We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RELAX IN A PRIVITE JUNGLE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luz de Mono

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Luz de Mono to your Saves list
Hotel Luz de Mono
Behind the Church, Montezuma 000123, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Svishtov, Bulgaria
2 reviews
“RELAX IN A PRIVITE JUNGLE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Very nice hotel, choose rooms upstairs...frendly stuff..all the time you have the feeling to be staying in a privite jungle...every morning waking up with the monkeys, iguanas by the pool, mapache in the garden....pool is beautiful...close to everything... a perfect place to relax in the jungle of Costa Rica meanwhile enjoing the beach

Room Tip: ROOMs ON THE SECOND FLOUR are more spaciou and cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    71
    18
    8
    7
See reviews for
27
90
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed in the "suite" on teh seccond floor and were surrounded by the jungle. We could here the animals and the strong waves at night....what a nice way to fall asleep! The house keeper said sometimes in the afternoon we could see monkeys..which we did not get the chance too :( I would definitivly recommand this hotel since we visited all of the hotels in "dowtown" and that hotel was the best for the money spent! The easy acce sto the shops and beach was also a plus! Would definitly recommand it to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed in castias 2, it was paradise, we were surrounded by rainforest with a sea view, we saw lots of birds and little animals like a racoon, monkeys, lots of iguanas, geckos and an armadillo !, At night we sat in the jacuzzi surrounded by glow worms and we watched the night sky light up with pink lightning, the grounds were amazing and the pool was fab. The staff were so friendly and sweet. Happy days !

Room Tip: Casita No 2 was the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in January, 2012 with our two daughters (6 & 8). I found the location to be great. We had easy access to everything in Montezuma. We stayed in one of the casitas up the hill. It felt really quiet and secluded. The deck and hot tub were really nice, as was the hotel pool. The only reason that I didn't give it five stars was that the kitchen and bathroom of the casita could have really used updating. Overall, I would stay here again though.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Made a last minute reservation at this hotel and it turned out very good overall. Like the previous reviewer no a\c but it was not that big a deal, in my opinion. Everything in CR, at the beach, is open air. You'll get acclimated to the heat. We paid $60 a nite and this included taxes and a very good basic breakfast each morning. $240 for a 4 night stay? I'd do it again for that price for sure. Nice pool and stunning grounds and wildlife. 200 yards to the beach. Room was clean and basic, daily maid service also.

Flew in on Sansa from SJO to Tambor airport. Hotel arranged cab p\u at airport. $35 one way, a\c taxi. He was there when we landed. 1/2 hr ride to Montezuma from Tambor.

Hotel in great location, adjacent to town and beach so you could walk to everything.
Can't say enough about Rocio and Lora at hotel reception. Very helpful, professional and were truly sincere in making our stay as pleasant as possible. Laundry service available (cheap!) and any time we used free wifi at reception area they always offered to bring a juice or coffee.

canopy Tour (ziplining): 5 minutes away for $40 included transportation. Canopy tour involved some pretty intense climbing of steps to get to next platform.

Horseback Riding (200 yard walk from hotel): I think we paid $35 each for that was fun, too. You go about 4-5 miles one way on the beach, mostly, and come to a beautiful waterfall that flows out to the ocean. Nice, non-english speaking guide. When you get to the waterfall he slices up a pineapple for you to eat while you rest. There was some rock climbing to get up to the waterfall so beware.

Note: This was my second time in CR and I've been on 5 tours. 3 of them included some intense climbing\walking. If you have bad knees, bad back or are recovering from injury you may want to think twice about some of these. At least mention it to the tour before signing up. Canopy tour and horseback riding sound reasonably passive but the two I mentioned above gave me a workout. That combined with the heat was all I could handle. I'm also 55 yrs old but had a great time anyway but I thought it worth mentioning for anyone on their 1st venture here.

Montezuma was cool. Quiet and laid back. Excellent prices for food, also. Dinner around $10-12 US. (Grilled fish, shrimp, chicken w\ rice and beans, salad...) We also ate at a "higher end" place called Playa de los Artistas. Great location about a five minute walk from town on the beach. Had the 1/2 grilled lobster for about $20 bucks. Very nice place and highly recommended. Make reservations, though.

Not a big town with a few shops and restaurants, one atm machine. Also has a good supermarket that came in handy. No bank or pharmacy here, though, just an fyi...
Got a 90 minute massage next to El Jardin for $65. See Diane for massage and she also does the yoga in town, too.

Note: Pack light and carry on. Montezuma is very casual. Shorts, tshirt, bathing suits. You won't need anything else in way of clothing. I had laundry done halfway thru and it cost $3 dollars, I think. That also leaves room in suitcase for small gifts to bring back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

The hotel is beautiful, and the grounds are incredible. It is in the rainforest, backed up to a beach, which made it all worth it. There were monkeys and all kinds of animals on the grounds, which was a lot of fun until the howler monkeys wanted to mark their territory at 3 am.

The only downsides to this hotel was that there was no air conditioner. It's an Eco lodge, so there's very little hot water as well. I would much rather give up the tv than the air conditioner, but it actually didn't end up being as miserable as I thought it would. There is a fan, but it doesn't make much of a difference. The hotel is enclosed by screens, not windows, so you can hear everything and it's incredibly humid.

The pool is wonderful, and montezuma itself is an awesome place. Overall, it was a nice place to stay, and very much worth the price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Lake, B.C.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

My husband and I (middle aged Canadian couple) recently stayed for 3 days at Hotel Luz de Mono in Monctezuma, Costa Rica. It was a very pleasant stay, set in a wonderful jungle garden setting, with a refreshing clean swimming pool. Howler monkeys and white-faced monkeys regularly travelled through, howling as they do, and tossing down mangos. A delicious breakfast was included in the $60 rate, and the staff was very pleasant (especially Rosio at the front desk!). The rooms are adequate, nothing overly fancy, but certainly adequate. There was plenty of hot water and pressure in the shower. There is a very comfortable lobby-bar area with free dependable Wifi. I think that Lonely Planet did a dis-service to this hotel in its write-up, because we certainly felt we had great value compared to other accommodations in town. PURA VIDA! :)

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms offer hammocks, while second story rooms offer TVs. We chose ground floor with h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luz de Mono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luz de Mono

Address: Behind the Church, Montezuma 000123, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Luz de Mono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz De Mono Montezuma
Luz De Mono Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luz de Mono, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.