We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds, BUT” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amor de Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Amor de Mar to your Saves list
Hotel Amor de Mar
Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds, BUT”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

I will start off by saying, this hotel and it's grounds are VERY beautiful. They have a nice open lobby area that you can sit at whenever you want. But, don't be confused this hotel is on the beach but not a swimming beach. The hotel is surrounded by large rocks, so if you want to swim or just sit on the beach, you have to go down the street. Also, the service was not good at all. I (female) was traveling alone with my two younger daughters. When we got to Costa Rica, we found that our phone did not work! We needed to call tech support, so we asked the caucasian lady with blonde hair if we could use their phone to call the USA for help with our phone. She said no, we even offered to pay and they still refused. This was a safety hazard for us and they did nothing to help.
Also, they charged us for just plain water. every. Single. Time.
Also, water pressure is terrible and sink did not dispense hot water.
In addition to that, the hotel was very noisy! Not only did a small rooster wake us up every morning but many cars and motorcycles zoomed past us several times throughout the night.
I would not reccomend this hotel.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmorDeMar, Owner at Hotel Amor de Mar, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your response.
We appreciate that you mentioned our beautiful grounds.

In no way however, have we misrepresented the location of the hotel by making it out to be on a swimming beach. We are right on the ocean, and every picture on our website clearly shows the rocks out front and the tide pool. Swimming beaches are within walking distance on either side.

Since we only have one phone in the hotel we only let customers make short domestic calls. Calls to technical support centers can easily take one hour and so we helped you set up a Skype account. You were able to connect to technical service, but they were not able to fix the problem.

We have a water refill station in the lobby with bottled water. We charge one dollar to refill your water bottle instead of selling you a new one for 2.5$. it helps to reduce the amount of plastic trash that is generated. Maybe you were not aware of the fact that the water we are having there is bottled water??

Apart from that we are doing our best to provide a pleasant and relaxing stay for our guests, but not everything is in our control, like increased traffic during the holidays or roosters in the neighborhood.

King regards
Ori Braun
owner of Hotel Amor de Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    65
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
32
143
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

What a beautiful place!!! Hotel Amor de Mar on the edge of this small, but quaint town of Montezuma is the place to stay. My wife and I spent 6 nights in this small boutique property, catered to by Ori and her staff of so many. Arturo the amazing bread maker and chef, Ammi the delightful and charming hostess with the biggest smile and overflowing personality , Silvia, Sandy and Coela the front desk staff who were always helpful with suggestions and arranging taxis, yoga sessions, etc.. We awoke each morning to an amazing and different sunrise from our room on the second floor. And since we are early risers, the aroma of the local coffee permeated upwards, and was always ready when we awoke. The smell of Arturo working in the small kitchen, preparing his daily breads was truly a special experience. The late afternoons of relaxing in the many hammocks on the lawn facing the tidepool jetty was extra special. We loved this property, this great experience and would highly recommend to anyone visiting the Nicoya Peninsula of Costa Rica. The owners take great pride in making sure their guests have an amazing stay. Muchas Gracias a Ori and her fantastic staff for making us feel so welcome and well cared for....We loved this little jem of a property.

Room Tip: Room 4 with an amazing balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Montezuma Costa Rica is off the beaten path. That is not to say that there are not people who have taken this path just it is off the beaten patch. Nice small town with the usual pizza place, a few bars, a few restaurants, and the market. And of course the usual T-shirt / dress shop.

Hotel Amor de Mar is one reason to come to Montezuma. The pictures on hte web site do not do the place justice. It is better than the pictures. The reviews we read were on target. We stayed in Room #5 the most romantic room per the reviews. Well the reviews did not really tell the entire story. The room is more than romantic. It is on a second story, through a private locked door, to your balcony. Two very comfortable chairs, candle lights on the table, and a very beautiful view right on the sea is waiting for you at all times. The room is comfortable, all in a warm wood, comfortable bed, nice furnishings, and the required refrigerator (in Costa Rica)..

We were greeded by Ammi who made us feel welcome before we even checked in. Then showed us to our room and pointed out that the balcony was ours to enjoy for our visit. Then gave us some general directions and how to get the to market. We took a short walk into town (maybe 1/4 mile or so) found a pizza resturant and had a pizza/beer over looking the beach and the waves. Then to the market for some supplies, waters, tea, beer, etc.. And back to our room.

The next morning we realized that our room faced to the east and it was so nice to have the sun, waves, and birds as our wake up call. No TV, NO Phone. We headed down stairs for a delightful breakfast with of course the fruit plate, but fresh homemade real bread. WOW. Great breakfasts every morning on the porch, with the sounds of the waves and birds.

I needed to take a walk to the National Park down the road, so my wife said she would just kick back do some reading, and local exploring around the hotel. A few hours later and I was ready for a beer and a cool off. Oh did I forget to day that the river next to the hotel is a spring fed river that has a nice sandy bottom and nice rocks to sit on? Oh well, another reason to stay at this hotel. We sat in the river every night to enjoy our evening cocktails before dinner, this is one feature of hotel I want to have next to my next house.

Dinners at the local Movie / Restaurant / Sports bar were really very good. See additional reviews.

The next day it was time to do something different. So I decided to walk up the river beside the hotel to a set of waterfalls. This is not a casual trip. I recommend that you hire Carlos, just ask the guy on the bridge or in the small house on the parking lot infront of the hotel. Carlos is a very skilled guide and a naturalist which made the trip even mover fun. Yes we picked up trash on the way up to the water falls, and Carlos has a place for this trash that he carries out weekly. The first falls you can get to but it is a little bit trickly, I would rate a 3 or so difficulty, more slick and the trail is not clear than anything. WOW the ffirst falls is super. Then he asked if I was ready to go up to the next falls. Now do not do this without a guide at least the first time. Crazy walk that in rainy season would be out of the question. We stopped at one of the springs that feeds the town of Montezuma to have a fresh drink of sping water using a leaf to catch the water. Another WOW moment... the water is so fresh. Then up the trail and across. We arrived at the second falls. A small group of people were here swiming and jumping in the water and checking out a rope swing. Really clear cool water that was very enjoyable. Then you swim across the "pool' and climb out the other side and climb up the the third water fall. WOW again.

Now am I writing a hotel review or a water fall review. Hotel, this is why you stay at this hotel.

My bottom line is that we want to come again.

Update - some minor finishing construction was taking place while we were at the hotel. This is now finished. Room #5 will be upgraded by the next season which will make it even better. Frankly Ori, the owner, is working with a group of craftsmen to really make all of the rooms much much better. IF we have a concern is can we afford the upgraded hotel?

Also there are several "houses" that are next to the hotel that are for short term rent. These really are nice. If I were taking my family I would rent one of the houses.

Also ask Carlos to take you out to eat at some of the local sodas and beach places. The best food in a soda was in Montezuma.

Room Tip: I would call and talk to the people in hotel. Ammi and Ori are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

It’s hard to put into words what a magical experience Amor De Mar creates for all its guests. Amor de Mar is everything you can ask for and more. Its surroundings have an enchanting allure. We had a chance to stay in the "Casa Sol Beach House". The house is located overlooking a lush green lawn overflowing with palm trees and a floral tropical paradise with the ocean at its feet. The downstairs includes a full size kitchen, a few extra-large day couches and a full size bathroom with hot water. When you climb the handcrafted wood staircase it opens to a beautiful open air bedroom with a canopy bed. There is another full size bed upstairs and plenty of space to relax. The 220 degree view balcony upstairs draws you outside where you can choose from a hammock, hand crafted chairs, or a relaxing day bed to take in the breathtaking view of the grounds. It’s easy to want to just stay in the hammock all day and listen to the sound of the ocean as it breaks on the volcanic rocks over the tide pools outside. The mouthwatering breakfasts at Amor De Mar are incomparable. Homemade breads and local jams and marmalades are a must! Above all, the Amor De Mar team does everything to create this unforgettable experience for all its guests. They go above and beyond to ensure everyone is pleased with all aspects of their stay. If you have a chance to stop through the enchanting town of Montezuma, don’t pass up Amor De Mar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Traveled to Montezuma on a Chemistry trip with classmates. Our stay at the Hotel Amor de Mar was wonderful! We stayed in Casa Luna beach house and occupied 3 hotel rooms as well. The rooms were unique, offered great views, and were very well kept. I occasionally found lizards in the beach house, but this was expected since we kept the windows open all day. The hotel staff was very friendly and hospitable, even taking the time to join me for breakfast. Speaking of which, the food was delicious (try the crepes and honey). Since I was traveling between the bars/restaurants and hotel at night, it was nice to have the security guard manning the hotel entrance upon our return. He would even keep our keys at the desk so we didn't lose them while dancing the night away in town.

The location of the hotel is a sight to be seen! Amor de Mar is right on the coast, just a short walk to breathtaking waterfalls, and a 5-10 minute walk to Montezuma for food, shopping, and nightlife (I highly recommend reggae night at the local bars). Also, as most of the reviews say, there are hammocks galore on the property! Great for an afternoon snooze or reading a book. Unlike other places I stayed in Costa Rica, I felt completely safe at this hotel - day and night.

Only word of caution: At the waterfalls, keep an eye on your personal belongings especially if you're swimming.

Favorite thing about Amor de Mar: The work of local artists is displayed throughout the hotel! From your room keys, to the restaurant menus... it adds a nice touch.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with family or a group, definitely book the Casa Luna! Plenty of beds and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Located directly in front of the ocean, this hotel is by far the best we've stayed in Costa Rica.
EVERYTHING is very well kept and clean. We loved our house ( LUNA ) and the amazing location * 5 min walk from downtown, grocery store, local beaches etc * Do not hesitate to book this place !!
Yannick

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We were honeymooning in Montezuma for the majority of our trip and had a private beach front paradise when we stayed in the Casa de Sol. This structure is utterly AMAZING - circular, open air, made of old style wood, porches galore with hammocks, breathtaking views, privacy, and fine touches to decor made for a cozy environment. You could hear the sounds of the ocean from our place and if our place was not cozy enough (which it was!!!) then the grounds around Casa de Sol were open and inviting - hammocks strewn everywhere, soft grass on your bare feet (but watch out for dog poo!), and a special tidal pool for a walk out your door dip. The location is amazing - we rented a car but definitely did not need it (unless we did away from town trips). Hotel Amor de Mar is out of town, right by the Montezuma waterfall, but very much so within walking distance of restaurants, grocery, and sandy beach swimming. The staff was very friendly and helpful and gave us some "local" advice. We paid a pretty little penny for this place but it was well worth it. The breakfasts are expensive as well but very delicious. The only other con that we found is that you can hear and smell the sounds of the road - but all the other stuff far outweighed these things.

Room Tip: We did not stay in any of the rooms but the Casa de Sol is PERFECT if you want privacy, a kitchen to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amor de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amor de Mar

Address: Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amor de Mar is located on the Pacific Ocean next to the river in Montezuma. Planted in a natural paradise, a few miles from the Cabo Blanco National Park. Our hotel offers 9 cozy and individually styled rooms and two beach villas, Casa Luna and Casa Sol, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. All the rooms have A/C, private bathroom with hot water and a some rooms have a mini fridge. The beach villas are fully equipped but NOT A/C. All the rooms and beach villas have a safe deposit box and WiFi is available in the hotel property. The hotel is within a five minute walk from the picturesque beach town of Montezuma at the tip of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica, Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Amor de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amor De Mar Puntarenas
Amor De Mar Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amor de Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.