We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feb 22 to 27” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amor de Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Amor de Mar to your Saves list
Hotel Amor de Mar
Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Vancouver Island, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Feb 22 to 27”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We were fortunate enough to have spent five nights in the Casa del Sol house at Amor de Mar. It is a beautiful location and the grounds are so tranquil that time literally stood still. The staff was extremely helpful and very responsive. The location is ideal for walking to town and to the various beaches. The staff even arranged for us to get some fresh fish, and we had a grill right in front of the house for cooking that the staff made sure had sufficient wood for a decent fire.
The only downfalls here were that it is right on the road and there can be quite a bit of road noise from ATV's, motorbikes and cars. The house itself has no air con although it does have fans and you do need to use the mosquito nets provided. We had cooking facilities in the house and therefore did not try out their restaurant. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    65
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
32
143
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We arrived at the Amor De Mar and we were truly blown away by how nice everything was. After looking at photos and reviews online we knew that we wanted to stay there and it wasn't until we got settled in that we truly began to appreciate the setting and the little details that make this such a great place to stay. First off the entire property is spotless. The rooms were extremely clean and the bathrooms were really nice and had a nice modern touch. The furniture throughout the hotel was amazing, it was like every piece was made for the place. All the detail and care that was put into the hotel, truly made it special. The gardens were gorgeously landscaped and very well maintained, it was so nice having so many options of hammocks or lounge chairs to choose from, all facing the incredible view. The tidal pool was a really nice bonus as the beach out front is rocky, it was a great place for an dip as the water is warm and crystal clear. The hotel is located right across the street to the trail taking you to the waterfalls, and is a short walk along the dirt road into town. The staff at Amor de Mar were truly amazing! They were so friendly, helpful and welcoming! Although we only had breakfast, the food was awesome!! We totally would recommend Amor de Mar and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 4 for one of the nights and it was amazing, had a beautiful view of the gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My partner and I have been visiting Montezuma for 12 years and have just returned home from our tenth stay at Amor de Mar.

The first thing that struck me was how immaculately clean and well cared for it was. The next was the gardens, the warm and knowledgeable staff and the quiet afternoons that could be whiled away swinging in a hammock between the river and the ocean where there is so much natural beauty that sometimes it's difficult to focus on your book. It's easy to spend time there and watch the pelicans, magpie jays, frigate birds and vultures soaring overhead....or hold your breath while the ctenausaur stealth across the luscious green lawn. (Good thing they eat flowers and are more afraid of you than you are of them).The lawn is a rare site in this country outside of a corporate resort as the lawn and gardens are lovingly attended and cared for constantly. If you're lucky you will find some of the flowers that grow there in your room.

Over the years the improvements have been piling up and they just recently renovated the bathrooms in every suite of the hotel. As many environmentally aware elements that can be addressed have been including; on demand hot water, organic septic treatment, refillable water, as well as options to use your linens more than once if you like.

The tiny cafe has delicious healthy food that is prepared on site along with homemade fresh bread daily. They now offer a few tasty lunch items as well until 2:00 pm. I always look forward to Sunday mornings and the buffet that allows you to sample nearly everything on the breakfast menu including, gallo pinto, fresh bread, Monteverde cheese, delicious salsas, a stunning array of local jams and jellies, fresh fruit, freshly made juices, coffee tea and eggs of your choice should you choose.

The view of the ocean or of the lush riverside is spectacular and waiting for you.

We consider this a home away from home.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms provide more ocean breeze if you're not into AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

The owners were really caring and made sure everything was great. The rooms facing the ocean have a terrificly wonderful view, many with private balcony. The rooms facing the road can get a little bit loud with the odd motorcycle going by. The grounds are fantastic, pretty gardens with lots of shade trees and hammocks beside the ocean. The breakfast looked nice, but it's extra so we did our own little picnic on our private balcony instead.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Amor de mar is an amazing place, the grounds are stunning the sunrise is perfect. I love the fact there's hammocks and chairs thru out the property and a beautiful river that runs into the ocean which can be quite refreshing. extremely clean and unique in its style. They really put effort into having the feel of being one with your surroundings. Its truly a nice 5 minute walk from town and to be honest its the perfect place to give you that balance, it doesn't get any better from getting to the waterfall, its right in front of the path just across the street. If you want to be close to the ocean, river, waterfall with the best grounds in Montezuma. than there is no point in trying to find another place save the grief. Most of the other beautiful spots are up into the hills and trust me there all a good a hike, do the hike once and you'll know, one thing is if you have a ride (4 wheeler or car) than you may want to check out some cool spots up in the hills, I stayed in room #9 and it was perfect. I had my own porch with tropical gardens surrounding, two lounge chairs a table and a hammock chair.

Pura Vida

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONG ISLAND,NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I wrote this before but it did not show up,that is why it appears so late.
This is one of the finest pension style hotels we have stayed in so far (of all vacations,Europe,South America etc..). We stayed for 16 glorious nights through the Christmas holiday. Two different rooms,one downstairs and one up. Both fantastic.
The wildlife around the hotel is wonderful,monkeys,iguanas,birds,rooster and the resident dogs. HELLO CELINE!!!!!
The grounds are immaculate and embrace everything that is true of Costa Rica. The design and running of the hotel is to be honored. They have adopted an obligation to the environment,the community. This is all very evident in the ecologically sound practices that you can see every day. Right down to being able to refill your water bottles,with filtered water (for a minimal charge) to help save on the plastic usage and trash issues. All the rooms have art from local artisans and the food is all from local distributers.
The exteremely happy staff and the great reputation speaks volumes on the community efforts. This is a boutique pesion hotel on the edge of the jungle in Costa Rical,not a luxury all-inclusive resort or a hostel. I have read other reviews that were negative and can honestly say that those travellers did not know where they were or what this place is all about. It is in the heart of rural Central American paradise. The ocean in the back,swimming hole to the right and the jungle out front......HEAVEN!!!!!
I am from New York and the Best Western a few miles away is $139.00 a night and it looks over a parking lot and a shopping center. If you want an oceanview by me......I go east 2 miles and pay 400.00 a night. So I was super happy with my bill when we checked out. It was a bargain by my standards.
Our experience was outstanding,we were comfortable and safe. We had an excellent holiday and want to thank Amor de mar for making that possible. (Bring comfortable shoes and a spritz of bug spray...be sensible...its the edge of the jungle!!!)
If you are in Montezuma...don't miss this place...if there are no rooms,have breakfast or lunch...the food,service and atmosphere is great!!!!! Brunch on Sundays ROCKS!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We recently spent six nights at Amor de Mar – it was a spectacular finale to our time in Costa Rica. Undoubtedly, Amor de Mar is the best value in Montezuma. It offers beautiful, landscaped grounds complete with hammocks and cozy lawn furniture. The room was clean, comfortable, and stunning thanks to the beautiful wood finishes, unique light fixtures, and stunning ocean view – and the bathroom had been freshly remodeled (it was the nicest bathroom of our trip – no question).

The staff was top-notch and eager to help us plan activities, to make sure we made the most of our time in Costa Rica. Ammi and Carla were especially helpful – even talking Zuma Tours into picking us up at our hotel on our departure day, so we didn’t have to drag our luggage into town. We supremely enjoyed our massages by Barbara. If you’re looking to relax be sure to book a massage with her, and you’ll be treated to a cozy massage “cove” under the palm trees, next to the beach. It doesn’t get much better than that.

O, and the breakfast! We had breakfast at the hotel every morning, enjoying a wonderful, organic feast each day – homemade bread with peanut butter and banana, huevos rancheros with gallo pinto, fresh fruit plates and smoothies. They have a fabulous brunch buffet on Sundays. If you’re looking for a memorable trip to Montezuma, please be sure to stay at Amor de Mar – you will have a sensational experience! (And be sure to take a dip in the tide pool!)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amor de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amor de Mar

Address: Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amor de Mar is located on the Pacific Ocean next to the river in Montezuma. Planted in a natural paradise, a few miles from the Cabo Blanco National Park. Our hotel offers 9 cozy and individually styled rooms and two beach villas, Casa Luna and Casa Sol, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. All the rooms have A/C, private bathroom with hot water and a some rooms have a mini fridge. The beach villas are fully equipped but NOT A/C. All the rooms and beach villas have a safe deposit box and WiFi is available in the hotel property. The hotel is within a five minute walk from the picturesque beach town of Montezuma at the tip of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica, Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Amor de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amor De Mar Puntarenas
Amor De Mar Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amor de Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.