We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect end to our trip!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amor de Mar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Amor de Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Amor de Mar
Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“perfect end to our trip!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Montezuma was our last stop of our costa rica adventure. We randomly found this place while eating lunch on our way down there. They had rooms available and were happy to hold them for us. After a long long day, this place was like heaven on earth. The view is stunning and the rooms are super clean and fun. We stayed in room 8 which is on the end. The room is gynormous with 2 double beds. The bathroom has a stunning rain head shower that had hot hot water. These beds were also probably the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. Either that or I was just exhausted. The property is so well taken care of. I sat out at night and rocked in a chair and watched the world go by. My friend fell asleep in one of the many hammocks they have on property.

The food here is great too! I had breakfast and lunch and both were great. Reasonably priced and delicious. Ammi was so sweet and genuine. The whole staff really was amazing. After our long and exhausting adventure of costa rica, this was the perfect ending. It's a walk from the center of town but the quiet was welcomed. It's just at the base of the road that takes you up to the popular waterfalls. We paid $80/night for a Sunday night. Even after we had to check out we were welcome to stay on the property, use the shower and store our luggage which we did all of the above until we needed to leave at 3pm.

I wouldn't hesitate coming back to montezuma just for this hotel and the gelato in the downtown area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean, you'll thank me for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    61
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
29
133
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westcliffe, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The only thing to say is “Amor de Mar is Absolutely Perfect” The grounds and views of the ocean are breathtaking. The staff is friendly and helpful and always wearing a smile. We were fortunate enough to have a tour of the property with Ori, the owner, and every room we toured had its own unique character including the two casas. After reading all the reviews about room number 5 we decided to give it a try and we were not disappointed. It is private, has a great balcony with spectacular views and is so comfortable and clean we didn’t want to leave. I seriously think it was the most comfortable bed we have ever slept on. The tide pool was a favorite of ours as we enjoyed it privately many times during our 9 days in this jungle paradise. Don’t miss the waterfall which is across the street from the hotel. If you are interested in any tours then Ammi, Carla, Ori, or any of the office staff can set that up for you. Ammi was kind enough to take care of making arrangements for us to go to Isla Tortuga and what a perfect day that was. The town of Montezuma is so close that we walked into town many times a day. If you are planning on visiting Montezuma then Amor de Mar is the place to stay. Thank you so much to the staff at Amor de Mar, especially Ammi, for making our visit to Montezuma a very special one. We will be back to Montezuma and Amor de Mar very soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My partner and I stayed here and fell in love with this place, and Montezuma in general. The ocean view from our balcony and room on the 2nd floor (room $5) was amazing. Room was very nice, spacious and cute (kind of cabiny, dark wood). Lots of windows for the backyard/ocean view letting in lots of light but curtains provide darkness and privacy when you want it. A/C and wifi was also a nice touch. Sound of the ocean is prominent but very peaceful. Big, beauitiful grassy backyard with plenty of hammocks anc chairs and if you walk up to the water there are some rocks with a calm tidal pool that is swimmable (the Pacific seemed a bit too rough to swim in when we went, unless you're a surfer!) You'll effortlessly take amazing photos, even right at the hotel. Directly across the street is a path that will lead you to the Montezuma waterfall which is also beautiful and you can swim there as well. Ori at the hotel is very cool, friendly and helpful - along with the rest of the staff. Good security at the hotel late at night too. They serve really good breakfast (and maybe light lunch but don't believe they serve dinner) on the ground level. Short, walkable distance to the center of town which is also great and you can keep walking along the shore for hours as there are beautiful beaches after beaches (and a little forest). Definitely one of the best places you can stay, great deal for the $ and we'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: room #5 (1 queen) is very nice for a couple with a great view but has an older bathroom. There's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Amor de Mar is an excellent hotel in Montezuma. The location is amazing, and the hotel grounds are impeccable. Every morning, we sat on the patio and ate breakfast as we watched the ocean waves. This was such a peaceful and relaxing place to stay. All of the workers at the hotel were very helpful. I was surprised by how nicely the room was decorated, and the woodwork throughout the hotel. The only warning I have is for visitors to be careful when visiting the Montezuma waterfall during the rainy season. We visited last week, in late June and got caught in a flash flood. It was terrifying, so be careful if you plan to visit the waterfall.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were travelling a couple of friends and were actually supposed to be on a budget backpacking trip. When we stumbled upon this hotel somewhere online we decided to spend a little extra money than planned to treat ourselves (even though I know it's still a fairly cheap place to stay).

The room was spotless and the green hotel grounds were very beautiful and idyllic. Lots of hammocks and lying chairs for relaxing. The place has no pool but the small tidal pool was way cooler and there's also a small river kind of pool next to the hotel.

The staff was incredibly nice. Ami was great and very helpful in recovering our bags which Delta Airlines lost. She made sure they were sent to our next location on our trip.
The night watch (I forgot his name) was the best! Even though he didn't speak any English and my Spanish is pretty poor, we had some nice conversations about Elton John and other music when he wasn't doing his rounds :) He just seemed like such a nice guy.

Small tip: Don't try to hike both waterfalls in flip flops, if you take the long way to the top one... :) Wear shoes!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We intended to stay for 2 nights and ended up staying 4 - this is how much we loved the place. Charming interiour, great ocean views from the upper rooms, a private little balcony, comfy hammocks in the beautiful garden, and the best breakfast we had on our trip all made us wanting to stay forever. This is definitely a little oasis worth recommending!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Amazing!! We rented the house Luna Casa and wished we never had to leave! The staff are so helpful and friendly. The views can't be beat. The food is top notch. My boys loved the tide pool. I loved the hammocks! We seen monkeys across the street. When we checked out my boys left their ukulele in their room. When we reached our next destination I wasn't in the room 5 minutes when I received a call saying they had found it and we're sending it on a shuttle to us. The next day when we checked in to another hotel the ukulele was at the front desk, no extra charge. Talk about great service! We love you Amor de Mar!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Amor de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amor de Mar

Address: Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Amor de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amor De Mar Puntarenas
Amor De Mar Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amor de Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.