We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Jungle out there...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luz de Mono

Save Saved
You added Hotel Luz de Mono to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Luz de Mono
Behind the Church, Montezuma 000123, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It's a Jungle out there...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

It's a Jungle out there...
And the jungle was what made it special for us. The land area that makes up the hotel environs are magnificent... beautiful gardens and canopied rain forest full of interesting flora and fauna.. We rented a casita up the hill and felt like we were back to nature. Not fancy but the casita was comfortable and cool enough without A/C. Weird thing is we had no problems with mosquitoes (we were sure they would be a problem at night in a tropical forest...but no..didn't even need our DEET)
The staff...especially Laura and Rocio were great. Super friendly, helpful and lovely.
We ended up staying 11 nights and enjoyed it immensely. My wife was so excited she was out in our hammock with her camera at dawn every morning...with the Howler monkeys and White-face Capuchins etc all around. It has a very nice pool and is right by the beach too. Great place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    60
    17
    8
    7
See reviews for
22
85
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We paid $66 US for a room. The location near the beach and another traveler's recommendation sold us. The pool is a bonus. And at dusk, Capuchin monkeys come to play near the pool in the trees above. What's not to love? Breakfast is mediocre and basic, but the coffee is good. Watch out for the birds that occasionally dive bomb you to chase you away from your food so they can steal it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Montezuma has plenty of places to stay but this place was a hidden paradise. The rate was 55 per night with breakfast included(great food). The pool area was so secluded and peaceful. I could have stay there for a week.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This run hotel, that is very close to the beach, situated in a forest area with lots of wildlife - white-faced capuchin monkeys, howler monkeys, acouti and lizards. The rooms are large and clean. There is a ceiling fan, and fridge. Breakfast is included but not very filling. We loved listening to the wildlife and ocean at night as we slept but didn't like the people drinking very late into the night next door to us. The windows in each room do not close but have netting so everyone sound can be heard -- we enjoyed for the natural sounds but not for the drunk people.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We would thoroughly recommend this hotel. We are a middle aged English couple who had 2 weeks holiday in Costa Rica and returned home 2 days ago. We stayed at Luz de Mono 4 nights. We loved going to sleep with the sound of the waves, monkeys and wildlife. We did have a bat in our room one day which we managed to usher out of the window.
The location, swimming pool, breakfasts and friendliness of the staff was brilliant.
We would particularly like to mention the receptionist Laura who was invaluable in helping us very efficiently to plan our holiday and trips out and about.( Our spanish is very basic). This included snorkelling, hiring quad bikes, arranging our departure on the high speed ferry to Jaco and our fishing trip. Nothing was too much trouble.

Our fishing trip - we caught a Mahi-Mahi with the help of the fishermen who filleted it and gave it to us. Not knowing what to do with it, we took it back to the hotel and Laura prepared cerviche and carpacchio for us with the fish. She told us what ingredients we needed to get from the supermarket -lemon juice, garlic, red pepper,salt and black pepper, and coriander and it was delicious - thanks Laura and for making our stay so good

Rachel and Chris. Sheffield UK

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are worth the extra cash
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed in room 7, one of the upstairs suites. It was clean, very spacious for 2 people, and overlooked the gardens/jungle. There is no air conditioning in the rooms but the ceiling fan provided more than enough air circulation to keep us cool at night. The small fridge was also convenient.

The rooms are surrounded by gardens and jungle trees so expect to hear and see lots of monkeys and birds. Iguanas liked to hang out by the pool area. Lizards were regularly running across the hotel pathways. Howler monkeys woke us up every morning at 5am (which we didn't mind but some might find this annoying - you can't close the windows to block out the noise).

Breakfast was included in our rate. There were usually 4 options - eggs and toast, pico de gallo (beans and rice), granola or pancakes. Pico de gallo was usually best. Service staff were friendly and helpful, especially Laura. Night staff may not be as fluent in english though.

I'd recommend following the advice of the staff and lock up your valuables with reception as there aren't in room safes.

Room Tip: For the extra $10, it's worth it to "upgrade" to the upstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Once you get there, you are home free. We stayed in room #3, no TV no AC = peace and nature! Clean rooms and quarters, friendly staff and good food (breakfast and Jungle BBQ – flavor of the day). If you are looking for a quiet place to spend a few days while enjoying the beach, pool and Montezuma restaurants and local culture, you’ve found the spot!

Room Tip: The 6 rooms at level one are without AC and TV's = you won't need them, the breeze of the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Luz de Mono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luz de Mono

Address: Behind the Church, Montezuma 000123, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Luz de Mono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz De Mono Montezuma
Luz De Mono Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luz de Mono, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.