We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection by the Sea!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amor de Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Amor de Mar to your Saves list
Hotel Amor de Mar
Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Huntington, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Perfection by the Sea!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I back packed through Costa Rica for 2 weeks and stayed at hostels for the most part. Half way through the trip I needed to splurge and find myself a nice relaxing place to stay, I couldn't have picked a more beautiful place. There are hammocks for lounging under huge mango trees and lawn chairs to lay out on right where the ocean meets the grass of a gorgeous manicured lawn. Not to mention humming birds and an iguana! This hotel was perfect, clean and comfortable. I was there during the low season so the place was pretty quiet but I did not mind at all because I basically had the place to myself! The walk into the main town was about 8-10 minutes but the views along the way are absolute perfection. This hotel is also located right across the street from the waterfall which is a must see while you are in Montezuma!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    64
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
31
141
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at Amor de mar, and took a different room for each night.
Rooms are clean, nice, and have a great view of the ocean.
The hotel is located just across the Montezuma waterfall which was very convenient.
Breakfast was not included but we ate there anyway and it was great and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

A wonderful oasis right on the ocean. Lovely grassy grounds filled with hammocks and comfy chairs. Comfortable beds in rooms with wood covered walls and ceilings (try to get one with an ocean view). A delicious breakfast served on a spacious covered deck. Friendly staff. Be entertained by iguanas and basilisk lizards on the sea wall or herons looking for an easy meal. Within easy walking distance of Montezuma's shops and restaurants. One of the best places that we stayed at during our three week trip of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed six nights at the Amor de Mar and loved it. Our room on the second floor was everything I could have hoped for : simple, beautiful, comfortable, quiet and clean. Just to name a few details : wood paneling, windows on three sides with no screens (not needed), wide and private balcony overlooking the lawns and ocean, artistic and tasteful decor, comfortable bed, good shower, ecological toilet and good air-conditioning. We liked the easy walking distance to town and numerous good restaurants as well as the trail to the falls, so close by. Being a short distance from town, the hotel was generally quiet all day (some traffic noise from the road) and especially quiet at night. We loved the delicious breakfasts, the flowers decorating the tables and myriad attention to details. (Brunch on Sunday was particularly nice, including the best rice and beans I tasted anywhere in Costa Rica). The staff were especially friendly and helpful with suggestions for activities, including snorkeling, tours and places to eat. We were given aloe gel to deal with a sunburn and the staff made arrangements by phone for a tour guide, one day. Did I mention the tidal pool which was such a delight to bathe in at the end of hot day?! In conclusion, relaxing and beautiful place to spend time near beaches and water in CR.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I agree with my daughters review (Casey C)...would add hammock heaven....ocean side patio and garden setting are wonderful, along with tree swing tucked into the trees. Fresh mango smoothy was awesome...with delicious breakfast. The craftsmanship of woodwork and art work are both beautiful. Short walk south found us enjoying a small beach to ourselves. The "soda" just to the south served inexpensive wonderful empanadas. Laundry service is available across the street, don't expect starched and ironed ;) Oh and they had a security guard on site all night, very safe.

Room Tip: We had room #8, ground level. Wonderful ocean breeze and our own patio area, but we mostly used the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Great location, walking distance to Montezuma, right on beach, across street from trail to waterfalls. Room was beautiful and had an amazing view of the ocean. Breakfast is not included, but is top notch and reasonably priced. Staff very friendly and helpful. Lots of birds and lizards on the grounds and a tide pool and pond to swim in. Only downside was some vehicle noise from the nearby street, but nothing major. Overall, a relaxing and beautiful place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at Amor de Mar 13 years ago, had been back to other places in Costa Rica, and finally made it back here this March. It was such a great trip the first time, we almost didn't want to go back, thinking it would change and it would be disappointing. It's still the perfect place for us. Carla and Aimee, and all the other staff are so helpful and Ori, the owner, was there for Sunday brunch and is so charming. My husband is there again now! The attention to the little details, the art, the breakfast, the tidepool, the native woods, the location, it all makes this place special.

Room Tip: There are pictures on line of each of the rooms, so it's easy to choose the perfect one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amor de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amor de Mar

Address: Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amor de Mar is located on the Pacific Ocean next to the river in Montezuma. Planted in a natural paradise, a few miles from the Cabo Blanco National Park. Our hotel offers 9 cozy and individually styled rooms and two beach villas, Casa Luna and Casa Sol, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. All the rooms have A/C, private bathroom with hot water and a some rooms have a mini fridge. The beach villas are fully equipped but NOT A/C. All the rooms and beach villas have a safe deposit box and WiFi is available in the hotel property. The hotel is within a five minute walk from the picturesque beach town of Montezuma at the tip of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica, Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Amor de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amor De Mar Puntarenas
Amor De Mar Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amor de Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.