We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Magical Escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amor de Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Amor de Mar to your Saves list
Hotel Amor de Mar
Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
San Clemente, California
1 review
“A Magical Escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

It’s hard to put into words what a magical experience Amor De Mar creates for all its guests. Amor de Mar is everything you can ask for and more. Its surroundings have an enchanting allure. We had a chance to stay in the "Casa Sol Beach House". The house is located overlooking a lush green lawn overflowing with palm trees and a floral tropical paradise with the ocean at its feet. The downstairs includes a full size kitchen, a few extra-large day couches and a full size bathroom with hot water. When you climb the handcrafted wood staircase it opens to a beautiful open air bedroom with a canopy bed. There is another full size bed upstairs and plenty of space to relax. The 220 degree view balcony upstairs draws you outside where you can choose from a hammock, hand crafted chairs, or a relaxing day bed to take in the breathtaking view of the grounds. It’s easy to want to just stay in the hammock all day and listen to the sound of the ocean as it breaks on the volcanic rocks over the tide pools outside. The mouthwatering breakfasts at Amor De Mar are incomparable. Homemade breads and local jams and marmalades are a must! Above all, the Amor De Mar team does everything to create this unforgettable experience for all its guests. They go above and beyond to ensure everyone is pleased with all aspects of their stay. If you have a chance to stop through the enchanting town of Montezuma, don’t pass up Amor De Mar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    69
    22
    8
    6
See reviews for
33
155
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Traveled to Montezuma on a Chemistry trip with classmates. Our stay at the Hotel Amor de Mar was wonderful! We stayed in Casa Luna beach house and occupied 3 hotel rooms as well. The rooms were unique, offered great views, and were very well kept. I occasionally found lizards in the beach house, but this was expected since we kept the windows open all day. The hotel staff was very friendly and hospitable, even taking the time to join me for breakfast. Speaking of which, the food was delicious (try the crepes and honey). Since I was traveling between the bars/restaurants and hotel at night, it was nice to have the security guard manning the hotel entrance upon our return. He would even keep our keys at the desk so we didn't lose them while dancing the night away in town.

The location of the hotel is a sight to be seen! Amor de Mar is right on the coast, just a short walk to breathtaking waterfalls, and a 5-10 minute walk to Montezuma for food, shopping, and nightlife (I highly recommend reggae night at the local bars). Also, as most of the reviews say, there are hammocks galore on the property! Great for an afternoon snooze or reading a book. Unlike other places I stayed in Costa Rica, I felt completely safe at this hotel - day and night.

Only word of caution: At the waterfalls, keep an eye on your personal belongings especially if you're swimming.

Favorite thing about Amor de Mar: The work of local artists is displayed throughout the hotel! From your room keys, to the restaurant menus... it adds a nice touch.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with family or a group, definitely book the Casa Luna! Plenty of beds and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Located directly in front of the ocean, this hotel is by far the best we've stayed in Costa Rica.
EVERYTHING is very well kept and clean. We loved our house ( LUNA ) and the amazing location * 5 min walk from downtown, grocery store, local beaches etc * Do not hesitate to book this place !!
Yannick

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We were honeymooning in Montezuma for the majority of our trip and had a private beach front paradise when we stayed in the Casa de Sol. This structure is utterly AMAZING - circular, open air, made of old style wood, porches galore with hammocks, breathtaking views, privacy, and fine touches to decor made for a cozy environment. You could hear the sounds of the ocean from our place and if our place was not cozy enough (which it was!!!) then the grounds around Casa de Sol were open and inviting - hammocks strewn everywhere, soft grass on your bare feet (but watch out for dog poo!), and a special tidal pool for a walk out your door dip. The location is amazing - we rented a car but definitely did not need it (unless we did away from town trips). Hotel Amor de Mar is out of town, right by the Montezuma waterfall, but very much so within walking distance of restaurants, grocery, and sandy beach swimming. The staff was very friendly and helpful and gave us some "local" advice. We paid a pretty little penny for this place but it was well worth it. The breakfasts are expensive as well but very delicious. The only other con that we found is that you can hear and smell the sounds of the road - but all the other stuff far outweighed these things.

Room Tip: We did not stay in any of the rooms but the Casa de Sol is PERFECT if you want privacy, a kitchen to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

we started visiting montezuma in 2001 with friends, we stayed at amor then and have chosen to book amor every time we've gone back, they really add the right touches to the property. they are located right on the "beach", it's actually lava rock with really cool tide pools, awesome water falls within walking distance, great town with awesome food and a level of rustic charm that hopefully never be ruined by real estate people. the rooms have ac if you want, ample choices for people that want to share a room, clean with great ocean view. REMEMBER, this is a rustic town on the edge of a jungle so if you are into the big resort with a pool and room service, do these nice people a favor and stay in the u.s. or europe instead. they do an awesome job here getting you comfortable in the middle of nature. we love it there, when i took a friend there a couple of years ago, they took one look around and said "score!"

Room Tip: all rooms are good, just depends on wether you want ac, a view etc, they are good at accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Pros:
• Grounds are nicely kept
• Room number 5 is big, lots of windows, private porch, good and quiet A/C , small fridge, reasonable beds and pillows.
• Attentive and helpful staff.
• The restaurant serves very nice breakfast (food and drinks) from 0700-1200 and then it is closes but available for seating and eating your own food.
• The hotel is very close to the main “village” and the famous waterfall.
Cons:
• Washroom is divided from the main room by a curtain made out of fabric. This doesn’t provide any physical nor acoustical separation. For a family, this was really awkward.
• The fabric curtain smells really bad. This is neither logical nor wise to use fabric in washrooms that (obviously) produce smells and showers that produce moist. Especially in the tropical that always has a high humidity environment.
• The shower is tiny. The plastic shower curtain sticks to your body every time you move. Quite disgusting.
• The hotel does not provide hair dryer, nor shampoo or conditioner. Bring your own.
• In room # 5, which suppose to be the best, half of the (renowned) ocean view is distracted by the not very aesthetic roofing of the seating area. Not very romantic.
• Sitting at the “private” balcony, we found out that the balcony is actually exposed into the common seating enabling people to see us using the balcony. Needless to say that we didn’t use the “private” balcony.
• Seating in the garden for some ocean view didn’t turn out to be nice neither. The chairs are out in the sun (no shade) and the view of the ocean is blocked by cactuses. The logic behind planting big cactuses at the edge of the garden blocking the view of the ocean just blows our mind. Why would you do this? No wonder the seating area was always empty.
• By far, our biggest problem was that the bathroom has all mould everywhere. This is a real life hazards. People should be aware of this issue before staying there. Especially if you come with little children.

In summary: out of the three weeks vacation in Costa Rica this hotel was the worst.
We would NOT recommend staying in this hotel. Either find a different hotel or just don’t come to Montezuma.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmorDeMar, Owner at Hotel Amor de Mar, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
I would like to mention here that before this review was posted, this guest already had written to us with her complaints requesting a full refund which we denied. They stayed here for three nights without mentioning any of the above . We asked frequently if everything was alright, to which the response was positive. It is puzzling that anyone would stay in a place that is such a "health hazard", without saying anything, but instead go home and request a refund.

We never charge a guest in advance, and we never hold someone to their reservation if the room is not up to par upon arrival. In fact, we offer upgrades frequently when available.

I will not contest the opinions about the view, the placing of the cactuses and the aesthetics of the property, this is up to our past and future guests to judge, and everyone has different tastes. Until now, we have only had praise.

In regards to the mold mentioned in the bathroom and the shower's size, we have daily housekeeping, and all the walls are scrubbed down. I have personally inspected this claim and found it to be false. I am also taking this opportunity to announce that we are currently under remodeling and each bathroom is being made bigger, and will have doors.

A hair-dryer is also available - if asked for.

While all complaints are taken seriously, I am also concerned that this review is a result of this guest's denied refund request. We have never had this kind of demand, and especially not after the guest has already left and paid upon check out.

Regards,
Ori Braun
Owner, Hotel Amor de Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We loved our too brief stay at Amor de Mar. The setting is exquisite, with a lush, beautiful lawn, bordered by rich, tropical flowers, gently sloping down to the ocean. The room was very nice, clean and convenient. I was somewhat incapacitated from a fall I had taken earlier on our trip but the hammocks provided some wonderful places for me to rest and read. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Amor de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amor de Mar

Address: Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
#4 Family Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amor de Mar is located on the Pacific Ocean next to the river in Montezuma. Planted in a natural paradise, a few miles from the Cabo Blanco National Park. Our hotel offers 9 cozy and individually styled rooms and two beach villas, Casa Luna and Casa Sol, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. All the rooms have A/C, private bathroom with hot water and a some rooms have a mini fridge. The beach villas are fully equipped but NOT A/C. All the rooms and beach villas have a safe deposit box and WiFi is available in the hotel property. The hotel is within a five minute walk from the picturesque beach town of Montezuma at the tip of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica, Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Amor de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amor De Mar Puntarenas
Amor De Mar Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amor de Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.