We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot, excellent breakfasts, good AC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amor de Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Amor de Mar to your Saves list
Hotel Amor de Mar
Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lovely spot, excellent breakfasts, good AC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

I loved the Hotel Amor de Mar, but the friend I traveled with was taken aback to see that only a curtain (rather than a door) separated the bathroom from our sleeping area. This, however, was the only downside. The beds were comfortable, we had a nice balcony that looked over the sea, and we found the rusticity of the place to be quite charming. The breakfasts (not included in the room price) were outstanding, the location on the rocky beach (with swimming beaches just steps away) and just outside of town was perfect, and the staff was helpful. I'd go back here in a minute and stay and stay and stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    69
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
33
154
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

We decided to stay at this place after the rave reviews on Tripadvisor, and were not disappointed. It was beautiful! It's about a 5-10 minute walk from the center of the town and across the street from the waterfall. The grounds are really stunning, with a breathtaking view of the water. The cafe serves great breakfast (not included however), but isn't open later in the day. The staff was really exceptional with the exception of Carla, whom we found quite rude and unhelpful (both in terms of planning activities in Montezuma and traveling to other places in Costa Rica), so be wary!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

What a great find! We pulled into Montezuma for a four-night stay without a reservation and happened upon this place looking for somewhere just a bit out of town (to avoid any late-night noise etc...) We had a couple different room options and chose a smallish room with private bath and AC. What a treat! Friendly staff, clean rooms and an amazing view from the patio. The big, grassy backyard is a great spot to sit in a hammock and watch the sunrise. The inn also serves food, and while it's not spectacular it's just as good or better than most places in town.

The hotel is a very short 3-5 minute walk from downtown, putting it out of range of the late night noise but close enough to be very convenient.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

the pictures on the website don't lie. it really is that great. view of tide pools, great lawn with hammocks, good bfasts, very helpful staff, unique rooms, right by hike to waterfalls, 5 minute walk to main stores. great deck for looking at the ocean.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

If you are looking to feel like you are miles away from the real world... this is your place. If your idea of paradise is an ocean front hotel with beautiful gardens and an accomodating staff... this is your place. If lounging in a hammock and watching the sunset with your sweetheart sounds like heaven... this is your place!

We came to costa rica for a 2 week get-away, and as we were visiting so many places, a booking error was bound to happen... we arrived at Hotel Amor de Mar a day before our reservation and all of their rooms were booked! I seriously thought I was in a nightmare! Luckily the owners were incredibly hospitable, and offered us the huge 12 person house at a discount. After accepting the offer and bringing our stuff in, we get a knock at the door. Another couple had asked to extend their stay and the owners wanted to know if we would be ok sharing the house and splitting the cost. We were game! The house was two stories, 5 or 6 bedrooms, and included a kitchen, eating area, and private open air shower / bathroom combo. There was more than enough room for 2 more adults to take the downstairs.

Words cannot do this place justice. I felt like we were in the Swiss Family Robinson Treehouse!! The master bedroom had a wrap around deck, an entire wall of open air windows looking out on the glistening blue water, tons of sitting area - for the cost of one of the standard rooms, we were living like kings! Granted, the standard rooms looked quite a bit smaller, and the lack of air conditioning made sleeping a bit uncomfortable, but the quiet location, and physical beauty more than made up for that!

I had not heard a lot about Montezuma before going, and I only wish we had gotten to stay longer! There was so much to do, and was one of the most beautiful places in Costa Rica we went (and we have just about been everywhere!)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

This is a weird review. We had an amazing time at this hotel, but it was because of our own doing and not the staff..Owner lives in San Jose, should take more care of her hotel. Blonde receptionist was cold, and threw us in our room and didn't tell us anything. Figure it out was the vibe. I tipped every other hotel person in CR, esp at the front desks, but her, no way. Other guests we met at the hotel said the same.

Rm 6 is what we had, no AC, but okay. But for $90 a night, no breakfast, charged for coffee in am (really? c'mon) I even took two cups upstairs in the mornings and thought no one was looking (there was a sign to pay, but I ignored it) they still charged us for every cup we took in the mornings in the final bill.

We made it a great time. Loved the porch. ATV's can be loud, but liked the sound of the ocean. Dirty rooms. No AC, and screens had holes in windows, so lots of mosquitos. DIRTY sheets. Kinda crappy, but we managed to have the best time, because we make the best of everything. Great wood porches. Get RM 6 if you can deal with no AC. Should be a lesser priced hotel. We'll stay elsewhere next time. Could be so much better if they weren't so greedy.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

Nothing fancy, but the beds were comfortable. You will want a room with a/c, it gets quite hot here! I loved this place. It had character and charm and felt homey. Prime location just across the road from the Montezuma Waterfall. Just down the (big) hill from the Montezuma Butterfly Gardens, a must-see). Bus to Cabo Blanco Nature Reserve goes right by here as well.
No real beach here (most of the coastline in Montezuma has huge lava boulders, not stretches of pristine sand) but there's a wonderful fresh-water tidal pool except at low tide. (It's just a 10 minute walk from a nice beach). Very tasty breakfast (not included in stay price) especially on Sunday which is buffet-style. No lunch or dinner here, walk 10 minutes to town.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amor de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amor de Mar

Address: Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amor de Mar is located on the Pacific Ocean next to the river in Montezuma. Planted in a natural paradise, a few miles from the Cabo Blanco National Park. Our hotel offers 9 cozy and individually styled rooms and two beach villas, Casa Luna and Casa Sol, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. All the rooms have A/C, private bathroom with hot water and a some rooms have a mini fridge. The beach villas are fully equipped but NOT A/C. All the rooms and beach villas have a safe deposit box and WiFi is available in the hotel property. The hotel is within a five minute walk from the picturesque beach town of Montezuma at the tip of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica, Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Amor de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amor De Mar Puntarenas
Amor De Mar Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amor de Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.