We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amor de Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Amor de Mar to your Saves list
Hotel Amor de Mar
Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

After visiting several of the hotels available in Montezuma, my posse and I settled into Amor de Mar. Since there were no regular rooms available at the hotel, we ended up staying in the tree house, which was completely spontaneous and an excellent surprise. Most of my review is based on Amor de Mar exceeding my expectations on several occasions.

The Good:
The customer service was incredible. Upon arrival, the front desk was quick to do everything they could to get us to stay – not with a sales pitch, but with making every effort to accommodate the weary travelers that we were. Once guests, they always were quick and enthusiastic to help.

The tree house was spacious and close to the beach. The house had two levels holding a total of four beds, a kitchen and a shower that was open up at the roof line. The second level could also be opened up completely to the shoreline and offered great views of the ocean. It was great just hanging around up there.

24 hour security. I would describe Montezuma as somewhat of a gypsy town. Inside the town there were quite a few people that I would call wanderers. In any case, it was nice to have security walking around all night, just in case. Also, the house dog didn’t take b.s. from any one. He was tough as hell - missing an eye and ate nails for breakfast. It was very nice to have him our side.

The Bad:
You have to pay for breakfast. I typically just like to have a few things to pick up for free as I run out the door, but you don’t get that here. You have to sit down and pay for a meal. Its average price but good and there is the same view of the ocean. And free refills on coffee.

There are only a few parking spots out front for your car. We didn’t have a problem getting one every night, but I noticed a few people had to park on the dimly lit street.

Overall, this place was fantastic and I would not hesitate to book them again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    65
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
32
143
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My friends and I rented out the casa de sol house and it was gorgeous. Definitely the priciest place we stayed in costa rica but the house and grounds were amazing. You are situated about ten mins walk from town which is perfect. When your done in town you are glad to be walking away from the loud music and not having it blaring in your ear in the middle of the night. The hotel is right across from one of the great waterfalls of montezuma. Just a fifteen or twenty minute hike and you are there. The staff was really great and answered all questions. The hammocks strung around the property make you never want to leave the grounds!! Was just a great spot and hotel! THe photos are of the house we stayed. There is no AC but they have fans strategically placed around the room! Would for sure stay here again!

Fyi the beach you want to go to is right past town about ten minute walk away. The beach in front of the hotel is kind of rocky but gorgeous.

Room Tip: casa del sol is a great choice but no ac. Fans placed everywhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We spent 16 delightful days here in January, 2013, mostly in room #5, which deserves all the accolades it receives. The room has a great view from the porch and a wonderful cross draft during the day. Rooms #4 and #7 have been renovated since our visit in 2011 and are good for those who need more space.

We enjoyed walking to town along the road and/or the beach; we enjoyed the wonderful convenience of the nearby waterfall and cascades for picnics. For $2, the guy across the road will machete open a coconut for you to drink, then carve out the meat.

Crashing waves on rocks, blue sky, a mild breeze, and a warm sun often led us out onto the grounds to sit, or lie in a hammock, after the day's outing. Next to the property a stream meanders into the ocean, creating a fresh water pool with a short connection to the beach for a quick salt/fresh water double dip.

While not in the midst of Montezuma, Amor Del Mar is certainly nearby -- you don't need a flashlight to get back from town at night -- without the long walk or ride that Ylang requires. Along the way are some of the restaurants most worth trying as well as an inter-town bus stop.

Ammi, the hostess, bubbles charm and laid back efficiency. The maids warm the day by taking pleasure in their tasks. The hotel -- actually somewhere between a bed and breakfast and a hotel in size and operation -- is full of delightful little surprises, such as the blue jay (officially, a "white-throated magpie jay") that hopped from rafter to chair to floor to reap the peanut I'd dropped, the resplendent, wandering rooster with only a vague sense of when to crow, the quiet but potent AC, the at-cost bottled water refills, the buttery crepes, the bench by the rocks perfectly positioned to look at stars while listening to the oncoming waves, and the waitress who knows local real estate.

If you want something to complain about, I'm sure the dust along the road and noisy ATVs will do.Not a problem for us. Nothing was.

Room Tip: #5 is ideal for a single or couple -- view, porch and draft , #7 is shady, #4 has a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

One of the nicest hotels I have ever seen! The staff was really friendly and helpful and the atmosphere was asolutely perfect. The rooms were nice and clean, the hotel garden wonderful (I loved their hammocks!).

The hotel don't have a swimming pool, but a really nice tide pool instead.

Also the breakfast was really good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The grounds for this hotel are truly beautiful, and the bungalow we stayed in (Casa Luna) had a quirky charm. But staying over Xmas, we were charged nearly $400 for a place that had several major flaws. Chief among them were the mosquitoes. I passed the worst night of my trip eaten alive because the mosquito nets above the beds did not have clips to seal the area (bitten on the eyes, lips, and every other part of my body). You will need nets. After complaining, they gave us the nets and a 70$ reduction (but it turned out at the end, only for the first night). Moreover, the bungalow is not as large as they make out: it has three super-tiny rooms with a/c, but upstairs, the master bedroom is also a living room, and has no functioning windows. This means that mosquitoes, bats, and other creatures can come in freely. It also means that there is no security against theft from adjoining bungalows. Somebody could simply walk from his or her roof to yours unimpeded. They left a mattress tipped on one side, which we had to ask them to remove. Yes the staff is nice, but this place is charging rates for a place that does not deserve such prices. If you are fussy (like some members of my family), stay away!

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms (not the bungalows) have screens on the window (so they told me).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmorDeMar, Owner at Hotel Amor de Mar, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for your response. We are really sorry that you had such a difficult night with mosquitos at our Hotel. We did definitely take responsibility for the fact that there were not enough clips to close the net properly. That oversight got taken care of immediately and according to your own response you were fine the rest of the time. For that reason we gave you a discount of $70 for the first night plus a free breakfast for 4 people the next morning.
Regarding the security of the upstairs room, we'd like to point out that the windows have wooden shutters and can be closed up. However we have never found it necessary to guard against theft from our own guests. This is an intimate and trusting environment.

Kind regards,
Ori Braun
owner of Amor de Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I have been visiting Montezuma, Costa Rica every year for more than a decade, and I have always enjoyed staying at Amor de Mar. The grounds and view are magnificent, the hotel is charming and comfortable, and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Recently, Ori (the owner) has made some major improvements, and rooms now have air conditioning and new bathrooms. They've even added a new mascot: Solin, the One-Eyed Wonder Dog.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

I will start off by saying, this hotel and it's grounds are VERY beautiful. They have a nice open lobby area that you can sit at whenever you want. But, don't be confused this hotel is on the beach but not a swimming beach. The hotel is surrounded by large rocks, so if you want to swim or just sit on the beach, you have to go down the street. Also, the service was not good at all. I (female) was traveling alone with my two younger daughters. When we got to Costa Rica, we found that our phone did not work! We needed to call tech support, so we asked the caucasian lady with blonde hair if we could use their phone to call the USA for help with our phone. She said no, we even offered to pay and they still refused. This was a safety hazard for us and they did nothing to help.
Also, they charged us for just plain water. every. Single. Time.
Also, water pressure is terrible and sink did not dispense hot water.
In addition to that, the hotel was very noisy! Not only did a small rooster wake us up every morning but many cars and motorcycles zoomed past us several times throughout the night.
I would not reccomend this hotel.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmorDeMar, Owner at Hotel Amor de Mar, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your response.
We appreciate that you mentioned our beautiful grounds.

In no way however, have we misrepresented the location of the hotel by making it out to be on a swimming beach. We are right on the ocean, and every picture on our website clearly shows the rocks out front and the tide pool. Swimming beaches are within walking distance on either side.

Since we only have one phone in the hotel we only let customers make short domestic calls. Calls to technical support centers can easily take one hour and so we helped you set up a Skype account. You were able to connect to technical service, but they were not able to fix the problem.

We have a water refill station in the lobby with bottled water. We charge one dollar to refill your water bottle instead of selling you a new one for 2.5$. it helps to reduce the amount of plastic trash that is generated. Maybe you were not aware of the fact that the water we are having there is bottled water??

Apart from that we are doing our best to provide a pleasant and relaxing stay for our guests, but not everything is in our control, like increased traffic during the holidays or roosters in the neighborhood.

King regards
Ori Braun
owner of Hotel Amor de Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amor de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amor de Mar

Address: Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amor de Mar is located on the Pacific Ocean next to the river in Montezuma. Planted in a natural paradise, a few miles from the Cabo Blanco National Park. Our hotel offers 9 cozy and individually styled rooms and two beach villas, Casa Luna and Casa Sol, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. All the rooms have A/C, private bathroom with hot water and a some rooms have a mini fridge. The beach villas are fully equipped but NOT A/C. All the rooms and beach villas have a safe deposit box and WiFi is available in the hotel property. The hotel is within a five minute walk from the picturesque beach town of Montezuma at the tip of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica, Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Amor de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amor De Mar Puntarenas
Amor De Mar Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amor de Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.