We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location-average rooms, very noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas Mar y Cielo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cabinas Mar y Cielo to your Saves list
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Newberg, Oregon
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great Location-average rooms, very noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a group trip with 7people. I was in a room of three. The room overlooked the sea and was a quick walk to the beach. They did have a hot water heater for the shower. The bathroom was pretty basic and a bit smelly. The beds were just OK and the towels were old and frayed. Beware as this place is next to Chicos bar and the music is loud. The three of us had a lot of trouble sleeping. The was a safe in the room however it seems that all safes use the same key. When we went to ask at the office for a key to the safe, they pulled it from a basket of keys and none were marked. When requested, they did bring an extra floor fan. No A/C in our room. Best feature was a set of three hammocks in front of the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    21
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

As soon as my mom and I got off bus into Montezuma there was the nicest lady that gave us a flyer and walked us right down the street to the hotel. She gave us tips on what places were good to eat and introduced us to people along the way. Our room is right on the water, and they offer rooms with kitchens. Free WIFI, mini-fridge, fan, and bathrooms inside the rooms with hot water! Right next to chico's bar and all the shops and grocerys. The bar can get kind of loud but so can the waves crashing on the rocks. Hammocks area in garden with clothes lines, and patio areas with chairs outside each room. For $25 a night this is a great deal, we stayed longer and went to cabo blanco nature reserve. My only complaint is clumpy pillows, no biggie, I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Awesome location right on the beach in Montezuma. Stayed last year after having stayed 7 years ago and the price was still the same! We had a top floor room with great views from the balcony. The town is awesome! So quiet yet so much to do. And Mal Pais is just short drive.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This a great cheap hotel! People that complain about the creature comforts are spending to much time in there rooms! You should only be in your rooms for sleep, there is so much to do in the area! The hotel is no frills but that's a good thing. Good location good staff and a good price!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Great ocean view right in the center of town. They got hammocks and a gift shop. Clean and great service. However, it is right next to the bar which will play super loud music. Get rooms 3 or 6 unless you plan on joining the party next door!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

the shower was hot..the view was AMAZING! hammocks on the outside to lay on.. I could even disregard the fact that I was blarred to sleep from music in the club on the street over..It was 40 bucks for 3 beds and we were ON THE BEACH! But.... i am sorry this is unacceptable.. In the middle of the night last night I got up to use the restroom and the floor was flooded in the restroom. Upon inspection this morning.. the floor was covered..and it was so gross..I had to stand on the toilet to brust my teeth.. because when we put the white towels down on the floor to sop up the "water" it was yellow!!!! We looked up and the mysterious yellow fluid had dried as it was coming down the ceiling all over half the bathroom... soooo disgusting.... it was under what I assume were plumbing pipes... and the people in the next cabin said their bathroom was flooded too and that it smelt of mildew previously...

Room Tip: we stayed in room one and our friends in room 2..stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

Although it may not be the best bed or shower (room temperature) the price is unbeatable for the ocean view and location in the middle of town. We showed up into town without a place to stay and this was the best deal for pretty big rooms overlooking the ocean. $20 a room and it could sleep many people. Laying in hammocks out in the grassy area listening to the ocean was perfect! Does not serve breakfast but again, the price and quality are so worth it!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Cabinas Mar y Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Mar y Cielo

Address: Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cabinas Mar y Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Mar y Cielo Hotel Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas Mar y Cielo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.