We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanted forest of wildlife” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luz de Mono

Save Saved
You added Hotel Luz de Mono to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Luz de Mono
Behind the Church, Montezuma 000123, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
2 reviews
“Enchanted forest of wildlife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

For us this place represented the best value in Montezuma. Things are expensive here so 80$ was great for the enormous charming suite we got. They also have smaller rooms for 60$ and houses for under $100. The staff were also very friendly and helpful. It's 1 minute walk from the best beach in town but the best feature by far is that it's located on the grounds of what I can only describe as an enchanted forest. On a daily basis we saw howler and capuchin monkeys, coati, agouti, racoons, iguanas, exotic squirrels and bats. Almost all the animals we saw in Corcovado but in complete comfort. Really it's like living in a 4 star national park. If you like wild live this is the place

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    63
    17
    8
    7
See reviews for
24
85
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Yes, definitely go there! Even if you think of spending a bit less, it's worth not saving on this place. In the end, the price is okay anyway. You get a really nice and spacious room in the middle of the "jungle" one minute from a nice beach with big waves. Very clean rooms, very nice place, helpful staff and a pool with a slight view on the ocean. Waking up and going to sleep with sounds of the ocean, monkeys and exotic birds. Iguana lizards everywhere - but don't be scared, they're scared of you more! :)
This was the best place we stayed in Costa Rica over our two-weeks holiday.
p.s. have pancakes for breakfast - they're delicious!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

If you want to stay in a jungle surrounded by cappuchin monkeys, howler monkeys, iguanas, squirrels, birds and the sort and want a private cabin and not some fancy resort, than this is the place for you. We ended up staying at the cabin at the top of the hill. It had a little slice of ocean view and it had a huge open deck with a jacuzzi outside (although it was very slow to fill). You are surrounded by trees and cannot see another cabin and you feel like you are staying in a private lush jungle. The room was just right, no A/C but there was no need. It was great to have the screened windows wide open with the ceiling fans that allowed you to feel more cozy in the woods. It was valentines day and was very romantic. You can hear the waves crashing at night and it was fabulous. Breakfast was delicious although the portions were small. The price was more than we wanted to pay.
It is a very short walk to get to montezuma beach and since it is 200 meters from the main strip in Montezuma it tends to be quieter.
The down side was walking up the stairs to get to the upper cabins but it was well worth it.

Room Tip: The cabin with the jacuzzi was the best layout with the best view. I think that it was number 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

It's a Jungle out there...
And the jungle was what made it special for us. The land area that makes up the hotel environs are magnificent... beautiful gardens and canopied rain forest full of interesting flora and fauna.. We rented a casita up the hill and felt like we were back to nature. Not fancy but the casita was comfortable and cool enough without A/C. Weird thing is we had no problems with mosquitoes (we were sure they would be a problem at night in a tropical forest...but no..didn't even need our DEET)
The staff...especially Laura and Rocio were great. Super friendly, helpful and lovely.
We ended up staying 11 nights and enjoyed it immensely. My wife was so excited she was out in our hammock with her camera at dawn every morning...with the Howler monkeys and White-face Capuchins etc all around. It has a very nice pool and is right by the beach too. Great place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We paid $66 US for a room. The location near the beach and another traveler's recommendation sold us. The pool is a bonus. And at dusk, Capuchin monkeys come to play near the pool in the trees above. What's not to love? Breakfast is mediocre and basic, but the coffee is good. Watch out for the birds that occasionally dive bomb you to chase you away from your food so they can steal it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Montezuma has plenty of places to stay but this place was a hidden paradise. The rate was 55 per night with breakfast included(great food). The pool area was so secluded and peaceful. I could have stay there for a week.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This run hotel, that is very close to the beach, situated in a forest area with lots of wildlife - white-faced capuchin monkeys, howler monkeys, acouti and lizards. The rooms are large and clean. There is a ceiling fan, and fridge. Breakfast is included but not very filling. We loved listening to the wildlife and ocean at night as we slept but didn't like the people drinking very late into the night next door to us. The windows in each room do not close but have netting so everyone sound can be heard -- we enjoyed for the natural sounds but not for the drunk people.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Luz de Mono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luz de Mono

Address: Behind the Church, Montezuma 000123, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Luz de Mono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz De Mono Montezuma
Luz De Mono Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luz de Mono, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.