We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amor de Mar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Amor de Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Amor de Mar
Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Garden oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My partner and I have been visiting Montezuma for 12 years and have just returned home from our tenth stay at Amor de Mar.

The first thing that struck me was how immaculately clean and well cared for it was. The next was the gardens, the warm and knowledgeable staff and the quiet afternoons that could be whiled away swinging in a hammock between the river and the ocean where there is so much natural beauty that sometimes it's difficult to focus on your book. It's easy to spend time there and watch the pelicans, magpie jays, frigate birds and vultures soaring overhead....or hold your breath while the ctenausaur stealth across the luscious green lawn. (Good thing they eat flowers and are more afraid of you than you are of them).The lawn is a rare site in this country outside of a corporate resort as the lawn and gardens are lovingly attended and cared for constantly. If you're lucky you will find some of the flowers that grow there in your room.

Over the years the improvements have been piling up and they just recently renovated the bathrooms in every suite of the hotel. As many environmentally aware elements that can be addressed have been including; on demand hot water, organic septic treatment, refillable water, as well as options to use your linens more than once if you like.

The tiny cafe has delicious healthy food that is prepared on site along with homemade fresh bread daily. They now offer a few tasty lunch items as well until 2:00 pm. I always look forward to Sunday mornings and the buffet that allows you to sample nearly everything on the breakfast menu including, gallo pinto, fresh bread, Monteverde cheese, delicious salsas, a stunning array of local jams and jellies, fresh fruit, freshly made juices, coffee tea and eggs of your choice should you choose.

The view of the ocean or of the lush riverside is spectacular and waiting for you.

We consider this a home away from home.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms provide more ocean breeze if you're not into AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    63
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
31
136
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

The owners were really caring and made sure everything was great. The rooms facing the ocean have a terrificly wonderful view, many with private balcony. The rooms facing the road can get a little bit loud with the odd motorcycle going by. The grounds are fantastic, pretty gardens with lots of shade trees and hammocks beside the ocean. The breakfast looked nice, but it's extra so we did our own little picnic on our private balcony instead.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Amor de mar is an amazing place, the grounds are stunning the sunrise is perfect. I love the fact there's hammocks and chairs thru out the property and a beautiful river that runs into the ocean which can be quite refreshing. extremely clean and unique in its style. They really put effort into having the feel of being one with your surroundings. Its truly a nice 5 minute walk from town and to be honest its the perfect place to give you that balance, it doesn't get any better from getting to the waterfall, its right in front of the path just across the street. If you want to be close to the ocean, river, waterfall with the best grounds in Montezuma. than there is no point in trying to find another place save the grief. Most of the other beautiful spots are up into the hills and trust me there all a good a hike, do the hike once and you'll know, one thing is if you have a ride (4 wheeler or car) than you may want to check out some cool spots up in the hills, I stayed in room #9 and it was perfect. I had my own porch with tropical gardens surrounding, two lounge chairs a table and a hammock chair.

Pura Vida

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONG ISLAND,NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I wrote this before but it did not show up,that is why it appears so late.
This is one of the finest pension style hotels we have stayed in so far (of all vacations,Europe,South America etc..). We stayed for 16 glorious nights through the Christmas holiday. Two different rooms,one downstairs and one up. Both fantastic.
The wildlife around the hotel is wonderful,monkeys,iguanas,birds,rooster and the resident dogs. HELLO CELINE!!!!!
The grounds are immaculate and embrace everything that is true of Costa Rica. The design and running of the hotel is to be honored. They have adopted an obligation to the environment,the community. This is all very evident in the ecologically sound practices that you can see every day. Right down to being able to refill your water bottles,with filtered water (for a minimal charge) to help save on the plastic usage and trash issues. All the rooms have art from local artisans and the food is all from local distributers.
The exteremely happy staff and the great reputation speaks volumes on the community efforts. This is a boutique pesion hotel on the edge of the jungle in Costa Rical,not a luxury all-inclusive resort or a hostel. I have read other reviews that were negative and can honestly say that those travellers did not know where they were or what this place is all about. It is in the heart of rural Central American paradise. The ocean in the back,swimming hole to the right and the jungle out front......HEAVEN!!!!!
I am from New York and the Best Western a few miles away is $139.00 a night and it looks over a parking lot and a shopping center. If you want an oceanview by me......I go east 2 miles and pay 400.00 a night. So I was super happy with my bill when we checked out. It was a bargain by my standards.
Our experience was outstanding,we were comfortable and safe. We had an excellent holiday and want to thank Amor de mar for making that possible. (Bring comfortable shoes and a spritz of bug spray...be sensible...its the edge of the jungle!!!)
If you are in Montezuma...don't miss this place...if there are no rooms,have breakfast or lunch...the food,service and atmosphere is great!!!!! Brunch on Sundays ROCKS!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We recently spent six nights at Amor de Mar – it was a spectacular finale to our time in Costa Rica. Undoubtedly, Amor de Mar is the best value in Montezuma. It offers beautiful, landscaped grounds complete with hammocks and cozy lawn furniture. The room was clean, comfortable, and stunning thanks to the beautiful wood finishes, unique light fixtures, and stunning ocean view – and the bathroom had been freshly remodeled (it was the nicest bathroom of our trip – no question).

The staff was top-notch and eager to help us plan activities, to make sure we made the most of our time in Costa Rica. Ammi and Carla were especially helpful – even talking Zuma Tours into picking us up at our hotel on our departure day, so we didn’t have to drag our luggage into town. We supremely enjoyed our massages by Barbara. If you’re looking to relax be sure to book a massage with her, and you’ll be treated to a cozy massage “cove” under the palm trees, next to the beach. It doesn’t get much better than that.

O, and the breakfast! We had breakfast at the hotel every morning, enjoying a wonderful, organic feast each day – homemade bread with peanut butter and banana, huevos rancheros with gallo pinto, fresh fruit plates and smoothies. They have a fabulous brunch buffet on Sundays. If you’re looking for a memorable trip to Montezuma, please be sure to stay at Amor de Mar – you will have a sensational experience! (And be sure to take a dip in the tide pool!)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The moment we entered the reception area at the Amor de Mar, we felt like exclaiming "This is what we came all the way down here for". A green lawn streches to to the palm tree fringed shore and dotted with hammocks and sling chairs.Photography alone can not give this vista justice. We booked the highly recommended Room 5 on the second floor, which enjoys a corner balcony. A great place to sit and savor the sound of the crashing surf. The rooms are air conditioned, which I thought we would not need but believe me-you do. Be advised that the ADM does NOT have a beach in front, just volcanic rock.. However, it does have a tide pool that functions as a very unique and refreshing swimming area. The town of Montezuma lies a comfortable 10 minute walk away north along the road. Karla and Ammi are gracious, hands on hosts and full of useful advice that helped guide us through this rather eccentric part of the country. They serve breakfast and lunch on the premises, and the breakfast we ate there was top notch. The wi-fi worked reasonably well. After walking by some of the other hotel/guesthouses around the town, we are more than satisfied that we made Montezuma's very best lodging choice.

Room Tip: Room 5...Room 5...Room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Amor de Mar is really a little piece of paradise. All the time we stayed there, we felt that we were visiting some good friend's house. The setting is outstanding, the decor tastefully done with every little detail to ensure a pleasant and comfortable stay. The staff treat you like family or friends and not once did we feel that we were 'paying guests'. I just loved the rocks around the lash garden and the sandy beach is only a short walk away, 2-5 minutes. So here one can have the best of all that Montezuma can offer. Can you imagin going to sleep to the sound of the waves and waking up to the sound of the birds I just can't sing the praises enough, even the soft classical music, the flowers on the table, the constant free coffee and water supply and the feeling of security and warmth. Nothing was too much trouble, even when I lost my camera whilst walking back from the waterfall, they sent one of the guys to search 'just in case'....Amor de Mar, I can't thank you enough for the great time we had with you and wish you with all our heart good luck in the future and we shall return, hopefully in the not too far future. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms facing the sea...what a view.............
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amor de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amor de Mar

Address: Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amor de Mar is located on the Pacific Ocean next to the river in Montezuma. Planted in a natural paradise, a few miles from the Cabo Blanco National Park. Our hotel offers 9 cozy and individually styled rooms and two beach villas, Casa Luna and Casa Sol, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. All the rooms have A/C, private bathroom with hot water and a mini fridge. The beach villas are fully equipped but NOT A/C. All the rooms and beach villas have a safe deposit box and WiFi is available in the hotel property. The hotel is within a five minute walk from the picturesque beach town of Montezuma at the tip of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica, Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Amor de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amor De Mar Puntarenas
Amor De Mar Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amor de Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.