We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Beach Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amor de Mar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Amor de Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Amor de Mar
Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Longmont, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our Beach Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We were honeymooning in Montezuma for the majority of our trip and had a private beach front paradise when we stayed in the Casa de Sol. This structure is utterly AMAZING - circular, open air, made of old style wood, porches galore with hammocks, breathtaking views, privacy, and fine touches to decor made for a cozy environment. You could hear the sounds of the ocean from our place and if our place was not cozy enough (which it was!!!) then the grounds around Casa de Sol were open and inviting - hammocks strewn everywhere, soft grass on your bare feet (but watch out for dog poo!), and a special tidal pool for a walk out your door dip. The location is amazing - we rented a car but definitely did not need it (unless we did away from town trips). Hotel Amor de Mar is out of town, right by the Montezuma waterfall, but very much so within walking distance of restaurants, grocery, and sandy beach swimming. The staff was very friendly and helpful and gave us some "local" advice. We paid a pretty little penny for this place but it was well worth it. The breakfasts are expensive as well but very delicious. The only other con that we found is that you can hear and smell the sounds of the road - but all the other stuff far outweighed these things.

Room Tip: We did not stay in any of the rooms but the Casa de Sol is PERFECT if you want privacy, a kitchen to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    62
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
29
134
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Satellite Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

we started visiting montezuma in 2001 with friends, we stayed at amor then and have chosen to book amor every time we've gone back, they really add the right touches to the property. they are located right on the "beach", it's actually lava rock with really cool tide pools, awesome water falls within walking distance, great town with awesome food and a level of rustic charm that hopefully never be ruined by real estate people. the rooms have ac if you want, ample choices for people that want to share a room, clean with great ocean view. REMEMBER, this is a rustic town on the edge of a jungle so if you are into the big resort with a pool and room service, do these nice people a favor and stay in the u.s. or europe instead. they do an awesome job here getting you comfortable in the middle of nature. we love it there, when i took a friend there a couple of years ago, they took one look around and said "score!"

Room Tip: all rooms are good, just depends on wether you want ac, a view etc, they are good at accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Pros:
• Grounds are nicely kept
• Room number 5 is big, lots of windows, private porch, good and quiet A/C , small fridge, reasonable beds and pillows.
• Attentive and helpful staff.
• The restaurant serves very nice breakfast (food and drinks) from 0700-1200 and then it is closes but available for seating and eating your own food.
• The hotel is very close to the main “village” and the famous waterfall.
Cons:
• Washroom is divided from the main room by a curtain made out of fabric. This doesn’t provide any physical nor acoustical separation. For a family, this was really awkward.
• The fabric curtain smells really bad. This is neither logical nor wise to use fabric in washrooms that (obviously) produce smells and showers that produce moist. Especially in the tropical that always has a high humidity environment.
• The shower is tiny. The plastic shower curtain sticks to your body every time you move. Quite disgusting.
• The hotel does not provide hair dryer, nor shampoo or conditioner. Bring your own.
• In room # 5, which suppose to be the best, half of the (renowned) ocean view is distracted by the not very aesthetic roofing of the seating area. Not very romantic.
• Sitting at the “private” balcony, we found out that the balcony is actually exposed into the common seating enabling people to see us using the balcony. Needless to say that we didn’t use the “private” balcony.
• Seating in the garden for some ocean view didn’t turn out to be nice neither. The chairs are out in the sun (no shade) and the view of the ocean is blocked by cactuses. The logic behind planting big cactuses at the edge of the garden blocking the view of the ocean just blows our mind. Why would you do this? No wonder the seating area was always empty.
• By far, our biggest problem was that the bathroom has all mould everywhere. This is a real life hazards. People should be aware of this issue before staying there. Especially if you come with little children.

In summary: out of the three weeks vacation in Costa Rica this hotel was the worst.
We would NOT recommend staying in this hotel. Either find a different hotel or just don’t come to Montezuma.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmorDeMar, Owner at Hotel Amor de Mar, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
I would like to mention here that before this review was posted, this guest already had written to us with her complaints requesting a full refund which we denied. They stayed here for three nights without mentioning any of the above . We asked frequently if everything was alright, to which the response was positive. It is puzzling that anyone would stay in a place that is such a "health hazard", without saying anything, but instead go home and request a refund.

We never charge a guest in advance, and we never hold someone to their reservation if the room is not up to par upon arrival. In fact, we offer upgrades frequently when available.

I will not contest the opinions about the view, the placing of the cactuses and the aesthetics of the property, this is up to our past and future guests to judge, and everyone has different tastes. Until now, we have only had praise.

In regards to the mold mentioned in the bathroom and the shower's size, we have daily housekeeping, and all the walls are scrubbed down. I have personally inspected this claim and found it to be false. I am also taking this opportunity to announce that we are currently under remodeling and each bathroom is being made bigger, and will have doors.

A hair-dryer is also available - if asked for.

While all complaints are taken seriously, I am also concerned that this review is a result of this guest's denied refund request. We have never had this kind of demand, and especially not after the guest has already left and paid upon check out.

Regards,
Ori Braun
Owner, Hotel Amor de Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We loved our too brief stay at Amor de Mar. The setting is exquisite, with a lush, beautiful lawn, bordered by rich, tropical flowers, gently sloping down to the ocean. The room was very nice, clean and convenient. I was somewhat incapacitated from a fall I had taken earlier on our trip but the hammocks provided some wonderful places for me to rest and read. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonsall, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Amor De Mar Hotel in Montezuma, Costa Rica was a delightful place. The Bay in front and the verdant grass between the hotel and the water with its hammocks and beautiful views of the Ocean. It is more like a cozy little Inn rather than a hotel, where children were welcome and adults were comfortable sitting on the veranda or in the hammocks on the green grass, listening to the lapping of the waves!

Room Tip: Bottom floor was quiet but also closest to the water. Nice German family owns the hotel. The juices...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here three nights and absolutely loved it. It was so beautiful - you could walk our of your room and be right on the ocean, pick any hammock you liked and watch the waves - it was hard to leave. Breakfasts were good and served in the most gorgeous setting. The hotel is filled with beautiful wood, flowers and lights. The staff were all warm and very accommodating. If you're looking for a stunning setting on the ocean, stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, and LOVED it. The location was great (a short walk into town, and right across the street from the Montezuma Falls trailhead). We had room #5, which had a fantastic view of the ocean.

The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful, the food (breakfast) was absolutely delicious, the rooms were great, and the grounds were spectacular. Even their dog hosts were super great! During our breakfasts, we were also greeted by exotic birds, and roosters on the grounds, which was fun. They have a number of chairs and hammocks on the sprawling patch of grass overlooking the ocean which provide a perfect backdrop for napping or reading a book. I didn't see any other property in Montezuma quite like this. We would definitely be interested in coming back - either to stay in #5 again or maybe check out one of the Casitas which look super awesome!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Amor de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amor de Mar

Address: Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Amor de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amor De Mar Puntarenas
Amor De Mar Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amor de Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.