We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amor de Mar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Amor de Mar
Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The property is what makes this place paradise. While a short walk from the centre of town, this place is an oasis. The natural ocean tidal pool you can actually swim in, delicious breakfast they serve, hammocks by the ocean between palm trees ...

The rooms in the main lodge are small but clean and functional. They have AC and have been well maintained especially the bathrooms. The main lodge is really unique completely made of our wood you feel like you're staying in a tree fort. The staff was very helpful and nice.

A little pricey for the average backpacker but very comparable to other places in the town and worth it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    58
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
29
120
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was our second trip to Montezuma but the first time we stayed at Amor de Mar so I wasn't sure what to expect. My husband and I, along with our two teenage sons, LOVED it. It's a pretty jewel of a hotel, facing the stunningly beautiful Costa Rican coastline. The front lawn is beautifully maintained with palm trees, flowering bushes and hammocks. We ate breakfast on the open patio everyday. The rooms were spotless and the staff friendly and very helpful. We relied on them to advise us on where to eat, which boat tour to take and how to go zip lining. Absolutely recommend this place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We didn't know what to expect at the end of a long drive along the rocky road but the hotel was beautiful. We were met by a really friendly member of staff who made the surrounding area sound like paradise and it really was. Rooms were lovely and clean. Breakfasts good but not included, endless coffee all day, an 'honesty' water cooler (great idea) and a communal fridge. Large, peaceful garden was the highlight, overlooking the sea with its very own tidal pool. Hammocks in the garden plus a secret fairytable where we would go to drink rum at midnight! Hummingbirds fly past, we saw an iguana in one of the trees and they have a couple of resident dogs. We nearly extended our stay because we loved it so much. The walk to the Montezuma waterfall starts just across the road. The hotel is situated between two lovely beaches. We did the snorkelling trip to Tortuga Island - choose the cheaper option and go on a Monday when it is quieter. We will go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for 4 nights. We spent a lot of time on the property, since it's such a beautiful setting. We sat in the garden, overlooking the ocean, drinking coffee, and reading. We also sat in the hammocks in the evening. We hiked the waterfall one day, which was a lot of fun. There's not a lot to do in the town, since it's so small. We had a car, so did a day trip to MalPais, which was nice. The road is very rocky and it was a rough drive! The food at Amor de Mar was very good. The eating area is also over-looking the ocean and just stunning. I would highly recommend this place. Also, great value for your money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is amazing! I wish I could have stayed forever! Staff is very friendly and extremely helpful! The bathrooms are completely renovated and very modern and spacious. The perfect place to take an afternoon rest is in one of the shaded hammocks on the ground. The tidal pools at the rocky border provide hours of entertainment exploring sea creatures and shells. The food is delicious. The atmosphere is relaxed and all guests and staff are so friendly.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We arrived from a long car trip and arrived in this lovely hotel.
This hotel is very charming. wooden decoration is simple but of a very good taste.
Rooms are very nice but if you can get a sea view room, do not hesitate (a little bit more expensive but it's worth it).
Very peaceful place with a helpful team. Not far from the center but enough to be away from the noise of the bars!
The food is of very good quality, it's too bad they do not serve diner.
If you go to Montezuma, I would definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room on the first floor (not ground floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

,,,because then they might get more popular and we won't be able to get in next time! Just kidding, they deserve more business and WILL get it regardless of whether I keep them a secret or not :) Which brings me to my point -- this hotel HAS to be Montezuma's best kept secret.

It is simply adorable. It's romantic. It's beautiful, The views are breathtaking. There are hammocks everywhere, exotic birds brilliant flowers, tide pools, lounge chairs, etc. Our room was decorated with a very personal style, and had its own little back patio with two lounge chairs, a little table, a hammock chair, and tropical flowers. They serve breakfast and lunch every day which they cook in their own kitchen, and the eating area looks out on Nicoya Bay. The food is fresh, organic, delicious, perfectly seasoned -- in a word -- amazing.

The staff is very friendly and accommodating; very accessible, helpful with traveling tips and getting there, and with arranging and recommending expeditions. Ammi is your go-to girl -- she hooked us up with everything imaginable! I miss this place so much already, and it's a huge reason I'll definitely be visiting Costa Rica again -- hopefully sooner than later!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms near the road are kind of noisy because of all the vehicles, but our room had air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Amor de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amor de Mar

Also Known As:
Amor De Mar Puntarenas
Amor De Mar Hotel
Address: Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Montezuma
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amor de Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Amor de Mar to your Saves list