We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Staff, nice room, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luz de Mono

Save Saved
You added Hotel Luz de Mono to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Luz de Mono
Behind the Church, Montezuma 000123, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Candiac, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Staff, nice room, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We spent 4 nights in Montezuma and we wew very happy to have found this place!

The rooms were nice, clean, bright, and airy. I very much liked the bathroom decor. The beds were also very comfortable.

The location was wonderful, so close to the beach but just far enough from the main intersection de be nice and quiet. And it's Montezuma so really, nothing in the town is far away.

Also, the staff was super sweet and put up with my horrid Spanish.

I would stay there again anytime!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    64
    17
    8
    7
See reviews for
25
86
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bruxelles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We went twice to this place first last year, we had a nice kind of suite a bit upstairs with a private terrace and so many monkeys around!!Second time we had an other room for 4 cheaper and basic but nice too, what I really like in this hotel it's the nature all around so lush everywhere, the pool with ocean view and some time they organise some nice BBQ parties.Great safe parking. Closed to the beach.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

I would really like to recommend this Hotel to everyone and hope you enjoy the staying as much as I did. We are a spanish-hungarian couple who were travelling for one month in Costa Rica discovering little by little the country and the place where we stayed longer was this one because of a great mix of the Hotel and the surroundings.
What I would remark most maybe is the location in the middle of a private jungle full os animals and besides the beach, with a real sensation of peaceful privacy. As well, the price-quality ratio is the best we found in the whole country, very similar in standard to other neighbouring luxurious hotels but with a much cheaper price. Moreover, it is among the few with a private pool deserted most of the day, clean and cosy rooms, and an open air barbecue. We will come back in the future surely, cheers

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

This hotel is at the end of town but perfectly located withing steps from the beach and the town of Montezuma. The grounds are beautiful and lush. The rooms were mediocre as the beds were not the most comfortable things but I think everything else made up for it. The night we were there, they had a BBQ in which there was a chef cooking which ever fish you had selected. This was one of the BEST meals we had in the 11 days we were in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: No AC in rooms, just fans but moderately comfortable. Beds a little tough
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Best location in town! Tons of parking. Stunning landscape. Monkeys everywhere!!! Wifi but no computers for use. Breakfast wait staff will show prejudice toward Americans, basically you will be ignored! Sheets don't fit the beds so the second you sit, they come off the corners! Ceiling fans howls almost as loud as the monkeys at night. Don't expect maid to bring fresh towels until after 2pm. Room includes small fridge. Pool on site. Stayed here 4 years ago and it was wonderful. Great location, disappointing service this time around :(

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

i loved this little hotel really good price- low season but only a bit more than all the budget hotels in town nice rooms the pool is great looking over the sea and really warm and lots of little monkeys jumping around in the tress around the pool. Birds helping you to eat your breakfast, location is great as well would def go back
also try cocolores restaurant really good and cute and the beach horse ride with napoleon and tortuga island

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, NY
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in Luz the Mono for 2 nights. I feel the place was originally designed with a lot of care, thought and love and it shows in the gardens, common area and wood details in the rooms. I learned the owner passed away a few years ago and it seems that details have been left to go as well. Our bathroom had a constant urine smell, and although I mentioned it to Rocio, the receptionist, nothing was done about. Breakfast wasn't the best, but it was fun to watch magpies-jay try to get food from every table.
On the bright side, Laura, the innkeeper, was wonderfully sweet, fun, honest and helpful. The pool was nice and it was a block away from the beach. Overall, I feel Luz de Mono is a place most people could enjoy for just a few days.
On the bright

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luz de Mono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luz de Mono

Address: Behind the Church, Montezuma 000123, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Luz de Mono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz De Mono Montezuma
Luz De Mono Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luz de Mono, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.