We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best part of Montezuma!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amor de Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Amor de Mar to your Saves list
Hotel Amor de Mar
Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best part of Montezuma!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We arrived at Hotel Amor de Mar fairly late at night due to a late flight in and the long journey from the SJO airport to Montezuma. It was dark and raining and we weren't able to see the full beauty that Hotel Amor de Mar has to offer. Tired and feeling grimy from a long day of travel, we were very glad to find that the bed and linens were VERY comfortable and the shower was clean, updated, and had plenty of consistently hot water. Upon waking, we were blown away by the beautiful view from our private balcony upstairs (we stayed in Room 1). The grassy lawn was carefully adorned with hammocks, a stone picnic table, a wooden bench, a variety of lawn chairs, a colorfully decorated outdoor shower carved out of an old tree, palm trees, and a giant mango tree. We could see the ocean from our balcony (and the rest of the hotel grounds) and thought it was rocky, it had two tide pools big enough to swim in with colorful fish and other creatures of the sea to closely admire. The breakfast was just as good, if not better, than any other breakfast we had in Montezuma during our 7 day stay there. Not to mention the freshly made juice and smoothies made from the mangos that came from the very mango tree located on the grounds. Each morning while we ate our breakfasts, we would watch the diligent groundskeeper gather fresh mangos that had fallen off of the mango tree and rake up any leaves that had fallen overnight. The owners and staff were extremely helpful in arranging any day trips that we wanted to take. They made suggestions of things to do in and around the area that we wouldn't have known about otherwise. We were picked up at the hotel door, dropped off at the hotel door, and when we rented an ATV, it was brought to and picked up at the hotel! (cocomontezuma expeditions is great for a trip to Isla Tortuga or for renting an ATV...ask for Pete!) The prices were reasonable for the trips and the ATV. I would suggest getting an ATV for at least one day so that you can explore the Pacific side of the Nicoya Peninsula. I digress...every inch of the hotel was made and beautifully decorated with things you could find locally in Costa Rica. The A/C was a huge treat after a long day of hiking in the heat. The hotel is very "green" as was everywhere in CR and as it should be! We woke up every morning to the sounds of monkeys and birds. Located directly behind the hotel is the trailhead to Montezuma Falls which is about a 20 minutes walk to great waterfalls. The hotel is about a 5 minutes (beautiful) walk from the town which, in my opinion, is way better than staying in the town. Depends on whether you want to hear monkeys or music and people. I HIGHLY suggest staying here if you visit Montezuma. It is breathtaking and a vacation I will never forget.

Room Tip: Room 1 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    67
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
33
145
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Beautiful hotel with lovely grassy garden area overlooking the ocean. Tide pools you can swim in at low tide which are like bath water. Had breakfast every morning at the restaurant and it was delicious. Great location to walk to town for dinner etc. Room was very clean with AC and realistic price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We showed up in the evening after taking a boat from Panteraneaus to Tambor, they were so friendly and welcoming. We ended up staying 3 nights. We would have stayed longer, but we wanted to head to the Caribbean side of Costa Rica!

Room Tip: Would recommend! If you can get a room upstairs the view is amazing, however the rooms downstairs ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Sorry for the late review, had log in problems with Trip Advisor

Montezuma was the 3rd stop of our 22 day trip. It was our first time here.

We were driving from Dominical to Puntarenas and took the ferry to Paquera and then drove to Montezuma. Roads were in good condition compared to Osa!

Friends of ours in Brasalito have stayed here and recommend it. Just on the edge of town, about a 5 minute walk to town. Beautiful wood built, the rooms are made entirely of wood. Very clean, mini fridge, beautiful washrooms. Eugenia greeted us, explained everything about the hotel, then showed us to our rooms. We had the rooms closest to the road, brother in law on the ground and us on the 2nd. You could here the 4 wheelers driving by but it didn't bother me. Our window looked out onto the waterfall parking lot. (there are a lot of 4 wheelers in Montezuma)

I think it was the only hotel that had grass backing onto the ocean. The grounds were full of hammocks to just lay and chill and listen to the waves. We would lay on the chairs at night having competitions on who sees the most falling stars, it was so dark. It didn't have a pool but there were tide pools that you could soak in and have a drink. It was very refreshing after hiking all day. We had a blast in them!

The town is very small and compact. Lots of restaurants, Chicos Bar, cafes, very chilled!

The staff were very friendly, they would all sit and have breakfast in the morning before starting their shift. You could tell that the hotel treated their employees very well.

Breakfast was not included but very good!

Eugenia & Ammi, was very helpful in recommending restaurants to eat at and recommending places we should visit. Thank you to the both of you! I must say Montezuma has some pretty good restaurants, we ate like pigs all 4 nights that we were there! We were only a 5 minute walk into town, we always felt very safe everywhere we walked. You must do the Tortuga Island tour (snorkeling) with Zuma Tours(see Tito) and if you have a car, drive to the Cabuya Cemetery (low tide) and visit the El Higuron de Cabuya (Giant Banyan Tree). The hotel will tell where to go. Santa Teresa was only 40 minute drive away. Playa Grande is a good 40 minute walk past Ylang Ylang, nice big beach all to youself

The entrance to the waterfalls are directly across the street from the hotel and is about an 15 minute walk along the river which will take you to the first set of falls. A great place to go and cool off from the hot sum all day!

We will definitely be return to Montezuma next year, A big Thank you to our friends Simon & Hilda from Hotel Conchal in Brasalito for the hotel recommendation!

Can't wait to go back to to Hotel Amor de mar next year

Nick & Jo

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean if you can get one
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Amor De Mar in Jan'14 for 4 days. We loved the place. A perfect location in Montezuma, right next to town and by the beaches. You can walk into town in exactly 5 mins, an amazing town with very good restaurants and a lively vibe. The hotel itself is tastefully designed, all the design elements r sourced from the surroundings, the hotel overlooks a cool lawn which overlooks the sea, a few hammocks and beach beds on the lawn is a nice touch. The restaurant is a nice spot and good menu also, not cheap!! The room was wood panelled like tree top living, similar to the whole property. Nice new modern bathroom!. We had a balcony which kinda overlooked the lawn. The room on the whole was nice, i would recommend this place totally. Friendly staff also.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We were on vacation in Montezuma for 6 days and had only 2 nights booked here. We loved our room (#5), it had a great view, private balcony, a refrigerator, safe box... etc. It was very clean with great decoration.
We planned to stay at another place for the other 4 nights but it didn't have A/C or a fan so we decided to come back. We got room #8 this time and it's also great.
Eugenia, at the reception desk, was very helpful and had good suggestions on where to go.
We also really enjoyed the food both for breakfast and lunch.
The "pool" isn't much but it didn't matter to us since the beach is so close. It's a great space outside with hammocks and beach chairs.
We would definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: Room 5 was great! Ocean view and a private patio.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

My wife and I have traveled to Costa Rica several times and found that cities and hotels in Costa Rica can be hit or miss. Amor de Mar in Montezuma is a definite hit. The grounds are beautiful and the price is not bad. There is a gorgeous lawn in front of the ocean with multiple hammocks and chairs that are perfect to lounge around in. We've stayed at this hotel twice, and the second time made sure we had time set aside to just simply lounge around the grounds of the hotel.

Montezuma is also a great little city. Multiple dining options and plenty of opportunity for excursions such as hiking to the waterfall, surfing, ziplines, etc. The city takes a bit of travel to get to, but I've found the time taken to get there is well worth it.

Room Tip: Water view rooms are preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amor de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amor de Mar

Address: Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amor de Mar is located on the Pacific Ocean next to the river in Montezuma. Planted in a natural paradise, a few miles from the Cabo Blanco National Park. Our hotel offers 9 cozy and individually styled rooms and two beach villas, Casa Luna and Casa Sol, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. All the rooms have A/C, private bathroom with hot water and a some rooms have a mini fridge. The beach villas are fully equipped but NOT A/C. All the rooms and beach villas have a safe deposit box and WiFi is available in the hotel property. The hotel is within a five minute walk from the picturesque beach town of Montezuma at the tip of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica, Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Amor de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amor De Mar Puntarenas
Amor De Mar Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amor de Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.