We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place on the ocean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amor de Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Amor de Mar to your Saves list
Hotel Amor de Mar
Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Fabulous place on the ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We booked based on other trip advisor comments. Love the location. Room 7 has a great ocean view and is right outside the small cafe that offers very nutritious and wholesome food...with minimal noise on a large cover porch. The ocean tide pool is an amazing natural feature. Sweet spot for R&R especially in January.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    65
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
32
143
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed at the hotel over New Year's and had a relaxing, lovely time. We were in Room 5 which was upstairs with a balcony overlooking the back lawn & bay. This room was perfect for us as we spent lots of time in the adirondack chairs with wine that we got from the mercado and kept chilled in our room fridge. The food served for breakfast & lunch was fresh & delicious and I can't get the salsa from the huevos rancheros out of my mind. The staff, Ammi, Eugenia & Carla were all super friendly and helpful. This is simply a delightful place to kick back and unwind. It's right across the street from the entrance to Montezuma Falls and a short walk on the dirt road to the village of Montezuma.

Room Tip: Room 5 has a view and "private" balcony with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

First I want to say, this is an amazing place! The owner is super friendly and the accommodations were on par with other experiences in Costa Rica (not the US ;). We stayed in the 2 story house, which was an amazing space! The house was all custom hand made and so beautifully unique! Gorgeous wood, decor, beautiful large bathroom, lounge spaces, windows, views, everything was gorgeous! The house is basically and indoor/outdoor space, so nice and open and breezy, but also let in a lot of bugs.

The bathroom was open air (I love this!), and huge with lots of counter space and shelves, but the water would cycle between scalding hot and ice cold with short periods of just right to wet and rinse. It didn't seem to matter where the knobs went, that is what you got. the shower head was great (overhead waterfall type), but it was a little comical using it! Also, only one washcloth for 4 of us... Mom got it first :( I'm sure I could have gone up to get another one, but what a pain!

The AC in the lower bedrooms worked in the double bed room, but not in one of the single bed rooms... we were only using it to change in, so no biggie. We didn't try the 3rd room's AC.

There was one window in our main floor room that didn't have a curtain. When I got up in the morning and got dressed, I turned around to a gardener at my window! Ah! I'm not sure what he saw, but it was distressing!

The linens were OK, but the comforters smelled musty on our bed. The bed was not the most comfortable thing (but not the worst!) and the pillows were thin and sad.

The kitchen was well appointed and adorable except the refrigerator was gross on the outside. I'm sure they cleaned it (at least I really hope they did!), but it was corroding from the salt air and years of use. Kind of icky!

The location of this place is stunning, the many hammocks were great! There was a BBQ grill we could have used and an outdoor eating space that was really sweet.

Breakfast in the morning was expensive and not very good. I would skip it next time.

It was an easy walk into the town to eat dinner.

Overall, this was a beautiful piece of paradise and I would totally stay here again if we were to come back, but the little details bring down my rating (bugs, dirty fridge, bi-polar shower temperatures, AC not working in one of the rooms, gardener looking in my room as I'm getting dressed).

Oh, also, when I was checking out, they charged me in local colones, but gave a horrible exchange: $1 to 510 colones instead of the $1 to 500 were were getting everywhere else (convenient math). I looked it up for her and the banks were reporting $1 to 490 even! She offered to charge me in dollars instead, so it worked out, but be careful! Felt like she was trying to scam me... this was not the owner, but I'm not sure what the owner's policies really are.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The hotel's large lawn really sets it apart from anything else in this dusty town. The open style of the main building enhances the view, and the dark colors of the decor help things feel cool out of the sun. The dining area is so pretty. A more full lunch menu might be nice, and it's surprising the restaurant isn't open for dinner, but there is an upside to that: some of the rooms open right on to the dining area, and this way, they aren't bothered by noise at night. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and English is spoken here. I hope to come back some day soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This was one of the most relaxing places we have ever been - the people there were great - the view was magic - the town was fun -the little crabs that come out at nite visited often - plus the road was not a good place for them - squished-uck - Waterfall - birds - nature - people -
THE BEST

Room Tip: lower level - corner to the East - did not require air condition - windows all the way around -
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed in The amor de mar at the end of our Costa Rica journey. Our previous stays were in big resort type hotels so this small and intimate hotel was a real treasure. We were quite frazzled and tired after experiencing the car ferry from Puntatarious so when Ammi showed us to the Casa Luna bungalow we were delighted.
The house is gorgeous with all the natural wood. The bathroom is lovely with the open shower. It has many plants, giving it a fun outdoor feel to the room. Hot water is a commodity on the peninsula so taking a shower can be challenging.
Household geckos loved to grace us with their presence on the walls. We were rather amused as they all seemed to be rather amorous--mating constantly. It was a bit distracting the first night but we hardly noticed after that.
The kitchen was quant--older appliances but neither the less functional and very good to keep the groceries we would get from the grocery store in town.
The bedrooms all had air conditioning in them to make the nights very comfortable--almost cold at times.
The upstairs was beautiful--the sconces all over the houses were so unique and gave a soft romantic glow. The upstairs was lovely to be able to sit out on the deck an look out over the beautiful lawn to the ocean. Morning coffee was particular relaxing. The only reason we did not sleep in the big 4 poster bed with the mosquito netting was the absence of air conditioning.

Korina assisted us with planning an ATV excursion. Pete, the guy who we rented from was so accommodating and brought the ATV's to the hotel This was great fun as we went to Cabuya and Santa Teresa on some very challenging dirt roads. Scenery was beautiful along the way.

Korina also arranged the best message ever!. The highly talented masseuse came to the house , setting up her bed on the second floor. Certainly one of the most relaxing effective massage ever.

We did not miss a pool as the river beside the property was so refreshing and the tide pool was unique. It was not dangerous or scary as some have suggested except when the tide was at its highest it was full and swirling with water but most of the day it was calm and shallow enough to stand up in.

The private beach, 5 minutes down the coast, was the perfect place to spread out your towel and sunbath.

We loved the freshly baked bread in the morning along with other health options. They even made us sandwiches to take with us to the ferry when we had to leave earlier than the 7am breakfast time. Sunday brunch was awesome. For dinner we enjoyed trying several of the highly recommended restaurants in the town. Montezuma is small but filled with friendly ticos who would not hesitate to answer your questions. Several very nice stores for authentic souvenirs and handmade jewelry.
Nearly all the restaurants had fresh fish and seafood. We enjoyed each meal for its freshness and simple preparations that lended itself to the Costa Rican authenticity.

We will most definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at Amor de Mar for our honeymoon over Christmas and it was really lovely, a wonderful place to stay in paradise Montezuma. We especially loved seeing the hotel at night with its twinkly lights and sitting out on the beautiful lawn by the sea in the many hammocks! It was definitely the right choice for us: really clean but not impersonal and 'hotel-y', with a nice arty, cosy feel.

The swimming rock pool at the foot of the garden was lovely to dip in and the beaches nearby were magical.. It was only a short walk to Montezuma's bars and restaurants in the evening, but far away enough to feel peaceful and tranquil.

We stayed in room 6 and it was lovely, great bathroom! It didn't have the sea view but still had a lovely balcony space and was perfectly quiet from the road. The owners were very helpful with booking excursions and directions too. All in all, we adored Amor de Mar, it was perfect.

The ONLY drawback we might say is that everywhere else we stayed in Costa Rica had breakfast included in the price (substantial ones too!) and Amor de Mar seemed a little expensive for their buffet option in comparison.. We often had breakfast in Montezuma at a soda (montesul or playa naranja were really great) which seemed better value. They do have coffee refills though and I had a lovely and very big fruit salad one morning.

To sum up though, I would happily go to Amor de Mar every year and never get tired.. It's beautiful and insanely relaxing. Anyone would love it.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amor de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amor de Mar

Address: Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amor de Mar is located on the Pacific Ocean next to the river in Montezuma. Planted in a natural paradise, a few miles from the Cabo Blanco National Park. Our hotel offers 9 cozy and individually styled rooms and two beach villas, Casa Luna and Casa Sol, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. All the rooms have A/C, private bathroom with hot water and a some rooms have a mini fridge. The beach villas are fully equipped but NOT A/C. All the rooms and beach villas have a safe deposit box and WiFi is available in the hotel property. The hotel is within a five minute walk from the picturesque beach town of Montezuma at the tip of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica, Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Amor de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amor De Mar Puntarenas
Amor De Mar Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amor de Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.