other hotels nearby that offered better value for the money. Next time I'm in Montezuma I will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AROLB, Gerente at Hotel Luz de Mono, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for writing again!
When you left the hotel you wrote a review immediately about our hotel and service. We as a manager team reply and explain our view and we give you our apologize. What was our surprise that your review disappeared after that. And now I realize that you just took off your rewrite responding to my letter. I think Tripadvisor is all about being honest with the hotel and with the people reading and just expressing your opinion of the hotel and it is not in rewriting your opinion in respond to our letter.
Now you say that you do not desire any response.
Thank you very much for the understanding but we need to reply again!
First of all as many of our tripadvisor critics shows that our hotel is rustic. When you arrive you have been shown an upgraded room with Satellite TV but you wanted to stay in a standard room that corresponded to your voucher. Probably your agency already explain to you that for 55$ that the agency pays to us you get a standard room. Thank you that you consider our hotel the best option in Montezuma that your agency gives to you.
You made a reservation for 2 days but when you check in you did not gives the 2 voucher straight away, you only give us 1 voucher this is probably you wanted to see how are you going to feel. On the morning you did not complain or wanted a change of room because of the dangerous ventilator and the torn sheets. Still you said nothing and gave us a second voucher for the second night and slept again with the "danger ventilator" and the "torn sheets". Why? We still try to understand? We spoke with your agency, you did not say a word to them either. Normally you have to inform your agency that you did not like any of the accommodation they provide but we assume is much important for you first to voice your review than anything else.
I believe that Spartans would have been very happy if they have had a solid concrete rooms, with comfortable beds, private bathroom and a hot shower, fresh towel and a soap. Normally we are nature concerned hotel so we provide towel for each person one for outside and one for the room. We are concerned how much water we waste in washing.
Thank you very much for expressing your opinion for our restaurant but still we do not understand how you can express your opinion of a restaurant that you have not even seen the menu. But we are glad that you found the right restaurant for you!
We are sorry that you found our wildlife a treat. Sorry but we can not control our wild animals. Most of the people are very happy to see the monkeys meanwhile enjoying the pool. Sorry we did not inform you for the inconvenience of the pool, we apologize for that, it was our mistake.
We have one high percentage of walk-in visitors who can see first the room, our pool and after that decide and stay. Normally we charge only 1 night of each reservation because if the people are not happy to stay a second night we prefer that they look for a place that will make them happier without any penalty charges.
We do hope that next time you come to our village you find the right place for you so you will enjoy Montezuma at the most.
As I mention in my previous letter to you, the team of Luz de mono consider our place unique with so much wild animals and tropical garden we will continue doing our best to make people happy on their vacations. We know by experience that we will never be liked by everyone but we will never give up trying.
We will check all the mention negative points and we will try to improve if something is needed. Thank you for your review again we know that in any place there are points to improve and this is our goal daily.

Lora Boyanova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

For us this place represented the best value in Montezuma. Things are expensive here so 80$ was great for the enormous charming suite we got. They also have smaller rooms for 60$ and houses for under $100. The staff were also very friendly and helpful. It's 1 minute walk from the best beach in town but the best feature by far is that it's located on the grounds of what I can only describe as an enchanted forest. On a daily basis we saw howler and capuchin monkeys, coati, agouti, racoons, iguanas, exotic squirrels and bats. Almost all the animals we saw in Corcovado but in complete comfort. Really it's like living in a 4 star national park. If you like wild live this is the place

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Yes, definitely go there! Even if you think of spending a bit less, it's worth not saving on this place. In the end, the price is okay anyway. You get a really nice and spacious room in the middle of the "jungle" one minute from a nice beach with big waves. Very clean rooms, very nice place, helpful staff and a pool with a slight view on the ocean. Waking up and going to sleep with sounds of the ocean, monkeys and exotic birds. Iguana lizards everywhere - but don't be scared, they're scared of you more! :)
This was the best place we stayed in Costa Rica over our two-weeks holiday.
p.s. have pancakes for breakfast - they're delicious!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luz de Mono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luz de Mono

Address: Behind the Church, Montezuma 000123, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Luz de Mono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz De Mono Montezuma
Luz De Mono Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luz de Mono, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.