We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location where you feel like you are miles away!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amor de Mar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Amor de Mar
Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful Location where you feel like you are miles away!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

Amor de Mar was in a wonderful location with an immaculate lawn and awesome hammocks to soak up the evening air and view. We stayed in room # 2. It was very small, just enough space to stand our backpacks up and sleep. We shared a bathroom and did not have air conditioner. However, with the windows open and then fan facing the bed it was extremely cool and you were able to hear the roaring waves crash on the rocks. The breakfast was delicious and cheaper than anywhere in town. The Montverde Tomato Sandwich and banana pancakes are to die for. We spent $40 a night and it was worth every penny. If you are looking for a place to relax in the afternoon, sleep and shower and take in the beauty of Montezuma this is a great location. If you think you may spend a lot of time in your room or around the hotel, it might be a little cramped. Make sure you take a flashlight to walk into town at night. The walk took about 10 minutes if you are leisurely walking. In the opposite direction of town there are some beautiful deserted beaches you can sunbath. The waves were pretty rough when we were there and we were advised not to go swimming. The staff wasn’t super outgoing, but if you ask questions they have great advice and are relatively friendly. We definitely will come back to Montezuma and would stay at Amor de Mar. Maybe next time we will stay in their GORGEOUS villas.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    60
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
29
132
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

Spent two amazing weeks in hotel Amor de Mar. It is absolutely lovely in every regard. The rooms are charming, the breakfast is super delicious, the garden just beautiful. It's a short walk outside of the busy Montezuma center, so it is calm and relaxing, like a 'retreat'. The owners and the staff are so amiable... I felt like living in a cosy family house. There is another nice hotel in town called 'Ylang Ylang'. I spent some time in Ylang Ylang at night to have delicious dinners - but didn't regret having chosen Amor de Mar as my hotel. Because while Ylang Ylang has a very beautiful setting too, I felt that Ylang Ylang was more like an anonymous 'luxury resort'. I love that Amor de Mar is so personal.

Amor de Mar has rooms of different categories. I stayed in room #3 which has a view on the street - and still is absolutely quiet. I have seen room #5 too - it's a bit more expensive than room #3, but I think it is the most beautiful; it is large with 2 queen-sized beds, has a stunning ocean view, a personal veranda to sit outside, a refrigerator etc.

There are also two houses part of the Amor de Mar estate. They are stunning!!

If you go to Montezuma, don't miss out eating at my favourite restaurant here, 'Las Artistas'. It's very close to Amor de Mar and has the best food and atmosphere... candlelight at the beach :-)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

I loved the Hotel Amor de Mar, but the friend I traveled with was taken aback to see that only a curtain (rather than a door) separated the bathroom from our sleeping area. This, however, was the only downside. The beds were comfortable, we had a nice balcony that looked over the sea, and we found the rusticity of the place to be quite charming. The breakfasts (not included in the room price) were outstanding, the location on the rocky beach (with swimming beaches just steps away) and just outside of town was perfect, and the staff was helpful. I'd go back here in a minute and stay and stay and stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

We decided to stay at this place after the rave reviews on Tripadvisor, and were not disappointed. It was beautiful! It's about a 5-10 minute walk from the center of the town and across the street from the waterfall. The grounds are really stunning, with a breathtaking view of the water. The cafe serves great breakfast (not included however), but isn't open later in the day. The staff was really exceptional with the exception of Carla, whom we found quite rude and unhelpful (both in terms of planning activities in Montezuma and traveling to other places in Costa Rica), so be wary!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

What a great find! We pulled into Montezuma for a four-night stay without a reservation and happened upon this place looking for somewhere just a bit out of town (to avoid any late-night noise etc...) We had a couple different room options and chose a smallish room with private bath and AC. What a treat! Friendly staff, clean rooms and an amazing view from the patio. The big, grassy backyard is a great spot to sit in a hammock and watch the sunrise. The inn also serves food, and while it's not spectacular it's just as good or better than most places in town.

The hotel is a very short 3-5 minute walk from downtown, putting it out of range of the late night noise but close enough to be very convenient.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

the pictures on the website don't lie. it really is that great. view of tide pools, great lawn with hammocks, good bfasts, very helpful staff, unique rooms, right by hike to waterfalls, 5 minute walk to main stores. great deck for looking at the ocean.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

If you are looking to feel like you are miles away from the real world... this is your place. If your idea of paradise is an ocean front hotel with beautiful gardens and an accomodating staff... this is your place. If lounging in a hammock and watching the sunset with your sweetheart sounds like heaven... this is your place!

We came to costa rica for a 2 week get-away, and as we were visiting so many places, a booking error was bound to happen... we arrived at Hotel Amor de Mar a day before our reservation and all of their rooms were booked! I seriously thought I was in a nightmare! Luckily the owners were incredibly hospitable, and offered us the huge 12 person house at a discount. After accepting the offer and bringing our stuff in, we get a knock at the door. Another couple had asked to extend their stay and the owners wanted to know if we would be ok sharing the house and splitting the cost. We were game! The house was two stories, 5 or 6 bedrooms, and included a kitchen, eating area, and private open air shower / bathroom combo. There was more than enough room for 2 more adults to take the downstairs.

Words cannot do this place justice. I felt like we were in the Swiss Family Robinson Treehouse!! The master bedroom had a wrap around deck, an entire wall of open air windows looking out on the glistening blue water, tons of sitting area - for the cost of one of the standard rooms, we were living like kings! Granted, the standard rooms looked quite a bit smaller, and the lack of air conditioning made sleeping a bit uncomfortable, but the quiet location, and physical beauty more than made up for that!

I had not heard a lot about Montezuma before going, and I only wish we had gotten to stay longer! There was so much to do, and was one of the most beautiful places in Costa Rica we went (and we have just about been everywhere!)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Amor de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amor de Mar

Address: Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Amor De Mar Puntarenas
Amor De Mar Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amor de Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Amor de Mar to your Saves list