We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the water.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas Mar y Cielo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Save Saved
You added Cabinas Mar y Cielo to your Saves list
Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Right on the water.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

As soon as my mom and I got off bus into Montezuma there was the nicest lady that gave us a flyer and walked us right down the street to the hotel. She gave us tips on what places were good to eat and introduced us to people along the way. Our room is right on the water, and they offer rooms with kitchens. Free WIFI, mini-fridge, fan, and bathrooms inside the rooms with hot water! Right next to chico's bar and all the shops and grocerys. The bar can get kind of loud but so can the waves crashing on the rocks. Hammocks area in garden with clothes lines, and patio areas with chairs outside each room. For $25 a night this is a great deal, we stayed longer and went to cabo blanco nature reserve. My only complaint is clumpy pillows, no biggie, I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dillon, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Awesome location right on the beach in Montezuma. Stayed last year after having stayed 7 years ago and the price was still the same! We had a top floor room with great views from the balcony. The town is awesome! So quiet yet so much to do. And Mal Pais is just short drive.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This a great cheap hotel! People that complain about the creature comforts are spending to much time in there rooms! You should only be in your rooms for sleep, there is so much to do in the area! The hotel is no frills but that's a good thing. Good location good staff and a good price!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Great ocean view right in the center of town. They got hammocks and a gift shop. Clean and great service. However, it is right next to the bar which will play super loud music. Get rooms 3 or 6 unless you plan on joining the party next door!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

the shower was hot..the view was AMAZING! hammocks on the outside to lay on.. I could even disregard the fact that I was blarred to sleep from music in the club on the street over..It was 40 bucks for 3 beds and we were ON THE BEACH! But.... i am sorry this is unacceptable.. In the middle of the night last night I got up to use the restroom and the floor was flooded in the restroom. Upon inspection this morning.. the floor was covered..and it was so gross..I had to stand on the toilet to brust my teeth.. because when we put the white towels down on the floor to sop up the "water" it was yellow!!!! We looked up and the mysterious yellow fluid had dried as it was coming down the ceiling all over half the bathroom... soooo disgusting.... it was under what I assume were plumbing pipes... and the people in the next cabin said their bathroom was flooded too and that it smelt of mildew previously...

Room Tip: we stayed in room one and our friends in room 2..stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

Although it may not be the best bed or shower (room temperature) the price is unbeatable for the ocean view and location in the middle of town. We showed up into town without a place to stay and this was the best deal for pretty big rooms overlooking the ocean. $20 a room and it could sleep many people. Laying in hammocks out in the grassy area listening to the ocean was perfect! Does not serve breakfast but again, the price and quality are so worth it!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

This is a really great value for a beach front property in the bustling town of Montezuma.

The cabins can be easily missed as you have to walk through a short alley between the owner's gift shop and small grocery store to get to the entrance.

We stayed here for 2 nights based on a recommendation by a local tour company. We paid 35.00 US for a queen size bed & twin bed, refrigerator, full bathroom with hot water.

Although there is no AC, the breeze from the ocean keeps the area cool. There is also a powerful ceiling fan and standalone fan. You can hear the waves at night.

Our greeter Victor was very friendly. We were originally given a first floor room but later requested a 2nd floor room due to the view. He agreed and moved all our things for us to the 2nd floor.

The view from the balcony is absolutely stunning and we picked up breakfast every morning to eat on our balcony.

There was a small bug issue, but that is common almost everywhere in Costa RICA. It didnt bother us much as we used the OFF insect repellent fan both on the balcony at night and in the room.

Overall, the accommodations are the best value for the area. 17.50 per person for a double can't be beat!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabinas Mar y Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Mar y Cielo

Address: Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Cabinas Mar y Cielo Hotel Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas Mar y Cielo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.