We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Montezuma!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amor de Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hotel Amor de Mar to your Saves list
Hotel Amor de Mar
Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Tacoma, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Montezuma!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We recently spent six nights at Amor de Mar – it was a spectacular finale to our time in Costa Rica. Undoubtedly, Amor de Mar is the best value in Montezuma. It offers beautiful, landscaped grounds complete with hammocks and cozy lawn furniture. The room was clean, comfortable, and stunning thanks to the beautiful wood finishes, unique light fixtures, and stunning ocean view – and the bathroom had been freshly remodeled (it was the nicest bathroom of our trip – no question).

The staff was top-notch and eager to help us plan activities, to make sure we made the most of our time in Costa Rica. Ammi and Carla were especially helpful – even talking Zuma Tours into picking us up at our hotel on our departure day, so we didn’t have to drag our luggage into town. We supremely enjoyed our massages by Barbara. If you’re looking to relax be sure to book a massage with her, and you’ll be treated to a cozy massage “cove” under the palm trees, next to the beach. It doesn’t get much better than that.

O, and the breakfast! We had breakfast at the hotel every morning, enjoying a wonderful, organic feast each day – homemade bread with peanut butter and banana, huevos rancheros with gallo pinto, fresh fruit plates and smoothies. They have a fabulous brunch buffet on Sundays. If you’re looking for a memorable trip to Montezuma, please be sure to stay at Amor de Mar – you will have a sensational experience! (And be sure to take a dip in the tide pool!)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    64
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
31
138
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Milford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The moment we entered the reception area at the Amor de Mar, we felt like exclaiming "This is what we came all the way down here for". A green lawn streches to to the palm tree fringed shore and dotted with hammocks and sling chairs.Photography alone can not give this vista justice. We booked the highly recommended Room 5 on the second floor, which enjoys a corner balcony. A great place to sit and savor the sound of the crashing surf. The rooms are air conditioned, which I thought we would not need but believe me-you do. Be advised that the ADM does NOT have a beach in front, just volcanic rock.. However, it does have a tide pool that functions as a very unique and refreshing swimming area. The town of Montezuma lies a comfortable 10 minute walk away north along the road. Karla and Ammi are gracious, hands on hosts and full of useful advice that helped guide us through this rather eccentric part of the country. They serve breakfast and lunch on the premises, and the breakfast we ate there was top notch. The wi-fi worked reasonably well. After walking by some of the other hotel/guesthouses around the town, we are more than satisfied that we made Montezuma's very best lodging choice.

Room Tip: Room 5...Room 5...Room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Amor de Mar is really a little piece of paradise. All the time we stayed there, we felt that we were visiting some good friend's house. The setting is outstanding, the decor tastefully done with every little detail to ensure a pleasant and comfortable stay. The staff treat you like family or friends and not once did we feel that we were 'paying guests'. I just loved the rocks around the lash garden and the sandy beach is only a short walk away, 2-5 minutes. So here one can have the best of all that Montezuma can offer. Can you imagin going to sleep to the sound of the waves and waking up to the sound of the birds I just can't sing the praises enough, even the soft classical music, the flowers on the table, the constant free coffee and water supply and the feeling of security and warmth. Nothing was too much trouble, even when I lost my camera whilst walking back from the waterfall, they sent one of the guys to search 'just in case'....Amor de Mar, I can't thank you enough for the great time we had with you and wish you with all our heart good luck in the future and we shall return, hopefully in the not too far future. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms facing the sea...what a view.............
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We ended our two week tour of Costa Rica with a stay at Amor de Mar. Our only regret is that we had planned for more time there. Originally, we had booked a two night stay at Amor de Mar but, after seeing our room and the grounds, we ended up canceling our last night's accommodations in San Jose and extended our stay in Montezuma for a total of three nights.

The owners and staff obviously take great pride in caring for the place. We stayed in room 8, situated on the first floor, and had a beautiful view looking out onto the lawn and over to the stream. The room was well appointed and newly refinished with clean bedding, A/C, fan, and even tasteful tapestries on the wall. The bathroom was also very nicely and newly refurbished. Our room led out to the main patio and also had a sitting area from where we could read and lounge in the afternoon heat. The only slightly pesky part was that there were some people staying in the room above us, one of which was a particularly flat-footed walker who liked to pace his room into the fee hours of the morning. A few taps on the ceiling the first night took care of the issue and we had no problems after that. If you are easily disturbed by noises, I'd recommend a second story room but this is no reason to avoid this place.

The main patio leads out to an expansive and well-maintained lawn with about ten hammocks and an assortment of lawn chairs. It is definitely set for relaxation. The lawn then leads out to the rocky beach. There is a small area of the beach that is sandy and was great for playing and building sandcastles with my young daughter. We also took advantage of the stream and pools that run along the side of the property.

The hotel is about a five minute walk to the main part of town and a great assortment of restaurants. But, we made good use of Amor de Mar's facilities by eating breakfast there each day. They have wonderful crepes and homemade bread and jam as well as fresh squeezed juices.

I would recommend this place in a heartbeat. The staff were super helpful in arranging transportation needs for us, recommending restaurants, and even helping us find some out-of-the-way activities to explore.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

After visiting several of the hotels available in Montezuma, my posse and I settled into Amor de Mar. Since there were no regular rooms available at the hotel, we ended up staying in the tree house, which was completely spontaneous and an excellent surprise. Most of my review is based on Amor de Mar exceeding my expectations on several occasions.

The Good:
The customer service was incredible. Upon arrival, the front desk was quick to do everything they could to get us to stay – not with a sales pitch, but with making every effort to accommodate the weary travelers that we were. Once guests, they always were quick and enthusiastic to help.

The tree house was spacious and close to the beach. The house had two levels holding a total of four beds, a kitchen and a shower that was open up at the roof line. The second level could also be opened up completely to the shoreline and offered great views of the ocean. It was great just hanging around up there.

24 hour security. I would describe Montezuma as somewhat of a gypsy town. Inside the town there were quite a few people that I would call wanderers. In any case, it was nice to have security walking around all night, just in case. Also, the house dog didn’t take b.s. from any one. He was tough as hell - missing an eye and ate nails for breakfast. It was very nice to have him our side.

The Bad:
You have to pay for breakfast. I typically just like to have a few things to pick up for free as I run out the door, but you don’t get that here. You have to sit down and pay for a meal. Its average price but good and there is the same view of the ocean. And free refills on coffee.

There are only a few parking spots out front for your car. We didn’t have a problem getting one every night, but I noticed a few people had to park on the dimly lit street.

Overall, this place was fantastic and I would not hesitate to book them again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My friends and I rented out the casa de sol house and it was gorgeous. Definitely the priciest place we stayed in costa rica but the house and grounds were amazing. You are situated about ten mins walk from town which is perfect. When your done in town you are glad to be walking away from the loud music and not having it blaring in your ear in the middle of the night. The hotel is right across from one of the great waterfalls of montezuma. Just a fifteen or twenty minute hike and you are there. The staff was really great and answered all questions. The hammocks strung around the property make you never want to leave the grounds!! Was just a great spot and hotel! THe photos are of the house we stayed. There is no AC but they have fans strategically placed around the room! Would for sure stay here again!

Fyi the beach you want to go to is right past town about ten minute walk away. The beach in front of the hotel is kind of rocky but gorgeous.

Room Tip: casa del sol is a great choice but no ac. Fans placed everywhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We spent 16 delightful days here in January, 2013, mostly in room #5, which deserves all the accolades it receives. The room has a great view from the porch and a wonderful cross draft during the day. Rooms #4 and #7 have been renovated since our visit in 2011 and are good for those who need more space.

We enjoyed walking to town along the road and/or the beach; we enjoyed the wonderful convenience of the nearby waterfall and cascades for picnics. For $2, the guy across the road will machete open a coconut for you to drink, then carve out the meat.

Crashing waves on rocks, blue sky, a mild breeze, and a warm sun often led us out onto the grounds to sit, or lie in a hammock, after the day's outing. Next to the property a stream meanders into the ocean, creating a fresh water pool with a short connection to the beach for a quick salt/fresh water double dip.

While not in the midst of Montezuma, Amor Del Mar is certainly nearby -- you don't need a flashlight to get back from town at night -- without the long walk or ride that Ylang requires. Along the way are some of the restaurants most worth trying as well as an inter-town bus stop.

Ammi, the hostess, bubbles charm and laid back efficiency. The maids warm the day by taking pleasure in their tasks. The hotel -- actually somewhere between a bed and breakfast and a hotel in size and operation -- is full of delightful little surprises, such as the blue jay (officially, a "white-throated magpie jay") that hopped from rafter to chair to floor to reap the peanut I'd dropped, the resplendent, wandering rooster with only a vague sense of when to crow, the quiet but potent AC, the at-cost bottled water refills, the buttery crepes, the bench by the rocks perfectly positioned to look at stars while listening to the oncoming waves, and the waitress who knows local real estate.

If you want something to complain about, I'm sure the dust along the road and noisy ATVs will do.Not a problem for us. Nothing was.

Room Tip: #5 is ideal for a single or couple -- view, porch and draft , #7 is shady, #4 has a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amor de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amor de Mar

Address: Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amor de Mar is located on the Pacific Ocean next to the river in Montezuma. Planted in a natural paradise, a few miles from the Cabo Blanco National Park. Our hotel offers 9 cozy and individually styled rooms and two beach villas, Casa Luna and Casa Sol, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. All the rooms have A/C, private bathroom with hot water and a some rooms have a mini fridge. The beach villas are fully equipped but NOT A/C. All the rooms and beach villas have a safe deposit box and WiFi is available in the hotel property. The hotel is within a five minute walk from the picturesque beach town of Montezuma at the tip of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica, Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Amor de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amor De Mar Puntarenas
Amor De Mar Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amor de Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;