We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have been a 4 out of 5 BUT” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas Mar y Cielo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Save
You added Cabinas Mar y Cielo to your Saves list
Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Riverside, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Would have been a 4 out of 5 BUT”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

the shower was hot..the view was AMAZING! hammocks on the outside to lay on.. I could even disregard the fact that I was blarred to sleep from music in the club on the street over..It was 40 bucks for 3 beds and we were ON THE BEACH! But.... i am sorry this is unacceptable.. In the middle of the night last night I got up to use the restroom and the floor was flooded in the restroom. Upon inspection this morning.. the floor was covered..and it was so gross..I had to stand on the toilet to brust my teeth.. because when we put the white towels down on the floor to sop up the "water" it was yellow!!!! We looked up and the mysterious yellow fluid had dried as it was coming down the ceiling all over half the bathroom... soooo disgusting.... it was under what I assume were plumbing pipes... and the people in the next cabin said their bathroom was flooded too and that it smelt of mildew previously...

Room Tip: we stayed in room one and our friends in room 2..stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

Although it may not be the best bed or shower (room temperature) the price is unbeatable for the ocean view and location in the middle of town. We showed up into town without a place to stay and this was the best deal for pretty big rooms overlooking the ocean. $20 a room and it could sleep many people. Laying in hammocks out in the grassy area listening to the ocean was perfect! Does not serve breakfast but again, the price and quality are so worth it!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

This is a really great value for a beach front property in the bustling town of Montezuma.

The cabins can be easily missed as you have to walk through a short alley between the owner's gift shop and small grocery store to get to the entrance.

We stayed here for 2 nights based on a recommendation by a local tour company. We paid 35.00 US for a queen size bed & twin bed, refrigerator, full bathroom with hot water.

Although there is no AC, the breeze from the ocean keeps the area cool. There is also a powerful ceiling fan and standalone fan. You can hear the waves at night.

Our greeter Victor was very friendly. We were originally given a first floor room but later requested a 2nd floor room due to the view. He agreed and moved all our things for us to the 2nd floor.

The view from the balcony is absolutely stunning and we picked up breakfast every morning to eat on our balcony.

There was a small bug issue, but that is common almost everywhere in Costa RICA. It didnt bother us much as we used the OFF insect repellent fan both on the balcony at night and in the room.

Overall, the accommodations are the best value for the area. 17.50 per person for a double can't be beat!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkes Bay, NZ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2008

We stumbled upon this hotel when the owner came out of the gift shop at the front and asked if we were looking for a room. He was really friendly and polite and happily showed us the room. We got a room on the second floor which could sleep 6 with a private bathroom. It had a balcony and views over the ocean, less than 50 meters away. It was clean and cool and we felt great value for money at $25 per night for the two of us. It was centrally located in town so easily accessible to all the restaurants, bars and tour companies.

  • Liked — Location and hosts
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2004

We had a great time while visiting Montezuma, and the guys at Mar y Cielo made it even better. Thanks for an awesome time.
Richard and David

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabinas Mar y Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Mar y Cielo

Address: Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Cabinas Mar y Cielo Hotel Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas Mar y Cielo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.