We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay while in Montezuma” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amor de Mar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Amor de Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Amor de Mar
Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay while in Montezuma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were very happy we had booked ahead since the couple that arrive before us had to be dissapointed since the hotel was fully booked. We stayed in room 10 which was lovely (excellent bathroom that was just rennovated) and offered a great view over the garden and the ocean.
When we walked into Montezuma town we were extremely happy we decided to stay a little bit outside of town (10 min walk) as the town looked a bit "loud".
Make sure to check out Cabo Blanco N.P. when you are in the area.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    64
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
31
138
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oundle, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

A nice hotel a 5 minute walk out of town. The bathrooms are lovely and the rooms are completely wooden which can be quite dark.

The hotel serves a reasonable breakfast but this is not included in the price.

The outside was ok but the 'pool' was not one you could swim in as it is surrounded by rocks. It's more of a rock pool.

The hammocks were lovely in the afternoons and the waterfall is right opposite which is very convenient.

Ok but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week at Amor de Mar, and really enjoyed the calm, relaxed atmosphere. The location is perfect, just a few minutes walk from the centre of Montezuma. In our opinion, the best location in Montezuma. We stayed in room 5, and had a beautiful view of the ocean and the well-kept garden. The breakfast was by far the best we have had in a long time! Mostly healthy options. The staff was super friendly, and gave us advice on activities. Best experience was surfing with Guillermo, he took us to an amazing point break.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Our last few days were spent at this gorgeous hotel which was the highlight of our trip. Quaint, quiet and romantic, this little gem was perfect for relaxing. The staff are wonderful and the grounds are beautiful, with the sounds & sights of nature making this a truly special place to stay. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Montezuma was our last stop of our costa rica adventure. We randomly found this place while eating lunch on our way down there. They had rooms available and were happy to hold them for us. After a long long day, this place was like heaven on earth. The view is stunning and the rooms are super clean and fun. We stayed in room 8 which is on the end. The room is gynormous with 2 double beds. The bathroom has a stunning rain head shower that had hot hot water. These beds were also probably the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. Either that or I was just exhausted. The property is so well taken care of. I sat out at night and rocked in a chair and watched the world go by. My friend fell asleep in one of the many hammocks they have on property.

The food here is great too! I had breakfast and lunch and both were great. Reasonably priced and delicious. Ammi was so sweet and genuine. The whole staff really was amazing. After our long and exhausting adventure of costa rica, this was the perfect ending. It's a walk from the center of town but the quiet was welcomed. It's just at the base of the road that takes you up to the popular waterfalls. We paid $80/night for a Sunday night. Even after we had to check out we were welcome to stay on the property, use the shower and store our luggage which we did all of the above until we needed to leave at 3pm.

I wouldn't hesitate coming back to montezuma just for this hotel and the gelato in the downtown area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean, you'll thank me for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliffe, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The only thing to say is “Amor de Mar is Absolutely Perfect” The grounds and views of the ocean are breathtaking. The staff is friendly and helpful and always wearing a smile. We were fortunate enough to have a tour of the property with Ori, the owner, and every room we toured had its own unique character including the two casas. After reading all the reviews about room number 5 we decided to give it a try and we were not disappointed. It is private, has a great balcony with spectacular views and is so comfortable and clean we didn’t want to leave. I seriously think it was the most comfortable bed we have ever slept on. The tide pool was a favorite of ours as we enjoyed it privately many times during our 9 days in this jungle paradise. Don’t miss the waterfall which is across the street from the hotel. If you are interested in any tours then Ammi, Carla, Ori, or any of the office staff can set that up for you. Ammi was kind enough to take care of making arrangements for us to go to Isla Tortuga and what a perfect day that was. The town of Montezuma is so close that we walked into town many times a day. If you are planning on visiting Montezuma then Amor de Mar is the place to stay. Thank you so much to the staff at Amor de Mar, especially Ammi, for making our visit to Montezuma a very special one. We will be back to Montezuma and Amor de Mar very soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My partner and I stayed here and fell in love with this place, and Montezuma in general. The ocean view from our balcony and room on the 2nd floor (room $5) was amazing. Room was very nice, spacious and cute (kind of cabiny, dark wood). Lots of windows for the backyard/ocean view letting in lots of light but curtains provide darkness and privacy when you want it. A/C and wifi was also a nice touch. Sound of the ocean is prominent but very peaceful. Big, beauitiful grassy backyard with plenty of hammocks anc chairs and if you walk up to the water there are some rocks with a calm tidal pool that is swimmable (the Pacific seemed a bit too rough to swim in when we went, unless you're a surfer!) You'll effortlessly take amazing photos, even right at the hotel. Directly across the street is a path that will lead you to the Montezuma waterfall which is also beautiful and you can swim there as well. Ori at the hotel is very cool, friendly and helpful - along with the rest of the staff. Good security at the hotel late at night too. They serve really good breakfast (and maybe light lunch but don't believe they serve dinner) on the ground level. Short, walkable distance to the center of town which is also great and you can keep walking along the shore for hours as there are beautiful beaches after beaches (and a little forest). Definitely one of the best places you can stay, great deal for the $ and we'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: room #5 (1 queen) is very nice for a couple with a great view but has an older bathroom. There's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amor de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amor de Mar

Address: Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amor de Mar is located on the Pacific Ocean next to the river in Montezuma. Planted in a natural paradise, a few miles from the Cabo Blanco National Park. Our hotel offers 9 cozy and individually styled rooms and two beach villas, Casa Luna and Casa Sol, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. All the rooms have A/C, private bathroom with hot water and a some rooms have a mini fridge. The beach villas are fully equipped but NOT A/C. All the rooms and beach villas have a safe deposit box and WiFi is available in the hotel property. The hotel is within a five minute walk from the picturesque beach town of Montezuma at the tip of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica, Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Amor de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amor De Mar Puntarenas
Amor De Mar Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amor de Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.