We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are in love with Amor de Mar!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amor de Mar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Amor de Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Amor de Mar
Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
1 review
“We are in love with Amor de Mar!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Amazing!! We rented the house Luna Casa and wished we never had to leave! The staff are so helpful and friendly. The views can't be beat. The food is top notch. My boys loved the tide pool. I loved the hammocks! We seen monkeys across the street. When we checked out my boys left their ukulele in their room. When we reached our next destination I wasn't in the room 5 minutes when I received a call saying they had found it and we're sending it on a shuttle to us. The next day when we checked in to another hotel the ukulele was at the front desk, no extra charge. Talk about great service! We love you Amor de Mar!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    64
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
31
136
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I returned to Costa Rica but traveled on the Caribbean Coast - though it was nice, we eventually decided to return to Montezuma because the town meant so much to us. We ended up staying at Amor de Mar, and the owner knew we were students so she was willing to deduct taxes if we paid in cash.

Everything at the hotel was immaculate. The lighting was perfect, the hammocks were perfect, and coffee was perfect, and the people were genuine and kind. The best part about this hotel is the scenery. The coastline in Montezuma is one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen in my life. There are rock formations on the coast that end up making their own little pools. That way, if you're not comfortable swimming in the waves, you can still swim in the ocean water while looking at the gorgeous beaches. It was a remarkable experience, and because of the price point, I would recommend this place for anyone - from students to wealthier couples. Absolute paradise, and we WILL be returning when we go back to Montezuma.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I back packed through Costa Rica for 2 weeks and stayed at hostels for the most part. Half way through the trip I needed to splurge and find myself a nice relaxing place to stay, I couldn't have picked a more beautiful place. There are hammocks for lounging under huge mango trees and lawn chairs to lay out on right where the ocean meets the grass of a gorgeous manicured lawn. Not to mention humming birds and an iguana! This hotel was perfect, clean and comfortable. I was there during the low season so the place was pretty quiet but I did not mind at all because I basically had the place to myself! The walk into the main town was about 8-10 minutes but the views along the way are absolute perfection. This hotel is also located right across the street from the waterfall which is a must see while you are in Montezuma!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at Amor de mar, and took a different room for each night.
Rooms are clean, nice, and have a great view of the ocean.
The hotel is located just across the Montezuma waterfall which was very convenient.
Breakfast was not included but we ate there anyway and it was great and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

A wonderful oasis right on the ocean. Lovely grassy grounds filled with hammocks and comfy chairs. Comfortable beds in rooms with wood covered walls and ceilings (try to get one with an ocean view). A delicious breakfast served on a spacious covered deck. Friendly staff. Be entertained by iguanas and basilisk lizards on the sea wall or herons looking for an easy meal. Within easy walking distance of Montezuma's shops and restaurants. One of the best places that we stayed at during our three week trip of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed six nights at the Amor de Mar and loved it. Our room on the second floor was everything I could have hoped for : simple, beautiful, comfortable, quiet and clean. Just to name a few details : wood paneling, windows on three sides with no screens (not needed), wide and private balcony overlooking the lawns and ocean, artistic and tasteful decor, comfortable bed, good shower, ecological toilet and good air-conditioning. We liked the easy walking distance to town and numerous good restaurants as well as the trail to the falls, so close by. Being a short distance from town, the hotel was generally quiet all day (some traffic noise from the road) and especially quiet at night. We loved the delicious breakfasts, the flowers decorating the tables and myriad attention to details. (Brunch on Sunday was particularly nice, including the best rice and beans I tasted anywhere in Costa Rica). The staff were especially friendly and helpful with suggestions for activities, including snorkeling, tours and places to eat. We were given aloe gel to deal with a sunburn and the staff made arrangements by phone for a tour guide, one day. Did I mention the tidal pool which was such a delight to bathe in at the end of hot day?! In conclusion, relaxing and beautiful place to spend time near beaches and water in CR.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I agree with my daughters review (Casey C)...would add hammock heaven....ocean side patio and garden setting are wonderful, along with tree swing tucked into the trees. Fresh mango smoothy was awesome...with delicious breakfast. The craftsmanship of woodwork and art work are both beautiful. Short walk south found us enjoying a small beach to ourselves. The "soda" just to the south served inexpensive wonderful empanadas. Laundry service is available across the street, don't expect starched and ironed ;) Oh and they had a security guard on site all night, very safe.

Room Tip: We had room #8, ground level. Wonderful ocean breeze and our own patio area, but we mostly used the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amor de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amor de Mar

Address: Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amor de Mar is located on the Pacific Ocean next to the river in Montezuma. Planted in a natural paradise, a few miles from the Cabo Blanco National Park. Our hotel offers 9 cozy and individually styled rooms and two beach villas, Casa Luna and Casa Sol, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. All the rooms have A/C, private bathroom with hot water and a mini fridge. The beach villas are fully equipped but NOT A/C. All the rooms and beach villas have a safe deposit box and WiFi is available in the hotel property. The hotel is within a five minute walk from the picturesque beach town of Montezuma at the tip of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica, Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Amor de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amor De Mar Puntarenas
Amor De Mar Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amor de Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.