We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amor de Mar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Amor de Mar
Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
los angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2007

we stayed int he "casa luna" (4bedroom apt) over xmas - Great place thats only a few miuntes walk outside Montezuma central. Huge grassy knoll, with hammocks for hours and hours of reading and relaxing - There is also a waterfall behind the hotel (3 min walk). great place - I will be back at Amor de Mar on the next trip to Costa rica.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    60
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
29
132
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2006

We stayed at Amor de Mar in Montezuma for our honeymoon and loved every minute of being there...we only stayed 2 days and wanted to stay longer. We reserved the #6 room, which is on the corner of the 2nd floor and has a queen sized bed. The windows are all screen windows and look out over the ocean and the room was very simple but spacious. It's at the very edge of the town, across from the entrance to the trail to the town's waterfall (it's a nice waterfall with a hole you could swim in and by chance we saw holler and capuchin monkeys, as well as iguanas). There are plenty of places to lay or sit out on the lawn...wooden chairs, several big hammocks, or rocks by the tide pool. The food is simple and fresh and the homemade bread is great. Plus the patio where the dining area is set up offers a WONDERFUL view. I would recommend booking a 2nd floor room for a better view, specifically #6. It's the most expensive room I think, but overall the hotel is very reasonable for the view it offers. **The staff was very friendly, but travelers should be aware that there really wasn't a front desk after 4 or 5, just a security guy.

  • Liked — Wonderful view, simple and laid back atmosphere
  • Disliked — front desk not open after 5
  • Tips/Secrets — Book a 2nd floor room.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2006

This hotel is great, especially if you stick to the second floor. Not only does it have a beautiful balcony overlooking the ocean, but it has plenty of comfortable wood chairs. More importantly, the rooms on the first floor open onto the open air dining area, making for very noisy rude awakenings in the morning. Not only that, but the first floor has a painted concrete floor rather than the beautiful wood floors on the second. Thirdly, the first floor has the small, oranged legged crabs common around the area, trying to climb in at night and suceeding!

We stayed on the first floor the first night in montezuma, before moving to the second floor's beautiful room 6 for the following three. The breakfast is indeed good. the lawn and hammocks, are wonderful, and the tidepools are fun for relaxing and exploring small marine life. I'd definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2006

Stayed 2 nights at Amor de Mar.
We have stayed at over 20 places in C.R. over the years and never had a problem with safety, as long as we kept our car in the hotel's lot.

When we got to Amor de Mar, no one was at the reception desk and to this day we still don't know who runs the place. It turns out the restaurant is not open for dinner.

All Day and all night, these very noisy ATV's speed up and down the street, keep you awake and drown out the ocean. The people who rent them out probably buy their gas from guys who steal it from unsuspecting vistors like us.

When we got up at 4 AM to take the 6:30 ferry to
get out of this awful town, we noticed halfway to the next village that our truck had been siphoned.

There is no gas station in Montezuma. We turned back to go to Amor de Mar for help and the young man cleaning the place went to get the security guard who soon appeared with a pillow under his arm. He had obviously been asleep. After our insisting, he found gas in the shed and gave us enough to get to the next town where we waited for the gas station to open.

We just made it on time.

The hotel is right on the main drag and it is very noisy indeed. Get a room at the back of the building if you can.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2005

highly recommend this hotel, very clean, perfect location and extremely wonderful and helpful staff. can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2005

Amor de Mar is one of the prettiest hotels I've ever laid eyes on. It has a gorgeous lawn that slopes down to the ocean. Breakfast is served on a terrace overlooking the lawn. The rooms aren't much to write home about, just a basic bed and bathroom, but the setting is heaven on earth.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Amor de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amor de Mar

Address: Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Amor De Mar Puntarenas
Amor De Mar Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amor de Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Amor de Mar to your Saves list